We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Love the W Barcelona!!”
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #111 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
england
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Love the W Barcelona!!”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I had always wanted to stay at the W so I came on here to read reviews before travelling and reading mixed reviews I was abit worried what to expect. We arrived to a sunny Barcelona and the hotel was beautiful, the reception wasnt crowded like previous reviews i had read & the staff were helpful. Our room was on the 17th floor and the view was amazing. The lift, corridors are very clean and the room was very clean and housekeeping were spot on. Breakfast was gorgeous although we turned up at 11:02am and got turned away cs they stopped serving at 11am!! But thats our fault not theirs. The interior design is outstanding and the water feature and pool is lovely, On a sunday night its a hip trendy night where all the chic people come to party which was nice, maybe abit potentious side tho. The restaurants at the front of the hotel are so nice, We had seafood and tapas and the pricing was so reasonable concidering they are nearly attached to a 5 star hotel and with a view to die for. Its about 10 minutes from Las Ramblas and you can walk into the city from the hotel, realy pleasant, all round great stay and would definately visit again. If i had to pick at something ... With it being a 5 star hotel you would expect to be greeted outside of the hotel by staff, opening taxi doors, greeting you, making you feel like you've paid the 5 star costs s its not cheap. The other 5 star hotel "Arts" did have this but thats very minor!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlossyP0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,834
    1,499
    513
    244
    204
See reviews for
843
2,713
242
1,033
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

A brief hicup at check-in (actually the first guy i dealt with was somewhat rude) but then spoke to the manager and from then onwards for the 2 nights the service exceeded my expecation. People kept on checking after every request if i got it. The food was very good, ordered room service and in the bar area for 2 kids (6 and 10), quick, efficent and fresh. Beautiful location on the beach, very nice pool area and a choice of resturants although they were not opened when they were suppose to be ...

Room Tip: watch out at night and don't leave the curtains not drawn, people outside can see through especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

An outstanding hotel in a great city, our second time to Barcelona but this wins hands down as the best. Great views, cool rooms and nice staff. A challenge now to stay in all W Hotels (2 down) will be back.

Room Tip: Try and get beach view not port
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

First, it is 5 stars, every body wrote about good things, i do agree, i do not like to repeat
But here are some clues for defficulties
- internet is more expensive then other hotels in the room, 19 euros vs 9 euros for example in hilton
- free intrnet at lobby is not dependable, so if you have an important internet job be sure to buy the service do not depend on the lobby, but, if you come after midnight and sat at the concerge disc it has the best reception area
- toilet is part of the room seperated by a gladi feel so shy that my partner get annoid by that so usually i wait tell she leave the room, but this disadvantage turns to advantage at the bath .. Great!!!
- the above point tells me it is not for kids.. Best is for couples, really a great hotel
- some features in the room not functioning, not big deal
- they have the best coffee maker , you have to order it, they will charge you 60euros if you brake it, it is outstanding.
All in all, with my partner, definitly will come again, but, not with my kids.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank navigator0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed for the 4th time in W Barcelona in August 2012.
As we have been in the place just one month after the official opening, since then the hotel has turn into one of the biggest landmarks of Barcelona, a cool and hip place, almost fully booked all the time.

This is become the place to be seen with the likes of Shakira, Kelly Rowland and the ENTIRE BARCA FOOTBALL TEAM ! You can see Pique with Shakira and Fabregas in the Eclipse bar and last year Barca were more than 3 times stayed at W hotel.
Sometimes especially after special win the Barca players do celebrate also at the Eclipse.

I’m a big FC Barcelona fan and we come mainly for the Barca - Real Madrid game for the Supercopa of Spain.

So for W-Barcelona there are some new restaurants (like Salt on the beach) new bars, the Bravo 24 restaurant is truly one of the best restaurants in Barcelona (as all Carles Abellan ventures in Barcelona are).

Rooms are huge for European standars 40 sw.m, and the W-Bed is really one of THE BEST BEDS you ever going to sleep in. The breakfast buffet is still great with fantastic variety food (although now the price for it jumped to Euro 30 per person).

There are reserved beach chairs on the beach for hotel residents. The hotel pool is a bit small for the size of the hotel.

On every August Sunday night there is a great DJ party with famous DJ’s coming from all around Europe, so you can see on Sunday some of the most beautiful girls in Barcelona (all dressed Las Vegas style (ultra mini dress and high heels).

Finally the Wi-Fi in the room now have some cheaper options for use for one hour and 2 hours so you do not need to purchase the 19 Euro per day voucher anymore.

Coming to Barcelona and the Barceloneta area you should not miss the best seafood restaurant there Barceloneta at Port Vell. Also highly recommended are the Bilbao Berria and Tapas 24.

Room Tip: the rooms are the same in size, the difference is just the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivo_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#61 of 513 in Barcelona
4,583 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
4,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#197 of 513 in Barcelona
2,929 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#20 of 513 in Barcelona
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Property: W Barcelona
Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,892 - ₹ 88,537
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing