We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very relaxing stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Don Gregorio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed here for new year,and found the staff extremely proffesional.Check in was quick,and we were settled into our room quickly,which was very clean,spaceous and comfortable.The bathroom was excellent,separate shower and jacuzzi bath.Breakfast is varies,and you can order freshly cooked bacon,eggs and mushrooms,or of course omelettes etc.We booked the spa for one hour on 2 consecutive days.The staff close it off for your private use,and also bring you a glass of cava at the end,nice touch!Would consider returning for this new year,because the gala dinner although relaxed and quiet,bumped up a notch once the DJ arrived.Good fun!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianLima_Peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    56
    10
    9
    1
See reviews for
65
212
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Everyone's views and thoughts on their stay in a hotel can and do vary, we stayed at Don Gregorio mid-October for a 3 night stay to enable us to see the beautiful City of Salamanca.
We chose the hotel after reading reviews on Salamanca hotels and I'm glad we chose it. In the last year or so we have stayed at Banyan Tree Hotels, Atlantis Dubai, Al Qasr Dubai, Peninsula Hotels, Mandarin Oriental hotels..and it is in our opinions that the comfort, homeliness, quality, location and ambience of the Don Gregorio surpasses them all.
It's location is second to none being directly across from Iglesias de Santo Estoban, a Church large enough to be deemed a Cathedral in other cities........but well, eclipsed by the true Salamanca Cathedrals just 5 mins walk behind the hotel, these date from 12th Century (vieja) and Nueva (16th Century), also nearby is the Convento de Las Deunas where you can sightsee and sample the home baking the Madres provide.
Welcome was friendly efficient and all the staff were eager to help, but not over eager or imposing, if you wanted to be left alone, then that was respected.
Quality of bedding, furnishings was distinctive, unique, and both classy and classical. Best sleeps I've ever had in a hotel..well maybe with exception of Shangri-La in Hong Kong....go to bed, go to sleep and next thing it's morning. Traffic noise minimal even though we were at front of hotel. Wi-Fi was quick and available in rooms and public areas. Breakfast downstairs was so good that getting back upstairs after it was a thought!!! But as is usual in Spain there are a myriad of cafes etc selling tostada con tomate, bocadillas etc if you want that option....with a return to an excellent hotel after your sightseeing.
Salamanca itself defies description, from the obvious beauty, to the hooded statues of especially Miguel de Unamuno, who paid the ultimate price for his beliefs and free thoughts, it is a city like a gorgeous woman, you discover it's secrets layer by layer. I would qualify my love for the hotel by adding........if you are the type who prefers large impersonal corporate hotels with 18 hole golf and so on...then you probably stopped reading this long ago....if not then give the Don Gregorio a chance to work it's subtle magic with you!!
I'm not sure as some reviewers have said that the hotel is hard to get to, but anyone can get a bit lost, we drove from Madrid and found it easily.
So a precis of a long story......Hotel Don Gregorio, for us one of best hotels it was our hotel highlight of 2011 and we will stay there as often as work allows.

Room Tip: every room unique..so hard to help you here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zorro69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We all loved this hotel. It's in a great location, minutes from the beautiful Plaza Mayor which is a brilliant place to eat during the day but just stunning at night when it lights up and fills with people. We had interconnecting rooms which had a joint entrance hall, the beds were huge with the best pillows EVER! The bathrooms were immaculate and as other reviews have stated the shower was really good, I even took a photo of it! Breakfast was a choice of cold buffet or hot cooked to order and is was delicious. Salamanca is well worth a visit but the Don Gregorio is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed two nights at the Don Gregorio early October. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The bathrooms are perfect. Spacious, good shower. I would highly recommend when visiting Salamanca.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Furge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goiania, GO
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Great hotel, great stuff, nicely located, great beds and rooms. Onne of the best I`ve seen in Spain. Must visit...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLAVIO E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Rector
Hotel Rector
#1 of 72 in Salamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 km away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.1 km away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
0.5 km away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.3 km away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#3 of 72 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Don Gregorio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Don Gregorio

Property: Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
Address: Calle San Pablo 80-82, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,668 - ₹ 22,678
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Don Gregorio 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RESTORED 15TH CENTURY PALACE NOW A FIVE STAR BOUTIQUE HOTEL Don Gregorio Grand Hotel is an elegant, luxury hotel in the historic city of Salamanca, Spain. The boutique hotel offers 17 guestrooms and suites for a quiet retreat with the charm of a palace and the convenience of modern amenities. The five-star Grand Hotel sits minutes away from many historic landmarks in Salamanca, such as the Plaza Mayor, Ieronimus Cathedral, and Clerecia Towers. Book a splendid vacation at a Tripadvisor Travelers' Choice(R) 2014 Winner for Top 25 Luxury Hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your Grand Hotel Don Gregorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing