We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ozzies”
Review of Hotel Curious

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Curious
Ranked #87 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We booked at Hotel Curious because of a friend from Australia's recommendation. While not "luxury" accomodation, we found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable and very close to La Rambla and all the tourist activities.The staff at all times were helpful and pleasant and we started the day with a nice breakfast which was more than adequate.We would happily reommend Hotel Curious beacause of its great location and the nice way we were treated.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a nice review about our place!

Our main goal is helping our guest having their best stay in Barcelona. We love doing it and it is our job, so that's great!

It's been a pleasure having you as our guest.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Curious!

Our best regards,

Artur Artigas
Director Hotel Curious

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 710 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed 3 nights Aug 2012. excellent location, near Metro lines plus walking distance from main attractions. great breakfasts, room very nice. good Air con !!, welcoming Staff, more than happy to recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Nowhere did I read that it is easy to get the Aerportbus to and from Placa Catalunya which is a 5 m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent reservation at Hotel Curious. We are also very happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We are really look forward to see you soon!

Our best regards,

Artur Artigas
Director Hotel Curious

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Let me start this review with a clarification:

I choose all our hotels through Tripadvisor, mainly selecting from among the best in each city. When I searched for hotels in Barcelona, I zeroed in on 4 or 5 from the top 20, among them Hotel Curious. Email correspondence with the hotel was quick, friendly, and efficient, and price appeared competitive, especially since I prefer a quadruple room for the four of us (two adults and two children). My mistake was assuming that this was a four-star hotel (like the other two we booked in two other cities), a mistake totally my own, mainly caused by the raving reviews I had read.

When the taxi drove us to the hotel, and I saw it had one star on it, I thought there had been a mistake and asked the taxi driver whether there was "another" Curious hotel in Barcelona. No. That was the one.

Another cause for the confusion was the price. This is not a cheap hotel by any means. As mentioned in another review (same trip to Spain), I paid almost the same amount (taxes and breakfast included) for two double-rooms in a four-star hotel in the very heart of Madrid. When I saw the price of this quadruple room at Hotel Curious, I (foolishly) assumed it to be a four-star hotel. My mistake again.

Now for the review.

The good:
- Reception staff, except for one individual who was difficult to engage with, was great. Friendly, helpful, and totally dedicated to their guests. I've heard them speak at least three different languages.
- Internet centre is one (free) station in the lobby.
- Interior design is above average: the designer cleverly used colours and surfaces to give the impression of space to an otherwise small setting. Stylish and modern looking.
- Everything is spotlessly clean, inside and out.
- Beds were fine; some reviewers complained about mattresses being hard, but we found this to be a plus.
- Our room had a small balcony with a view on the street; you can put two chairs and enjoy the hussle and bustle of a typical Barcelona night.
- Soundproofing is 100% efficient, and once you close the balcony glass doors you're in another world.
- Location is perfect, really. The hotel is in one side street perpendicular to the famous "Rambla," in the very centre of Barcelona. The Rambla is half-a-minute's walk from the hotel, the Placa Catalunya and the Corte Ingles 5 minutes away, the Barrio Gotico 10 minutes, and the harbour 15. The beach, if you like to walk, is only about 30 minutes away.
- Our departure from the hotel to the airport was very early in the morning (at 03:45), but the receptionist kindly told us that they could prepare a basic breakfast just for us downstairs before the taxi came in. That was a nice personal touch.

The not-so-good
- The room was small. Granted, there were four of us there, but still, there is barely room to move around.
- There is no wardrobe. You have hangers on one side of the room dangling above two folding tables.
- The bathroom is small with minimal toiletries.
- On arrival, I told the reception that the draining of the tub was not great (if you let the water flow for about a minute you'll have 3-5 cms of water to wade in), but although they said they would fix it, nothing was done during our week-long stay.
- After about 4 days, around midnight, the flushing device of the toilet seat broke down and the water kept flowing inside the seat. I called the reception, and the receptionist came up to shut down the water completely. In the morning, the hotel's repair person came, tightened some screws, and said it was fine. 15 minutes later, it happened again, with the same response from the repair person. The seat flushing held on for another day and then finally and totally broke down. The reception employee who came up said that "there's a special way to push the flushing buttons," but when he saw the look on my face he quickly said he was joking. A few hours later, they finally decided it was time to change the internal flushing system for good. So that took about two days and a half to fix.
- Breakfast is basic, really. I counted the following: two kinds of ham ("jamon" and "York"), one kind of salami, one kind of chorizo, one kind of sliced cheese, boiled eggs, toasts (and toaster) and bread, coffee, tea, and milk, two kinds of cereals, butter and cheese spread, jam and honey, yogurt, croissants, and three kinds of fruit. There is free orange juice, but a sign on each table gives the option of "natural orange juice" for 3 euros, and expresso for 1 euro.
- Price: as I said above, this is not a cheap hotel. Had I known that the amenities were those of a one-star hotel from the start, I would have chosen other offers from four-star hotels which were only slightly and marginally more expensive.
- There is no safe and no mini-bar/fridge in the room.

Conclusion: for a one-star hotel, I guess this is good enough, but be prepared for only the basics at an above-average price (compared to Madrid and to the beach resorts of the south of Spain). Good staff, great and modern interior design, superlative location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BeirutPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your great and complete review about Hotel Curious on TripAdvisor. We think it really describes what is Hotel Curious and what is our philosophy.

Hotel Curious is a cute and trendy boutique small hotel (only 24 rooms) in the very heart of Barcelona, as you already pointed out. The situation is perfect if you want to visit the whole city by foot in 3-5 days (short stays). It is 5 minutes walk away from Plaza Catalunya, where the Aerobus stops, coming directly from Airport every 5 minutes in a 30 minutes trip. Nearest metro stations are: Plaza Catalunya (Red Line - L1) or Liceu (Green Line - L3).

As you said, we are a ONE STAR hotel. Stars are given to hotels in Spain according to the number of services they can offer to their guests. Ours is a very small hotel (no gym or restaurant or swimmingpool), that's why we are a one star rated hotel. One star does not mean we can't have a lovely design and decor, 24h of good attention of the staff at the front desk or obsession for silence, clean and relax. According to our guests, we make it! That's why we are so happy.

Regarding the prices, we would like to add that our rooms have a very similar price to hotels nearby. We believe that choosing Hotel Curious is a plus: very personalized service, 24h attention, WiFi and breakfast are included.

Our main priority is taking good care of our guests, every minute of the day.

Regarding the toilette, we apologize for the incident occured. We would also want to thank you for your patience. It was fixed as fast as we could, do not have a doubt.

Once again, and as we said at the beginning, thank you very much for your great and complete review about Curious. We are so glad you liked our modest little hotel after your stay with us!

Our best regards,

Artur Artigas
Director Hotel Curious

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Excellent location. Walking distance to Plaza Catalunya (main transportation hub with direct buses to the airport). OK value for Barcelona. Very good breakfast. Excellent Lobby staff (check in, check out, knowledgeable, efficient, courtious, etc..). Clean and confortable. Wireless internet is included.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aalbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Guets,

We would like to thank you very much for your excellent review on TripAdvisor about our place. We celebrate that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon at Hotel Curious!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Director Hotel Curious

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Booked this for a pre-cruise stay based on trip advisor reviews. Not disappointed. GREAT location--one block from LaRambla and it's right in the middle of it so perfect to walk either direction. Cool modern decor, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review on TripAdvisor! We celebrate you had a perfect saty with us and we really hope to see you soon again at Hotel Curious!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Director Hotel Curious

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#195 of 516 in Barcelona
1,001 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#158 of 516 in Barcelona
687 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#53 of 516 in Barcelona
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#78 of 516 in Barcelona
2,143 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#68 of 516 in Barcelona
600 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Ibis Styles Barcelona City Bogatell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Curious? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Curious

Address: C/ Carme, 25, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: ₹ 3,567 - ₹ 10,170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Curious 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, good-value hotel is just 50 m from central Barcelona's Las Ramblas and the Boqueria Market. All rooms are air-conditioned and have free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. The stylish rooms at Hotel Curious feature large photos of Barcelona's major attractions and monuments. The modern bathrooms are equipped with a hairdryer. The Curious has a dining room where guests can enjoy a varied buffet breakfast. Room service is available and there is also a bar. There is a tour desk and guests can hire a car or bicycles at the hotel. Massage treatments are also available. The central location makes exploring the city very easy. You can reach the beach in 10 minutes by taking the number 59 bus on Las Ramblas. Ciutat Vella is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, tapas and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Curious reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing