We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ABaC Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ABaC Barcelona
Ranked #4 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed here for 5 days in September, and was extremely impressed; great staff, rooms, and food.

Stayed in a deluxe room, spacious, quiet and modern. Excellent huge bathroom, with great rain shower. Very impressed that manager showed us to our room, and explained all the quirks of the lighting, curtains etc.

Staff overall were exceptional, great attention to detail. On check in, we were given a map, and guided through all the sites of the city and how to get there. Really impressed also by the lady in charge of breakfast. She was very warm, and almost motherly, and i have to say she served the best breakfast/brunch i have had in a long time. The egg speciality is pretty impressive.

Ate in the restaurant one of the nights, and it was spectacular, well worth a detour! Again, great personal service, explanation of the courses and good wine. Chef here worth at least two stars.

Location is ideal if you want a hotel in city centre, but slightly away from crowds of tourists. It's about 10-15 mins by metro/rail to placa de catalunya. Also there are some great eateries near the hotel, and some unusual ones!

Overall, i couldn't recommend this hotel enough, ideal for short to long breaks, and you should definitely eat at the restaurant once. It is an experience not to be missed

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankyboy800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    55
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
37
323
17
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
genova
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Well, we had chosen this hotel because we thought we wanted to have a treat before to head back home,with it's michelin fame,it's location,and it's sleek design,it's sounded perfect,but
A.
A Gourmet Treat
With it's 12courses ABaC menu,seem like a joke,it's all served in what we called a spirit house portion,too small of a portion,and not so good of what you've expected as for the level of the restaurant of this fame and categories.
The waiter are not very professional,I mean ,they just slide the dishes on to your table just like they did when they return the empty dishes back to the kitchen,perhaps it's a sunday night and they wanted to get it done as soon as possible.
B.
Being born as a restaurant
They seem to understand also the need of accommodation,but on doing so,it should be automatically give a priority to the guests who've booked the room there,doesn't matter if they going to spend the evening there or not,but considered the fact that it's some distance from the centre and the michelin fame,it would be enough to underline the fact that 's why we've chosen to stay there.
For us ,it's been a few hours before the table is confirmed,and only in the outside terrace,which perhaps is supposed to be for the waiting listed or un important guested?Of the way the waiter treated us,we guess it is.
aC
I must say the breakfast is very good(my husband got sicked,after the famous 12courses menu,and taking only immodium in the next 2 days,so it's only me for breakfast)and as well as the club sandwich,it's the most delicious I ever had,So,you started to think it could be a mistake or sadly a mis management ? I mean,the room are comfortable and functional,as well as the sleek designed,well located,for someone who look for a tranquility, the restaurant have to aCt differently in order to keep up with the good reviews that they've got and with them good intention and understanding they will reach only to the top!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umaGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnhout, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed here for my 40th birthday and loved every minute of it. Friendly staff, michelin restaurant, wonderful room equiped with the latest high tech, amazing bedding slept like a princess. We had breakfast just across the street (bakery) with lovely bread, cakes, ,,,, sweet and savoury. Bus stop in front of the door. If you like strolling around during the night time there is little to see ... So we combined this hotel with hotel ohm .... Location ohm hotel but overall comfort and food experience 10/10 for Abac.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greetenfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at the ABaC in August 2012 for two nights. From the moment we arrived, the staff was enormously helpful and kind. We arrived from the airport very early in the morning, yet they were still able to check us into our room right away. Christina at the front desk was a huge help in getting us settled and providing tips on where to travel around the city. Everyone - across the board - was incredibly friendly. Overall, it was a lovely experience and we highly recommend staying at the ABaC. Some details:

The Room
Our hotel room was situated in the "new" section of the ABaC building. Not too big and not too small, it was beautifully appointed and outfitted with luxury amenities. The best way to describe the aesthetic is calming, quiet and comfortably (not cold) modern. The hotel itself is very peaceful and quiet. I never saw any other guests, but the hotel was fully booked. If you're looking for something more active, this is not the place for you. However, if you're looking for a peaceful sanctuary, this is the perfect retreat.

The Location
While the hotel is not in the traditional center of the city, we found it very easy to navigate to areas like Las Ramblas, Bari Gothic, the Born and the waterfront by using the Barcelona subway, which was located less than two blocks from the hotel. Truthfully, we liked escaping the hectic, touristy areas to retreat back to the hotel. We didn't see this as a disadvantage, but for those who want action right outside their hotel - ABaC would not be the right choice.

The Restaurant
Amazing. Really, not much more to say than that. You will pay handsomely for your 14-course meal, but it will be worth every euro. We loved our experience - and it was an experience from the moment you sat down to the moment you left. Attentive, charming service and food that genuinely knocks your socks off. We loved it.

We chose originally chose ABaC for its small size and for the restaurant. We wanted a unique experience in a small boutique hotel and ABaC delivered that for us. We had a wonderful time and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallStreet10005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilivtravel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

From the moment you are welcomed to the hotel, the amazing room complimented by the personal service. Look out for Pillar who serves the best breakfast with a genuine smile, just like your mum. The rooms are very well designed for comfort as well and functionality. The front desk are some of the most helpful staff I have met, especially as I lost my I phone and they pulled out all the stops to help me find it

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hilivtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 519 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#5 of 519 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#10 of 519 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABaC Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABaC Barcelona

Property: ABaC Barcelona
Address: Av. Del Tibidabo, 1, 08022 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,690 - ₹ 28,447
Hotel Class:5 star — ABaC Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GASTRONOMY, ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN... A UNIQUE GOURMET EXPERIENCE ABaC Restaurant Hotel Monument 5* GL is located in Sarria-Sant Gervasi, the upper zone of Barcelona, with views to the Kennedy square and surrounded with the vegetation of La Tamarita gardens. Close to the most important points of the city. Work of the architect Antoni de Moragas, consists of two buildings integrated in a garden. The centennial building was refurbished due to its historical value and it was the old residence of Dona Madronita, an intellectual of the born Catalan bourgeoisie at the end of XIX century. She was the daughter of the famous pharmacist Dr. Andreu, and she was the wife of the North American Max Klein (president of the Chamber of Commerce of the United States and one of the introducers of the basketball in Spain). On the other hand, the new crystal pavilion is covered of lattices of wood and joined the garden. Landscape and architecture give themselves the hand in a space of pure lines. ROOMS The hotel offers 15 luxurious rooms completely soundproof, with a vanguardist decoration, the greater comfort and technical advances. Room facilities: • Totally soundproof. • Parquet flooring and exotic wood. • Independent air conditioning & heating. • Wireless high Speed internet connection. • Bang & Olufsen telephon • Bang & Olufsen 32", 42" & 50" television. • DVD. • Direct telephone line. • "Merten" remote control for lights and blinds. • "Nespresso" coffee machine. • Mini-bar. • Safety box. • 2X2 Mattress "Treca de Paris" • Linen yarn. • Gaston & Daniela textiles. • Working desk. • Jacuzzi with chromo therapy. • 40X40, Rain effect shower. • Welcome amenities: Hermes • Hairdryer. DINING In 2000 ABaC Restaurant opened its doors in his first location, Carrer del Rec 79 in Barcelona. In May 2008 changed to his new address in Avenida Tibidabo, 1. The gastronomy is the fundamental axis of the project. The restaurant awarded with 2** Michelin, and nominated by The Best Restaurant 2011 in Catalonia by the Catalan Academy of Gastronomy, can seat up to 56 diners. Located in the newly constructed pavilion in direct contact with the garden, the interior and the exterior are found through large windows. It is a caprice of whites, in all tones. In a calm, neutral and elegant atmosphere, the sense of sophistication is shaped by the small details and the materials used, as well as a sophisticated combination of lights. The kitchen of 200 m2 has been designed by Joaquim Casademont. It is a black container, in which stainless steel furniture takes all leadership, an effect that has been reinforced by the lighting, a route marked by leds serves as a guide and allows the guests to cross it. Rooms for private events with a capacity of 20 to 60 diners respectively, complete its restoration facilities. The "Lounge Bar", which opens until 2.00 P.M. And where the music, light and color of the room subtly change;There is also an extensive cellar, offering near 1000 references, and from which you can select your perfect wine. Chef Jordi Cruz and his team of young professionals develop a creative cusine of superb technique, based on the product and which meets both creativity and tradition. In addition, our attentive yet friendly service create a professional but relaxed atmosphere, which makes ABaC holder of 2** Michelin. MEETING-ROOMS Conference and events meeting rooms, from 2 to 60 people, equipped with the most modern technology. For whatever event you may wish to undertake, our highly qualified personnel will take care of every detail and will work with you in all aspects regarding organisation to guarantee a memorable experience for all present and successful outcome to your meeting. SPA - ELEMIS Located in a private area of the ABaC Hotel, this is the place to find the most personalised gift for our customers: Their Wellbeing. • Jacuzzi with underwater sunbeds • Cold pool • Hammam • Two treatment cabins Room 1: Water bed with sea waves effect and adjustable temperature. Chromo therapy Room 2: Double room. (Bed and tatami) • Cleopatras (Heated sunbeds) • Manual therapies. • Facial treatments. • Asiatic therapies. OTHER SERVICES: • 24 hrs. Room service. • 24 Hrs. Concierge service. • Laundry and valet service. • Multilingual personnel. • Closed Circuit TV. • Fire extinguishing system. • Wireless high speed internet connection. • Parking. • Valet. • Limousine service and luxury car service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your ABaC Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abac Barcelona Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing