We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Barcelona City
Ranked #157 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife.
Our room was clean and light but not particularly big. This was fine as we were only using this as a base for exploring
We arrived using the RENF and Metro service from the airport, to Cort and then onto Glories. The hotel is a short walk from the Metro. Opposite the hotel is a Tram stop on line T4 which was also handy for getting about.

Opposite the hotel is a shopping centre with a large Carrefour, Starbucks and various other shops and restaurants. We used the Carrefour to buy breakfast supplies and breakfast was expensive, and very busy (we travelled during the Easter holidays)

On the first night we used the hotel restaurant and sampled the 22 Euro buffet which was actually pretty good.

The hotel staff were helpful and polite and the general ambiance is that of a busy city centre hotel.

There is a small gym and pool on the roof which is pretty good but sadly despite our best intentions we didn't have time to use. Too much sightseeing and sleeping to do!

I'd stay again for a functional hotel within easy reach of all the sights, but not right inside the tourist district.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,307
    1,666
    340
    86
    46
See reviews for
1,767
756
150
379
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Novotel Barcelona is one of the very best hotels I've stayed at. It is a modern hotel, and the internal decor was to a very high standard - more boutique, than business. The porcelain shone, and I sampled both the bath - deep and luxurious - and shower - strong, if not exactly a power shower, but a a little unpredictable on temperature - ranging from lovely and hot to tepid, from minute to minute.

The free internet (accessed by a code supplied by reception) was super-speedy - a joy, compared with my fairly fast home broadband.

Breakfast was hearty enough for all tastes, ranging from continental to full American/British. I also had dinner one night - the restaurant was swish, the service impeccable, and obliging, and the food good, if not outstanding.

For business or pleasure, the Novotel Barcelona City won't disappoint!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nandu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

New hotel, good Novotel standarts inside, stuff helpful, breakfast very good, everything fresh and good selection. You can walk to Sagrada Familia and I had a room with Sagrada views - spectacular. Torre Agbar is next to the hotel and looks dramatically at night with cobalt blue and red lights. Close to transport and across the street from rather good shopping centre with biiig Zara :-) Skip the bar, it closes early and girl is disappearing every time she makes 1 drink. She refused to make me a coctail 15 minutes before they close the bar (because they close in 15 minutes it was the response and mine was that she still has 15 minutes to make my coctail then, she was very unhappy but she made it). Big minus because of the bar but overall good hotel with free intenet access.

Room Tip: Room 1031 has great views od Sagrada Familia and Barcelona!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyGosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed for 2 nights over the weekend in March 2012. First impression: we took a taxi from aeroport to hotel and cost us 30 euros! But at the hotel, the staff on front desk changed our bad impression - very helpful and friendly.
We were staying in a suite and its looks very modern, new and comfortable (also very clean). There's free wi-fi in the rooms, access code you will get from the front desk.
Our suite was located on the corner with a beautiful view towards the Torre Agbar.
Breakfast was very consistent, with Spanish specialties, Hamon, eggs, ham, corizo​​, cheese, several kinds of jam, fruit and coffee.
The hotel it's not far from the Sagrada Familia, aprox 15-20 minute walk.
The bus from Barcelona City Tour (hop on, hop off tour bus) does stop right outside. We used this tour bus and was very affordable. Ticket price for one day is 24 euros / adult.
We have had a great time here, and we will certainly return.
And we recomand this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: We were staying in suite 701 and I recommend it to all families with children. And the view is amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoruP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The hotel is new and in good condition, but when it gets older, I dont think will be very nice. We stayed for 2 nights over the weekend, and we happy for the immaculate bathrooms and the helpful and friendly front desk staff. It is far out of the city center, which means cabs are necessary to get anywhere. The hop on hop off tour bus does stop right outside which was useful. The pool is closed out of season, as is the roof bar. Season apparently is from June to September. The breakfast spread is good, but quite expensive without a continental option, so if You just feel like a bowl of cereal, You are in for €18.00. The bar is not good. It would be of my opinion, that this hotel would be better suited for business travellers and not for families who are looking for something a little more special and closer to the action.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Poblenou
Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal
Novotel Barcelona Cornella
#3 of 4 in Cornella de Llobregat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#84 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Hotel Diagonal Barcelona
Hotel Diagonal Barcelona
#230 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#190 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#178 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barcelona City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barcelona City

Property: Novotel Barcelona City
Address: Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,564 - ₹ 19,064
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barcelona City 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Barcelona City Hotel has 264 rooms (including 22 suites) and is located right in the heart of the city on Avenida Diagonal (one of the city's main streets), next to Plaza Glòries and 55 yards (50 m) from the Jean Nouvel Tower. The hotel features a Claravía restaurant, a bar, 6222 sq. ft (578 m2) of meeting rooms, an outdoor pool on the terrace with panoramic views of Barcelona and a fitness center. Easy access to the hotel via Ronda de Dalt and Ronda Litoral. (The swimming pool is open only from 1st June to 20th September 2011) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Barcelona City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barcelona City Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing