We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the worst hotels I have experienced” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona
Ranked #271 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“one of the worst hotels I have experienced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Hotel Silken Ramblas, 11 - 14 April, 2012
was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.

The only good features are the location and the size of the rooms.

This may have been a 4* hotel once, but the entire stay was a total disappointment.
Dark woods, bad lighting and worn carpets do not provide a welcome ambience.
This ambience expands to the large rooms.
The "air conditioning" cuts out when you select a temperature higher than 17ºC
There are no plugs in the bathroom and subsequently no washing line. Overused towels with holes complete the picture.
There is no noise insulation to the rooms around you nor the street below. Our sliding door could not be locked.
The "free high speed internet" is a joke. The standard access code give you a 128 speed - remember dial-up?. After complaining, I got the business access. Even that was unusable in the room. You have to go to the lobby or sit under the router on you floor to get a connection at all.
To take a book to give you something to do while the pages load.
After this welcome we decided to not use the restaurant at all and went to
one of the many excellent restaurants in the area.

I will never use this hotel again and make sure that my clients will
bypass this hotel.

Room Tip: select another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerdw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    372
    183
    80
    48
See reviews for
174
340
33
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Linköping, Sverige
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed at Silken Ramblas for the second time with my husbands and some friends. The first time I was very impressed by the hotel, that's why I booked it for our second trip to Barcelona as well. The location is still GREAT, the staff in the reception is very helpfull and friendly. But this time we've got a darker room (window against a narrow autrium, a klaustrofobic feeling) and our room was connected to another room by just a thin door. In the connected room stayed a family of two or three small children who were running around in both the room and the corridor outside in the middle of the night. That was quite disturbing! But Barcelona is a wonderful city and our vacation was really great!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Aase67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Persuaded my friend to come here for 4 night break rather than smart places away from the centre. Was right choice. Small but well designed room. Good bathroom and shower. Had fridge where we kept food for breakfast and snacks. Ramblas just around the corner but hotel very quiet at night. We walked everywhere. The longish walk to Parc Guell was totally absorbing with shops, Gaudi buildings cafes etc. Walk to waterfront great. Walk to Mont Juic not so great- take metro? Restaurants everywhere. Try Taller de Tapas (5 minutes walk) for dinner and Aitor (near Sagrada Familia) for great value lunch- or buy stuff in Boqueria Market or supermarket round the corner for a picnic. Didn't visit the pool- too cold! Finding the '@' on their computer was a pain - ask reception!

Room Tip: We looked out on a well but was OK - maybe why it was so quiet?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsabelMeldrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Good location for all the sightseeing stuff, good comfy beds and clean throughout. But...the walls were paper thin meaning that you can hear everything that is next door and in the corridor. Not bad but wouldn't return due to the above and also because of the very menacing feel of La Rambla.

Room Tip: Take earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _Travel_Fanatic_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My wife & I spent four nights Mon to Thur here ,checking out Fri.The hotel is very modern & the staff on the main desk welcoming , friendly & helpful. Our room was quite big ,clean & very comfortable.The bathroom was spacious too with a great shower & selection of goodys.It is only about 100m to La Ramblas from the main entrance & another 150m to the main square for the Metro & buses.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeisoutthere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#116 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
#200 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Turin Hotel
Turin Hotel
#149 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#104 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona

Property: Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona
Address: Pintor Fortuny, 13, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,366 - ₹ 20,000
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Registry Number: HB-003951 This city hotel was built in 1992 and comprises a total of 105 rooms, including 8 Junior suites. The hotel bar is an ideal place to make a date, relax after the stress of a working day, or stock up on energy after a day exploring the city. Further amenities available to guests at this air-conditioned establishment include a lobby area with a 24-hour reception, a hotel safe, a currency exchange facility, a cloakroom, lift access, a cafe, a bar, a restaurant and conference facilities. Guests may also take advantage of the Internet access/WLAN, room service and a garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing