We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,101)
Filter reviews
4,101 results
Traveller rating
1,541
1,932
443
118
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,541
1,932
443
118
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glories metro station agbar tower sagrada familia mall across the street sofa bed rooftop bar nice hotel public transport top floor family room corner room breakfast buffet is hop on hop off bus reception staff sight seeing las ramblas yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 4,101 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

I arranged a late check-out for the room. When I stayed past the original time housekeeping entered the room repeatedly and they called and nearly yelled at me from the front desk asking why I was still in the room. Then they asked me to leave immediately. The rudest experience I have ever had an a hotel who didn't acknowledge their mistake.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h5560GM, Guest Experience Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Adam,
We are deeply sorry for the experience lived. We have checked what happened exactly that day. The room initially was only occupied for 1 person. For that reason housekeeping was surprised when found a person in a vacancy room. She informed front office and they contacted with you by phone. The room had to be used again immediately and for that reason The experience lived was embarrassing for the hotel workers and for you. For security reasons all occupants of a room must be registered by the hotel and in case of late departure must inform the reception of the hotel. We are very sorry for the annoyances caused.
Best regards,
Bárbara C
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

Its very good hotel. I have stayed at several Accor Hotels in the world, and this property is also well located in very good locality of Diagonal Area of Barcelona. Rooms are good and spacious, with separate unit for toilet and bathroom. I stayed on 11th floor which was a corner room which offered great views of the city from windows located on both sides. Enric at the reception was very helpful who helped us with well located room, nearby attractions, restaurants, etc. Glories is a big and colourful mall opposite Hotel, with several shops, restaurants and a massive convenience store. Buffet breakfast was very good. Glories Metro Station is about 250 meters away which connects you to entire Barcelona City. Its better to buy Euro 10 ticket for 10 metro rides. Taxis are always parked opposite Hotel main entrance. La Rambla is about 3 Stations away by Metro. La Sagrada Familia is about 15 minutes walking distance or 1 stop away by Metro but buy tickets in advance.

Room Tip: Go for higher room above 10th floor ( try for a corner room).
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Milanbhise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h5560GM, Guest Experience Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Milanbhise
It is always a pleausre to receive positive feedbacks from our clients, thank you for trusting in Accor Hotels when you stay in a hotel in the world.
We are glad to read that you had a very nice stay and our Novotel is well located and the Junior Suite rooms are good and spacious.
We have shared with Enric your kind words. Thank you!
We hope to welcome again in Barcelona, and of course, in Novotel Barcelona City.
Have a nice rest of the day!
Bárbara C
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

This hotel is average to say the least. But what really got me was that it is about a 30min drive or so to the main attractions like La Rambla. Although yes, the red hop on/off bus is a mere few steps from the hotel it still takes a while to get to any of the top attractions.

That being said I felt this hotel was anyway more for business rather than pleasure. I booked this hotel based on the fact that they had a kids area with games in reception but it wasn’t functional while we were there. I must mention my disappointment upon arrival where the taxi parks across the road from the hotel entrance and we struggled with our luggage. None of the staff assisted and when I asked if they had someone who could assist all I got was a shrug and a “yeah, but I don’t know where he is”.

Overall not a bad hotel. But would I stay here again whilst visiting the city for pleasure? No!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Tash_Momto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h5560GM, Guest Experience Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Tash_Momto2,
We are very sorry to read your negative comment and to hear that we did not meet your expectations. It is tru that we are not in the heart of the citty but Novotel Barcelona City is really well located near the pubblic transport that permets reach any point of the citty. Also there is a taxi park across the road and there you can take a taxi if your prefer visit the city by taxi. Unfortunately we have not a porter but we have a person that helps with the baggage from our clients. We are sorry to read that upon your arrival he was not able to help you. We are going to check that.
Novotel Barcelona City is a familiar hotel so we are sorry to read that it was not at your convenience.
We hope have the opportunity to better serve in your next visit to Barcelona.
Hope to have the opportunity.
Have a nice rest of the day,
Bárbara C
Guest Ex`perience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Novotel Barcelona City for five nights in September. Enric was wonderful to deal with at check in and was so helpful and accommodating. We had a room on the 17th floor over looking the city which was spacious and modern. The breakfast here is extremely good with a wonderful selection of quality food. Across the road from the hotel is a great shopping centre with metro and bus stops outside. The Barcelona city hop on hop off tour bus also stops outside the hotel. Our downfall was that the wifi connection wasn't that great during our stay. The fire alarm also went off one night at 10pm. There was a lot of confusion with guests evacuating to the lobby for nearly an hour while alarms were ringing and there was no proper communication from staff with fire evacuation procedures. We were told the alarm was malfunctioning because there was no smoke coming from the building which didn't exactly ease our minds in the situation. I can only assume that the alarm had malfunctioned before which made a lot of guests as well as ourselves uneasy if it was an emergency especially as we'd walked down 17 flights of stairs and didn't want to rush back to our room unless it was 100% safe. Aside from this one night and the wifi issues Novotel Barcelona City was a good, clean hotel.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank emjacook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h5560GM, Guest Experience Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Emjacook,
We are glad that you had a nice overall stay in our Novotel Barcelona City. We have shared with Enric your kind words. Thank you! We try to give the best quality service to all our guest so your words are really appreciated.
We are saddened to read that the false alarm disturb you. We had a technical problem that produced a false alarm and we are really sorry for that.
We hope to welcome you again in Barcelona, and bring you the best service.
Best regards,
Bárbara C
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel..spacious and comfortable. Nice big buffet breakfast with lots of choice. 500m from metro. Nice pool area with stunning views of the city. Staff nice and efficient. Would go again. Room nice and clean and changed everyday.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h5560GM, Guest Experience Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Julie C
Many thanks for reviewing our Novotel Barcelona city, we appreciate the time you took to share your experience with us and read that the hotel was at your convenience.
We are glad that you enjoyed with the stunning views of the city from our rooftop.
Hope to welcome you back in Barcelona,
Best regards
Bárbara C
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews