We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B, like being at home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa Gran B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Casa Gran B&B
Ranked #20 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent B&B, like being at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Casa Gran for four days in May 2012 and we had a fantastic time! Montse was a wonderful host and made us feel so welcome and just like we were at home. The house itself is beautiful and very spacious, with very high ceilings and intriguing contemporary art. The location is perfect – right in the center of everything and easy to get to all tourist attractions either by foot or a simple bus or metro ride away. The breakfast was plentiful, very fresh and delicious – fruit, croissants, yoghurt, many other things, and very good quality coffee, too! Montse even drew us a detailed map of all of her favorite restaurants in the area; we went to many of them and they were all excellent! We look forward to returning to Barcelona again, and if we do, will stay at La Casa Gran without a doubt. (We especially loved Montse's dogs, too, who are very sweet!)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    31
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
102
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stay for 3 days in this wonderfull b&b in the center of Barcelona at the end of april.
The area is fashion and well connected by metro and buses.
The house is in a wonderfull historic and fashion building and it's recently reorganized by Montse, the owner. Our room was perfect: clean,bright and large with a small balcony so nice!
We loved the original decorations and fourniture simple and the big japonese bath in the room!
And we loved too much Montse and her 3 dogs that are always nice and helpfull.
We will fell like at home!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank saretta29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purcellville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

My wife and I and our two friends stayed here for two nights. Montse was SO kind and hospitable! She had our two rooms all ready for us, and they were incredibly beautiful and restful. Each room had a balcony overlooking trees and the street below. The rooms were quiet, but had easy access to Las Ramblas and all of the sights Barecelona has to offer. Montse had a delicious breakfast available every morning, and there was food available in the dining room that we could access any time during the day. Really nice to just hang out and meet the other occupants of this delightful b and b.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

From the moment I contacted Montse by e-mail I knew that I had found the right place to spend my birthday week-end with my husband away from the children! The rooms are lovely with great modern and elegant features like high ceilings and Montse's helpfulness and welcome is heartwarming! She even left a treat for me in the fridge for my birthday morning! I would definetly stay again as she made as extremely welcomed!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NadineBleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights at Casa Gran and had mixed feelings about the place - a beautiful spacious apartment in an elegant and historic 19th Barcelona building. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms clean and with brand new bathrooms (though we found it impossible to keep the shower water inside the very trendy but somewhat impractical shower!.

The B&B is on the first floor (Principal) of the building though there is a lift. Montse is lovely and welcoming, though our limited Spanish was helpful as her English is not brilliant. She assured us that her three (big but friendly) dogs would stay in 'her zone' but in reality they were out all the time, a bit of a pain at breakfast.

Also we found breakfast disappointing for this price of B&B - a do it yourself affair with packaged croissants, bread, jam etc all in the fridge. Some fresh fruit and Nespresso coffee, which is fine but a bit laborious when there are several of you all trying to get coffee at the same time!

I think it was more chaotic than it would otherwise have been because she had only recently moved into the apartment.

We would go again except for the noise, the house is on a really noisy corner of Diagonal and Muntaner. This was a particular problem for us as we are used to silence at night, if you live in a city you would probably not notice it! However we have stayed in Barcelona many times and found much quieter places.

There are some really great bars and restaurants close by, Diagonal metro is about 6 minutes walk or you can get the No 7 bus from the bottom of Via Laietana which runs along Diagonal.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montse B, Propietario at La Casa Gran B&B, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Delphus (C.S. & A.T., Yorkshire, UK)
Your comments to me initially worried, since it is the first negative review of my B & B.

You are the first travelers who have left home WITHOUT NOTICE AND WITHOUT PAY, and those who have been less time enjoying the home.
I now understand that this is only a strategy to prevent a financial claim.

I could refute each point of your criticism, but frankly, I understand that after the above, it is not necessary.

Best!
Montse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#2 of 325 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Eixample
Ca La Maria
Ca La Maria
#7 of 325 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Eixample
Umma Barcelona Bed & Breakfast Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
The Conica Deluxe Bed and Breakfast
Eixample
Violeta Boutique
Violeta Boutique
#8 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Eixample
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
#3 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Gran B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Gran B&B

Property: La Casa Gran B&B
Address: 439, Diagonal Avenue Principal 1a, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,768 - ₹ 12,076
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Gran B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa Gran is a traditional bed&breakfast in a monumental building called Cases Almirall from 1928, in the heart of l'Eixample district. We are located between two main streets of the city, Diagonal and Muntaner. It is a lively area with lots of restaurants, new bars and traditional bodegas and "vermuterias". Our place is walking distance to the main tourist attractions, you can reach Passeig de Gracia or Las Ramblas walking through l'Eixample streets. You can also get to Gothic quarter, Raval and Gracia district. We want to offer local products and experiences for you to enjoy the city. Your stay includes Catalan breakfast, free WIFI, water, fruits, tea and coffee facilities all day. We have a large common area where you can sit and relax during the day. We share our home with our guests, so we are here to help if needed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your La Casa Gran B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing