We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ranked #16 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
RanchoMirage
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Lovely hotel with wonderful service. Arrived early after all night flight and were given room early. Lovely amenities with spacious room and and fantastic showers. Hotel is on busy street but very quiet and serene once you enter. Concierge and front desk very helpful. We were leaving late afternoon for cruise and they extended our checkout . You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Breakfast in the hotel was a bit pricey... many local restaurants in the area .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RanchoMirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    179
    69
    35
    14
See reviews for
233
580
59
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

On this occasion we were not able to stay at this beautiful hotel, however, we did visit the Banker's Bar one evening and then have a meal in the Blanc restaurant the following night. In both locations the staff were absolutely brilliant, attentive and friendly. The cocktails were a real treat and the choice and quality of the food in the restaurant totally perfect - and all served by lovely people in great surroundings. Very special.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
200 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

My husband and I were treated like royalty at this fine hotel. We were upgraded to a beautiful room with a balcony and butler service. What a pleasure. The hotel is modern but comfortable. The staff as warm and professional as they come. The location is central to many sights, including two Gaudi homes. The hotel manager was warm and sincere about making our stay a great experience and he succeeded.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleuthera
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending 6 nights in mid-September at the Mandarin Oriental. We were absolutely pleased with every aspect of the hotel and staff.

First, and foremost, is service: Every single employee, from busboys to management, went out of their way to make certain that our stay was perfect. Special kudos to the efficient and friendly concierges, doormen and room service crew. Every employee we encountered made an effort to learn our names and address us by our names during our stay. All spoke English, most of them fluently.

We had a room with a terrace, which was quite pleasant -- the rooms are not especially large, so having an open-air spot to enjoy coffee or breakfast or a cold drink was a bonus. The rooms are appointed with every possible amenity ... wine glasses, an electric-plug converter, fully stocked mini-fridge, excellent high-speed wi-fi, lighted wardrobe ... you name it.

One note: While we enjoyed the terrace, unsuspecting tourists should be aware that the hotel is in the heart of a working city and the views on the terrace reflect that. The view below of the garden restaurant was pleasing, but the rear of the adjacent buildings revealed Spaniards going about their daily lives -- hanging out laundry, tending their plants, etc. Didn't bother us, tho might turn off some folks. But it's a city, after all, and not Disneyland.

My wife enjoyed the spa and workout facility on several occasions, rated them as 5-star in ambience and service.

The Moments restaurant, with its Michelin star, is well-known an lives up to its reputation. However, in value-for-your-money, the Blanc restaurant cannot be beat. The food was excellent and the service even better than at Moments. This little-discussed restaurant is a treasure. We also enjoyed a leisurely outdoor lunch at the Mimosa Garden restaurant -- again, good food and superb service.

The Mandarin is perfectly located for seeing the city, with easy access to all modes of transportation and very good restaurant nearby. Yes, it is expensive -- but they earn it. Couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We like to stay with Mandarin Oriental hotels when traveling in Asia. Mandarin Oriental Barcelona is our first experience with the MO in Europe. The best thing about this hotel is the attentive professional staff team that treats every guest equally. As Asian traveler, I have experienced less than perfect service from luxurious hotel in Europe but Mandarin Oriental Barcelona staff are very professionally trained and well managed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank organpipecoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#89 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,915 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#49 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Address: Passeig de Gracia, 38-40 | Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 34,965 - ₹ 1,25,875
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is an elegant, contemporary hotel in the heart of the avant-garde city's celebrated Passeig de Gracia. Located in a renovated mid-20th century building, this 120-room hotel, offers exceptional services and facilities including an award-winning spa, innovative dining at BistrEau by Angel Leon and two Michelin-starred dining by Carme Ruscalleda, within an exquisite interior created by world renowned Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing