We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
41
38
12
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
38
12
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgiving privacyreception workscurtainscomputersdrawersbedcatalunyametroeuros
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My first impression about the hostel is clean and shiny. Smart choice for budget travelers. Very close to the center and attractions, you can reach almost of the places on foot. Close to North station where you can take bus to go to Valencia or Madrid.The coolest thing about this place was the owner- Rebecca, she was absolutely helpful and lovely. She explained and gave suggestions without us asking.
Keep in mind that you have to pay extras for the bed set with bed sheet, blanket and pillow and towel. Bed set and towel you have to pay total 4 euro extra when you check in and that's it for the whole stay

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This hostel has many posative qualities.
Located well inside the city area And a short walk to the city centre.
Rooms are well set out and spacious.
the kitchen was a bit small and crowded at times.
rates were reasonable.
Staff could be a little more helpfull,regarding things to do in barcelona.
Very clean and tidy and quite modern facilities.
But all in all a good place to stay..

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razorpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

This hostel is perfect for people on a budget or by themselves.

Very central, helpful staff, free wifi with computers if you don't have your own, curtains on all the beds for privacy and locks on the drawers for your belongings.

Also has a fully working kitchen if you decide to cook your own food and the bathrooms are very clean and hygienic.

Also has a 24 hour reception.

Very recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I am a first-time hostel guest in my fifties. The Hip Karma Hotel is an immaculate accommodation on a street that is not overly busy. The staff speaks perfect English. There are numerous Internet terminals, laundry service provided by the staff for a fee, and locked drawers that will hold carry-on sized luggage and other items. A very clean kitchen makes it possible to prepare food for oneself if desired. Each bunk has privacy curtains, a reading light and a comfortable mattress. There are rules and the travelers are respectful. There is an ATM across the street, Metro and good food within 2 blocks, and the Plaza Catalunya is a ten-minute walk away. The significance of the Plaza Catalunya is that tour buses and the Aerobus stop there, making an airport limo unnecessary, and there is also shopping and plenty of places to eat or buy groceries, including fast food. The property is announced by a small sign and is on the second floor, not wheelchair accessible. Be prepared to pay additional fees for linens, etc., and it would be helpful if you request a bottom bunk up front, if needed or preferred. Also note that the showers and toilet are separated from the bedrooms by "public" space so pack a robe or wear appropriate garb when in transit. I truly enjoyed my stay there and would recommend The Hip Karma Hostel for anyone who wanted the kind of experience I did.

Room Tip: There were six bunks in my room. Never having used a bunk bed, I found myself unable to hoist myself into my assigned bunk. If you are similarly challenged, request a bottom bunk up front.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This is the first time I had stayed in a hostel for years, but had read some good reviews and needed something cheap but in a good location in central Barcelona. This place more than filled the gap. Firstly, the hostel is just 5-10 mins walk from Las Ramblas and very near 2 metro stations, the nearest is Urquinaona which is literally just a few minutes walk or a bit further is arc de triomf. The hostel is very clean and really modern, staff were very friendly and helpful and the whole place had a great feeling about it and you never felt unsafe or like you were going to be robbed, although you do get your own draw with padlock to keep valuables secure. I had read one thing about this place before I left that it was mixed wash facilities and dignity was left at the door, this wasn't the case, there are separate facilities for males and females. The beds are comfy and have the security curtain to give you privacy. Overall a fantastic stay and would go again if travelling alone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews