We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,209)
Filter reviews
1,209 results
Traveller rating
571
431
146
45
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
431
146
45
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plaza mayor great location minute walk to the plaza single room parking garage few meters hotel located other cities direct access recommend this hotel beautiful plaza family room major sites comfortable bed street noise university town sat nav
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,209 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2018

We stayed there for 1 night and were pretty Happy with the room. Our room was quiet small but the bed was pretty spacious, so we a great sleep. The bed linen and pillows have really a great quality. The amenities were as well top. The bathrooms could be updated but have all you need.
The breakfast has a big selection of food and drinks. The location of the hotel is super central, next to the market and we could reach all importante points by foot. Car park is available against a small fee.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank martinstadter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VegaDireccion, Gerente at Room Mate Vega, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Dear client:

Thanks for your review.

We are so happy that you had so good experience with us.
Without any doubt we are going to take note of your points to improve.

Kind Regards

Araceli
Jefa de Recepcion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

Friendly reception and efficient checkin, with parking for our motorbike located on site. We stayed in #205 for 3 nights and were really impressed. The room was decorated to a high standard, with the most comfortable bed and pillows ever. It was a real struggle to get out in the morning! Lots of hot water and good towels, particularly good was the toiletries which were sensibly packaged to reduce waste. One of the really nice things about here was that it smelt clean and the laundry also smelt lovely. You very rarely get that in hotels so it was delightful here.
There’s a mini bar and facility to make hot drinks, with a little seating area. It was also nice to be able to open the doors to the Juliet balcony and watch the work go by. It wasn’t the quietest of locations but that didn’t seem to stop us from sleeping well. The location is perfect, just steps from the beautiful plaza major and loads of restaurants. There is also a very good laundrette a few steps from the hotel (complete wash and dry done in 45’ for €6; bargain!) as well as a men’s barber over the road who do a very good wet shave (or so my husband tells me).
I loved Salamanca as a city and I’m sure much of it was sleeping well and having a nice place to come back to. I would definitely recommend here as a base for exploring.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ratbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VegaDireccion, Gerente at Room Mate Vega, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Hi Ratbag:

Fist of all we want to thank you for taking the time to valorate us.

And thanks again for you good review. It's always a pleasure to hear from the first hand your opinions.

Please don't hesitate to contact with us if you decided to visit us again.

Kind Regards

Araceli
Jefa de Recepcion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

The good: The one positive point most reviewers make and I absolutely can agree with is the location. Extremely convenient to explore Salamanca, with bars and restaurants nearby. The reception staff was extremely friendly too.

The bad: I had seen once a documentary about the Room Mate franchise and was quite impressed about the approach of the design and comfort. But sadly that didn’t apply to this hotel or at least to the room. Room 305 – where to start?! The room is of an acceptable size but sadly very outdated when it comes to design and furniture. In the middle of the room was a ceiling lamp that had no other purpose but to annoy us when getting around the room, it was hanging too low and above all had no bulb in it! The corners of the room had mold. The window frame wasn’t attached to the adjoining walls so you could see right through it. The bathroom ceiling had huge cracks and no matter how hard we tried to be careful the shower constantly flooded the whole bathroom floor.

The other issue was the cleaning staff. In the early hours on the weekend it seemed common to deposit the cleaning cars and the vacuum cleaners right against the wall next to the room with as much noise as possible. When I eventually got up to ask the staff to quiet down no one was to be seen. Unfortunately the service provided by the cleaning staff didn’t improve when it came to the amenities for the bathroom. Even though we had left the empty shower and shampoo bottles by the tub each morning they never had been taken away and replaced by new ones. We eventually had to sneak out of the room and “steal” them from the abandoned cleaning car.

The conclusion: The price we paid for the room per night (91EUR) does not reflect the value of the hotel. Yes, the location is great and the reception staff was very friendly and accommodating but the room itself was a big disappointment, as it was in a very bad state and equipped with outdated furniture. The cleaning staff was never to be seen but always to be heard, which usually should be the other way around. Overall I can’t agree with their own statement on their website that states the hotel is a “boutique design hotel” with “excellent service and premium amenities”. Definitely not worth a recommendation.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VegaDireccion, Gerente at Room Mate Vega, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear David S.:

Thank you very much for telling us about your good and bad experience with us during your stay, and I´m so sorry for the inconveniences you had during it.

I´ll take your words to work on it because the comments are to learn day by day. I´ll speak with the cleaning lady in order to know what happened. The normal think is to have a very good comments about the staff in general, I´m so sorry.

Please, take this event like something eventual, and please, if you decide to visit us again contact to me directly.

My best regards.

Ángela Plaza
Manager
Room Mate Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

This hotel is right in the middle of everything, just a block away from the main plaza. As we had our own car the big plus was the underground parking below the hotel, with direct access by lift up to each floor. Good instructions provided by the hotel prior to our arrival on how to find the hotel. We stayed in an Executive Room which was very spacious and the bathroom included a bath. Breakfast in the basement was good too.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PennyH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VegaDireccion, Gerente at Room Mate Vega, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear PennyH2009:

Thank you very much for telling us about your experience in Room Mate Vega.

The best thing is not to say a bad thing:-), but if you do, we try to lern about it, thank you!!!!. We hope to surprise you the next time, and we hope to wellcome you in Room Mate in a future.

My best regards.

Ángela Plaza
Manager
Room Mate Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I loved everything about this place. The location was an excellent home base for exploring salamanca. It is located just yards from the plaza mayor. The staff were great. Breakfast was well worth the extra. Air conditioning was phenomenal.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VegaDireccion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Vega, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018


Dear Martin G:

Thank you for sharing with us your experience in Room Mate Vega.

Thank you for your fantastic valoration about the location, the staff and we hope to improve day by day. It is possible with your comments.

My best regards.

María Núñez
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Vega


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews