We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Improved”
Review of Plaza Pombo B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plaza Pombo B&B
Ranked #7 of 24 Santander B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 April 2016

My expectations were not too high as we had stayed before at Plaza Pombo, a few years back and not had a very good experience.
However, I had a nice surprise. The room was great - a good size, clean, tidy and nicely decorated. It even had tea facilities which was fantastic as most places in Spain don't seem to do this. I think others should follow there example!
We had to share a bathroom, but that was okay, as we were only staying one night after arriving by ferry from Portsmouth to Santander. We were picking up a car the following morning.
Had a good night's sleep and the breakfast was fine - again an improvement as the first time round I had cereal in a 'mug!. A nice selection for breakfast with good coffee.
Staff were very welcoming and helpful. You have to access the third floor via a lift when you enter the building where the hotel rooms are located.
It is very handy to the ferry terminal and perfect for an overnight stay - the price is also very reasonable.

Room Tip: Room 8 was good - quiet except for early morning when road sweeper goes by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

The room SMELLED so bad, the kid refused to eat inside!! Do NOT stay in room #5... Mould in the walls? Bathroom so tiny it's impossible to move around, the bin is miniature (fills with 1 can :D). Also, very badly-cleaned... So, it's a definite 0.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Vi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanjo C, Director General at Plaza Pombo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Thank you for your comment.
You've been 4 nights staying in the same room. During your stay at no time said nothing about the room. And now surprisingly are all problems.
First of all I will tell you that the room smelled not bad. It smelling bad is the food that you kept hidden during those 4 days. Also has been used desk table with knives cutting his food, something that is difficult to fix.
As for his son if he refused to eat in the room perhaps he wants hot food offered in the restaurants of the area against to eat cold sandwiches every day.
The bathroom has large enough, with walk-in shower, washbasin and WC, as you are required by the regulations of tourism. It is corresponding to the category you reserved, a Bed and Breakfast, no Hotel 4 stars.
The bins are sufficient for the room, they are to pull paper, no boxes of food, then it is not true that they fill up before. Be emptied daily, as well as the cleaning is done daily.
I cannot accept that the walls have mildew. That is totally false, and I can't understand because it manifests that allegation. I think that it does not understand the damage that does with these false manifestations.
We feel that you do not enjoy your holiday, but you believe me when I say that we have not guilt.
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015

The place did not make me think of Spain at all in the first place which gave me a surprise, but loved it straight away. The room was huge (one double and one single bed only for myself) and the view was on both places, plaza Pombo and the one behind and on the church, which was lovely. In the morning I could also see the sea between 2 buildings!
At breakfast again I had a view on the sea! Breakfast is very generous and staff is nice.
I feel they could do with another star, they do a great job!
Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EmeraldIsle1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful city for three nights. This B&B made my whole stay wonderful. It was clean and tidy, easy to find for (for someone who doesn't speak Spanish), and the hosts were simply amazing! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone coming to Santander. The location was great, right in the city, and a 10-15 minute walk to the beaches along the seaside. I stayed during the week and wasn't too noisy at all. Thank you so much for your hospitality! I hope to see you again in the near future!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
Thank christinemY7864FN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Arriving at cold, damp Santander, it was good to know we had somewhere booked and, although the ferry terminal is being upgraded and mucked around with, we found Plaza Pombo easily. Less so the (underground) parking, the entrance to which is on the south side of the plaza - but with the pedestrian entrance very close.

Plaza Pombo B&B is on the 3rd floor of a 6-storey apartment block which is best described as "faded elegance". But our room was spacious and warm, and we had a good night's sleep. Some effort has obviously been made to bring the place up to a high standard (although a few details such as the folding plastic door to our shower room could have been done better), and we had a good continental breakfast in a lovely room overlooking the square.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and we felt this to be a good start to our holiday. OK, it's not the Ritz, but for what we paid we were rather pleased!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have en-suite, but ours did (No 6)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NeilPick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
0.4 km away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#5 of 32 in Santander
273 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Art Santander
Hotel Art Santander
#7 of 32 in Santander
232 reviews
5.9 km away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#6 of 32 in Santander
954 reviews
2.0 km away
Silken Rio Hotel
Silken Rio Hotel
#17 of 32 in Santander
589 reviews
0.5 km away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#9 of 32 in Santander
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pombo B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pombo B&B

Address: Calle Hernan Cortes 25 Escalera E Planta 3 Puerta 1, 39003 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Santander
Price Range: ₹ 2,440 - ₹ 3,127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Pombo B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Plaza Pombo B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing