We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Modern Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Barcelona City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Barcelona City
Ranked #157 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hinckley
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice Modern Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Had 2 nights here following a Med Cruise Aug 2012.

Hotel is brand new and very modern, we were lucky to have a room on the corner of the 18th floor overlooking the city. It was probably the best room in the hotel for views. The views from our room and roof terrace are superb, the whole city can be seen.

Our room was spotless and modern. Good TV with lots of choice, including the BBC which we were pleased about as we wanted to watch the Olympics. Free Wifi worked well, safe was big enough for laptop. Only crticism being that the towels are very poor quality.

Roof terrace is well done, not massive but a nice place for a dip and a drink, outdoor settees/chairs very comfortable.

Check in and check out a little chaotic due to big groups there at the same time. Reception staff friendly and helpful.

We didn't eat here, think 18 Euros is way too much for breakfast, there are plenty of options close by.

Location is fine, very close to the Metro (3 stops from the centre of the action) and tram. We walked to the beach several times in less than 20 mins, we also walked to the Sagrada Familia in around the same time.

We booked a taxi to the airport, this failed to show but the taxi rank is right outside and there are always taxis available, so not really an issue.

Overall, a great hotel for business and leisure. Would recommend and use again.

Room Tip: get a city view room in the higher floors if possible. We had 1831 (on the corner). Superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TC1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    1,527
    309
    78
    43
See reviews for
1,619
699
126
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

Nice and clean hotel with a great view, especially from the pool bar at the 19th floor. However at our next visit to Barcelona, we want to live closer to the La Rampla.

Another minus is, they don't have any english channels at all.

Helpful?
Thank Henrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed here mid-July 2012, booked through an event with discounted rates. A tram stop is just opposite the hotel, with Glories metro station a short walk away. The cleanliness of the room and bathroom was kept to a professional standard. The room has a mini bari, safe (big enough for laptops), electric kettle, plasma tv, free instant coffee and tea bags and hairdryer. There was free WiFi but you have to get a separate username and password for each device at the reception counter. Depending on your device, you may be prompted to key in the username and password every time you require internet access, or it may login automatically. I was lucky to have a room with great view which kept me happy every morning when I woke up. Breakfast buffet was good as well, with the cereals, juices, different types of eggs, bacon, tomato, sausages, pancakes, cheeses, hams, fruits, yogurts, breads, pastries… I had enjoyed staying at Novotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autumnwindz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

The hotel it self was great...it was clean, modern, helpful stay...all the things you want. The location was ehh...
There was a lot of construction going on in the area really not improving the modern feel of the building. Can you walk to attrations, yes...do you want to...no.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraGarza719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

This being my 6th time to the lovely Barcelona I had some idea of where we wanted to stay as wherever you do end up...nowhere is the ultimate 'central' eg. you stay in La Rambla you're a way from Port Olimpic but this time my 2 children aged 5 and 7 months were coming and I wanted to be quite near the beach knowing that it wasn't going to be so much a sightseeing visit! For this reason this hotel is fantastic and if you dont mind travelling on the tubes the other spots are only a couple of stops away accesible from the nearest tube station - Glories...just on the corner 2 mins away from hotel. The hotel itself is lovely. Quite business like but at the same time very 'kiddi' friendly and the service we received was fantastic. Always smiling staff and very attentive. The lifts work by key card for your rooms which I thought was a great idea for safety. I can't comment on the food as we ate out all of the time. 18euros each seemed a little expensive for breakfast when there are so many lovely little cafes to adventure to for a couple of euros. And if you want something more familiar there's a starbucks right across the road! The best feature of this hotel has to be the rooftop pool. It's not huge but you can have a swim and the views are fantastic. Sea view to the front and La Sagrada Familia to the right. Drinks aren't TOO overpriced for a 4 star hotel. Jug of Sangria 12E but you pay this everywhere else at night. We spent more time around the pool than i thought but it doesnt have that feeling that you could be sat around the pool in any place anywhere...the views tell you you're in Barcelona!
We brought the T-10 ticket for public transport and although I'm confident travelling around here having been before if it's your first time it really is easy enough to do so. We brought 2 for the 3 of us (baby travels free) and they are multi person so you just pass the ticket through to each to other to swipe or scan. The 2 were enough for us for our 3 night stay and they got us from the airport and allowed us travel on the tubes or trams every day. We opted for a taxi back and there is a rank right outside the hotel. This cost 33 euros including the airport and luggage supplements but was well worth it at the end and as we had an early start! To get to the beach from the Novotel, the easiest way is to hop on the tram which stops directly outside the hotel (fantastic) This takes you to the final stop and then its about a 5-10 munute walk to the beach but this is the nearest you'll get even if you took a tube (the tube stop is 2 mins nearer).
Overall this hotel is fantastic! Spotless (rooms made up everyday), friendly and we will definitely return. Final note...there's a shopping centre over the road which is a great place to stock up on water, snacks etc and contains any shop you'll need. H&M, Zara...disney!! For a spot of lunch if you're near to the hotel...Cafe Turin a few doors down was lovely and very very good value!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gemma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Poblenou
Silken Diagonal Barcelona
Silken Diagonal Barcelona
#222 of 519 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Poblenou
Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#83 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelona Princess
#154 of 519 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#190 of 519 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Novotel Barcelona Cornella
#3 of 4 in Cornella de Llobregat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barcelona City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barcelona City

Property: Novotel Barcelona City
Address: Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#109 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,403 - ₹ 12,858
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barcelona City 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Barcelona City Hotel has 264 rooms (including 22 suites) and is located right in the heart of the city on Avenida Diagonal (one of the city's main streets), next to Plaza Glòries and 55 yards (50 m) from the Jean Nouvel Tower. The hotel features a Claravía restaurant, a bar, 6222 sq. ft (578 m2) of meeting rooms, an outdoor pool on the terrace with panoramic views of Barcelona and a fitness center. Easy access to the hotel via Ronda de Dalt and Ronda Litoral. (The swimming pool is open only from 1st June to 20th September 2011) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Barcelona City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barcelona City Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing