We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Barcelona City
Ranked #174 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The hotel is new and in good condition, but when it gets older, I dont think will be very nice. We stayed for 2 nights over the weekend, and we happy for the immaculate bathrooms and the helpful and friendly front desk staff. It is far out of the city center, which means cabs are necessary to get anywhere. The hop on hop off tour bus does stop right outside which was useful. The pool is closed out of season, as is the roof bar. Season apparently is from June to September. The breakfast spread is good, but quite expensive without a continental option, so if You just feel like a bowl of cereal, You are in for €18.00. The bar is not good. It would be of my opinion, that this hotel would be better suited for business travellers and not for families who are looking for something a little more special and closer to the action.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,175 - 1,179 of 3,768 reviews

An Accor traveller
Truro, United Kingdom
11
Reviewed 27 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here in March 2012.

Plus points:
The hotel is just a few minutes walk from Clot station which is where the train from the airport drops you, so it's handy for getting in and out of the city.
It's not far from the sagrada familia, maybe a 15 minute walk and is near the glories metro station and some tram lines
There's a very large supermarket and shopping centre just down the road and some cafes
The staff seemed nice and were helpful
The room we got (on the 18th floor) had great views of the city
The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and had a good shower
Wifi is free

Minus points
Some of the worst pillows I have ever slept on
The roof terrace pool was closed even though it was warm and sunny enough that I got sunburnt. The jacuzzi was empty (i.e. no water in it).
The roof terrace bar was closed, and all the lights were turned off, even though guests were buying drinks at the bar downstairs and going up in the lift to the roof and sitting up there.
Breakfast was €18 per person for the buffet. I had gotten a room rate only, as most of the time, I don't want a big breakfast so don't want to pay for it. However, there might be one occasion during my trip that I would like the hotel breakfast. Not at €18 though, particularly for a buffet (i.e. making my breakfast myself).
No actual glasses or cups provided, just paper cups for tea and plastic cups wrapped in plastic wrapping for water, which is a waste of plastic.

So, 7 out of 10 which I am rounding to 4 out of 5! Not the most central hotel, but it seems a bit cheaper than those that are more central. On balance I think Novotel is a good choice on that basis.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GromitDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here 2 nights. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast had a good variety from traditional Spanish dishes to pancakes to pastries. Skip the bar. The bartender poured us a drink then took off. The rooms are very modern and comfortable. There's free wi-fi in the rooms too. An important thing to note is major construction is in progress across the street and doesn't look like it'll be done anytime soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missmaya24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Except for its distance from Las Ramblas (10-15 minutes via Metro), it is difficult to say anything negative about my 3 day stay this hotel, and even its location is not a major problem. As is typical with this mid-level chain (its lower end sister hotel Ibis is just down the street), my “queen bed with sofa” room on the 11th floor was clean and modern, and somewhat larger than the average European hotel room, particularly the bathroom, although the open shower design did manage to still leave water on the floor, albeit not as much as my flood experience at the Novotel Zurich Airport. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet and cleaned promptly each day regardless of when I left. The TV had plenty of channels, and TV sound in the bathroom was nice, as was the power window shade operated from bedside controls. Free in room Wi-Fi was appreciated, but too slow to watch video or make a Skype call, although fine for e-mail and web surfing. Wi-Fi in the lobby had faster speeds. The roof-top gym was modern but only marginally equipped with well maintained machines, and includes a dry sauna and sun deck overlooking the city. The hotel is located directly across from a large shopping mall which includes a supermarket. The Glories Metro station is just over a block away, where you can get to virtually anywhere in central Barcelona in 20 minutes or less. The staff was efficient and responsive. I would strongly recommend this hotel which was reasonably priced at 75 euros/night, although not the breakfast at 18 euros/person.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FitDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#201 of 520 in Barcelona
3,167 reviews
Poblenou
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#98 of 520 in Barcelona
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
#175 of 520 in Barcelona
2,583 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#109 of 520 in Barcelona
3,499 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#95 of 520 in Barcelona
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barcelona City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barcelona City

Address: Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#122 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: ₹ 6,667 - ₹ 18,590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barcelona City 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Barcelona City Hotel has 264 rooms (including 22 suites) and is located right in the heart of the city on Avenida Diagonal (one of the city's main streets), next to Plaza Glòries and 55 yards (50 m) from the Jean Nouvel Tower. The hotel features a Claravía restaurant, a bar, 6222 sq. ft (578 m2) of meeting rooms, an outdoor pool on the terrace with panoramic views of Barcelona and a fitness center. Easy access to the hotel via Ronda de Dalt and Ronda Litoral. (The swimming pool is open only from 1st June to 20th September 2011) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Barcelona City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barcelona City Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing