We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to the very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Ranked #93 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We had been recommended this hotel as part of our Airmiles / Avios booking and having done so twice before were happy to take their steer. Again, we have left very happy with our experience although we did wonder at first. On arrival the smell in the room from the bathroom was awful and got worse. Then, after the hot water was not running, we spoke with the front desk, The willingness of the staff to sort our problems cannot be faulted. Within a short period the water problem had been resolved and we had been moved to a new larger room without problem. We couldn't have asked for better service.
I would say that if you take the time to read reviews on this site and take them as a broad average then that is pretty much what you get. For us we found the place to be clean, the rooms are large and well equiped and a strong wifi signal exists throughout. The staff, as said, are very helpful and have a good command of English. The lack of tea / coffee in the room was a minor irritant and one that they could easily resolve if desired. The lockers for storing bags on your final day is a nice touch.
There is much talk on the site about location. Yes it is near the local funeral home and supporting businesses that surround it. That said, as you are rarely there we did not find this an issue. You are a short walk from the metro / tram stops and 10 min walk from Familia Sagrada and the Citidelia park so that was great. There isnt much around the hotel so you will need to ventrue out in the evening but the place felt safe. We had no experience of the noise some reviews refer to although being a very cold Feb this might be why. The neighbouring Melon Cafe is bob on for breakfast or a quick snack.
All in all we left happy travellers and would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pread26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 346 of 898 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

A great hotel for a family of four. It had fine spacious rooms. Only fault - ig had a kitchen but had no utensils which really meant it wasn't of much use to use i.e. no cups! We had requested a kettle which we got but no cups were there. Staff were lovely.
There was fine wifi. Near the metro. Clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cork2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel prior to a cruise. This was a great hotel. The room was very large and very clean. The same goes for the bathroom. We had a " matrimonial" bed (by request) and it was large and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and spoke adequate english. We needed a van to take 8 of us to the cruise terminal and they set it up for a very reasonable rate. It was also about a 20 minute walk to the marina and numerous restaurants and a 25 minute walk to the Las Ramblas area and other sights. we felt safe where ever we walked. However, if you turn right out of the hotel the area isn't so good. The hotel offers special discount tickets to the double decker tour buses which is the only way to see Barcelona. You can get on and off as much as you want and change to the other line/route (there are 2 ). The breakfast at the hotel is good but a little pricey however there is a little cafe on the corner which is very good and reasonable. We would stay there again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the east side of the hotel. There is a walkway on the other side where people wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Small, clean confortable hotel. Only about a mile walk to the sea. Free wifi was a plus. Hotel breakfast (14 euros) was adequate.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonUSTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The hotel is conveniently located - close to Sagrada Familia. In fact, if you are lucky, you might be able to see the massive structure from your room! If you like walking, it is a nice comfortable walk to the church - took us about 20m. Our room was nice and big with a separate sitting area. The staff at the hotel were very efficient and didnt take us long to check in or out. We were pleasantly surprised when they did not ask us to wait - the check in time was sometime after 1pm and we had arrived around 11am! most hotels, we were told, would not allow early check in so it was nice as we had had a long flight.

There is a tram and metro stop just 5mins away from the hotel so that makes moving around in Barcelona very easy. Getting to La Ramblas or Barri Gotic would take about 15m by metro. I would recommend buying a 1 or 2 day travel pass as it allows you unlimited travel on all public transport - including trams, buses & the metro. We didnt take the Barcelona Card as we were told that most museums were closed on the day we reached and hence it would be a waste.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay and we enjoyed Barcelona, despite the November rains!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellernamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#98 of 515 in Barcelona
1,247 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#68 of 515 in Barcelona
1,032 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#180 of 515 in Barcelona
3,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#78 of 515 in Barcelona
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri by Fraser Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri by Fraser Barcelona

Address: Sancho de Avila 32-34, 08018 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Apsis Porta Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#120 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#144 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: ₹ 5,392 - ₹ 15,021 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capri by Fraser Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel and serviced apartment residence is located in Barcelona's trendy 22th business district and 3 Metro stops from Plaza Catalunya. Enjoy the sun and a few cocktails or appreciate a cultural performance at one of Spain's finest theatres. Access to the nightlife of the Olympic port's restaurants, cafes and lively bars is not far. A mere 15 minutes' walk from Barcelona's beaches and the Marina (Olympic village), as to the National Theatre and the Auditorium, are opposite. Our Restaurant features a full continental buffet offering both hot and cold fare. Along with breakfast, the Capri by Fraser offers both European and Spanish dishes at its restaurant serving lunch until 4.00 pm Monday through to Friday. In addition, room service is also available. The hotel has a 24-hour front desk with concierge services providing local information, theatre tickets, restaurant and sight-seeing recommendations and even car rental. Capri by Fraser offers spacious air-conditioned studios and apartments with 21-32" flat-screen TV offering multi-lingual channels, a living room with sofa and seating area with double-glazed windows. There is a kitchenette, desk, digital safe, and bathrooms are equipped with hairdryer and bathroom welcome amenities. In addition, the property offers free Wi-Fi to all guests both in the apartment as well as spacious lounge and a business centre. Private car parking is also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capri by Fraser Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsis Porta Marina Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing