We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New facility very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Barcelona City
Ranked #175 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent 4 days at the Novotel Barcelona on April 2012. We were a family of 4, two adults and two teenagers. The stay was very good. We took the Novotel family package that allows getting 2 rooms at a reduced price.

The hotel location is excellent. Not in the crowded middle of town, but yet very close to a metro station (line 1) with very easy access to all city attractions.
The rooms looked new and clean. We stayed at the 7th floor, and besides the fact that in the mornings the elevators tend to be very crowded and the wait to go down tends to get long, we were happy with our rooms.

The breakfast buffet was excellent! It includes real coffee machines, an omelet cook that will cook your omelet of choice, and the jewel of the crown fresh breads and pastries just out of the over, The baguettes and croissants are as good as the ones in France and other prime Europe locations. To top it off, kids under 16 eat free so that the cost is very reasonable also.

The pool at the roof the hotel seems very nice. It was too cold to experience but I am sure that in summer the pool is a significant attraction.

Opposite of the hotel is a big shopping center with a huge supermarket. We used it a lot for some of our lunch and dinners.

Overall a very good experience. If we get to Barcelona again, I'll be sure to go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amby1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,158 - 1,162 of 3,738 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felipe A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife.
Our room was clean and light but not particularly big. This was fine as we were only using this as a base for exploring
We arrived using the RENF and Metro service from the airport, to Cort and then onto Glories. The hotel is a short walk from the Metro. Opposite the hotel is a Tram stop on line T4 which was also handy for getting about.

Opposite the hotel is a shopping centre with a large Carrefour, Starbucks and various other shops and restaurants. We used the Carrefour to buy breakfast supplies and breakfast was expensive, and very busy (we travelled during the Easter holidays)

On the first night we used the hotel restaurant and sampled the 22 Euro buffet which was actually pretty good.

The hotel staff were helpful and polite and the general ambiance is that of a busy city centre hotel.

There is a small gym and pool on the roof which is pretty good but sadly despite our best intentions we didn't have time to use. Too much sightseeing and sleeping to do!

I'd stay again for a functional hotel within easy reach of all the sights, but not right inside the tourist district.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Novotel Barcelona is one of the very best hotels I've stayed at. It is a modern hotel, and the internal decor was to a very high standard - more boutique, than business. The porcelain shone, and I sampled both the bath - deep and luxurious - and shower - strong, if not exactly a power shower, but a a little unpredictable on temperature - ranging from lovely and hot to tepid, from minute to minute.

The free internet (accessed by a code supplied by reception) was super-speedy - a joy, compared with my fairly fast home broadband.

Breakfast was hearty enough for all tastes, ranging from continental to full American/British. I also had dinner one night - the restaurant was swish, the service impeccable, and obliging, and the food good, if not outstanding.

For business or pleasure, the Novotel Barcelona City won't disappoint!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nandu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

New hotel, good Novotel standarts inside, stuff helpful, breakfast very good, everything fresh and good selection. You can walk to Sagrada Familia and I had a room with Sagrada views - spectacular. Torre Agbar is next to the hotel and looks dramatically at night with cobalt blue and red lights. Close to transport and across the street from rather good shopping centre with biiig Zara :-) Skip the bar, it closes early and girl is disappearing every time she makes 1 drink. She refused to make me a coctail 15 minutes before they close the bar (because they close in 15 minutes it was the response and mine was that she still has 15 minutes to make my coctail then, she was very unhappy but she made it). Big minus because of the bar but overall good hotel with free intenet access.

Room Tip: Room 1031 has great views od Sagrada Familia and Barcelona!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyGosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#203 of 517 in Barcelona
3,145 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#107 of 517 in Barcelona
3,462 reviews
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#99 of 517 in Barcelona
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#93 of 517 in Barcelona
1,746 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 517 in Barcelona
4,153 reviews
Poblenou
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barcelona City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barcelona City

Address: Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#121 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: ₹ 5,616 - ₹ 16,082 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barcelona City 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Barcelona City Hotel has 264 rooms (including 22 suites) and is located right in the heart of the city on Avenida Diagonal (one of the city's main streets), next to Plaza Glòries and 55 yards (50 m) from the Jean Nouvel Tower. The hotel features a Claravía restaurant, a bar, 6222 sq. ft (578 m2) of meeting rooms, an outdoor pool on the terrace with panoramic views of Barcelona and a fitness center. Easy access to the hotel via Ronda de Dalt and Ronda Litoral. (The swimming pool is open only from 1st June to 20th September 2011) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Barcelona City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barcelona City Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing