We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisiest street ever”
Review of Plaza Pombo B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plaza Pombo B&B
Ranked #7 of 24 Santander B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Place is nice and clean but the constant noise from street including glass recycling truck is unbearable no sleep whatsoever. First 4 hours constant people noise laughing shouting talking then glass recycling truck visited twice through the night and as dawn broke we had the seagulls no rest for the wicked. Even the sign in the window opposite gave the game away

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2016

We chose to stay here recently for one night as it was very central and close to the ferry terminal. The entrance lobby had atmosphere- low lights and antique furniture and the lady who welcomed us was pleasant and accommodating. Our room was basic with a shared bathroom. We stayed on a Sunday evening and our main complaint was the extraordinary amount of noise that prevented us sleeping. Sounds of wild partying, and then in the early hours of the morning the rubbish collectors came along and there was the sound of smashing glass as they progressed along the street.
The beds were comfortable, but our room had no blinds on the window so with the noise and the light we did not get much rest. We had no time to have breakfast which looked very generous with cereal, yoghurt, toast etc. We may have been unlucky as some of those things are beyond the control of the hotel, and it may be quite quiet during the week.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ann1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

Great cheap price, at a very good location! The staff was super welcoming and so helpfull and friendly with giving information. This was really awesome. basic hostel rooms, and we had a room with a really small seperate bathroom. The toilet was down the hall but that wasn't an issue. We had breakfast there, fresh coffee and orange juice with a slice of toast and a croissant :) and that's all i needed! I was really happy with my experience there, certainly for that price!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

My expectations were not too high as we had stayed before at Plaza Pombo, a few years back and not had a very good experience.
However, I had a nice surprise. The room was great - a good size, clean, tidy and nicely decorated. It even had tea facilities which was fantastic as most places in Spain don't seem to do this. I think others should follow there example!
We had to share a bathroom, but that was okay, as we were only staying one night after arriving by ferry from Portsmouth to Santander. We were picking up a car the following morning.
Had a good night's sleep and the breakfast was fine - again an improvement as the first time round I had cereal in a 'mug!. A nice selection for breakfast with good coffee.
Staff were very welcoming and helpful. You have to access the third floor via a lift when you enter the building where the hotel rooms are located.
It is very handy to the ferry terminal and perfect for an overnight stay - the price is also very reasonable.

Room Tip: Room 8 was good - quiet except for early morning when road sweeper goes by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

The room SMELLED so bad, the kid refused to eat inside!! Do NOT stay in room #5... Mould in the walls? Bathroom so tiny it's impossible to move around, the bin is miniature (fills with 1 can :D). Also, very badly-cleaned... So, it's a definite 0.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Vi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanjo C, Director General at Plaza Pombo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Thank you for your comment.
You've been 4 nights staying in the same room. During your stay at no time said nothing about the room. And now surprisingly are all problems.
First of all I will tell you that the room smelled not bad. It smelling bad is the food that you kept hidden during those 4 days. Also has been used desk table with knives cutting his food, something that is difficult to fix.
As for his son if he refused to eat in the room perhaps he wants hot food offered in the restaurants of the area against to eat cold sandwiches every day.
The bathroom has large enough, with walk-in shower, washbasin and WC, as you are required by the regulations of tourism. It is corresponding to the category you reserved, a Bed and Breakfast, no Hotel 4 stars.
The bins are sufficient for the room, they are to pull paper, no boxes of food, then it is not true that they fill up before. Be emptied daily, as well as the cleaning is done daily.
I cannot accept that the walls have mildew. That is totally false, and I can't understand because it manifests that allegation. I think that it does not understand the damage that does with these false manifestations.
We feel that you do not enjoy your holiday, but you believe me when I say that we have not guilt.
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1 km away
Hospedaje Magallanes
Hospedaje Magallanes
#14 of 32 in Santander
273 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,342 reviews
1.7 km away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#9 of 32 in Santander
711 reviews
0.7 km away
Abba Santander Hotel
Abba Santander Hotel
#18 of 32 in Santander
240 reviews
0.8 km away
Hostal Cabo Mayor
Hostal Cabo Mayor
#6 of 24 in Santander
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pombo B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pombo B&B

Address: Calle Hernan Cortes 25 Escalera E Planta 3 Puerta 1, 39003 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Santander
Price Range: ₹ 2,551 - ₹ 2,710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Pombo B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Plaza Pombo B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing