We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Off Season grandeur” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eurostars Hotel Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eurostars Hotel Real
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Santander
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Off Season grandeur”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

A very handsome building overlooking the little peninsula where the royal palace sits, The Hotel Real feels old-fashioned in a nice way. There are real keys (not cards) with heavy key fobs that you hand in whenever you leave, a lift with those concertina grid doors, lots of soft carpets and panelled corridors. Staff are all polite and friendly and kind to faltering attempts at Spanish, though all had at least some English.

I had a room with gorgeous sea views. Excellent black out blinds and a very comfortable bed made for a good night's sleep though I could hear the conversation and snoring from next door very clearly. TV, minibar, good supply of hangers and cupboards. Everything was clean and functional, the bathroom was not luxurious but perfectly adequate and well stocked. A small balcony offered a chance to enjoy the early Spring sunshine and the wonderful sunrises.

Breakfast buffet had freshly prepared cheese, meats, pastries, cooked breakfast and a selection of fresh fruit, served in a pleasant garden room. In summer I think you could eat on the terrace.

There is a thalassotherapy spa which I didn't try, and large public rooms for drinks or sitting about which were deserted, as was most of the hotel, in early March. It might have a very different feel in high summer, but at this time had a sense of slightly faded grandeur, which I very much liked.

Room Tip: The sea views (on two sides) are what makes this hotel special
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    260
    120
    47
    40
See reviews for
143
422
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I was very excited to come to this famous hotel, apparently one of the best in Spain. The charming building (an old castle), it's gardens and the spa were the reasons for my boyfriend to book it. We arrived late at night, we checked in and went to the room. As it says in its website, I was expecting a 5 star hotel GL (Gran Lujo) but its was extremely disappointing. The bedroom was not charming or cozy. It was run down, old and dark. The TV was not a plasma flat screen TV, but rather a small and old TV, similar to the one that my mum had in her kitchen 5 years ago. The bed covers and the curtains were colorless, I guess the color faded few years ago. But the most disappointing of all was the bathroom, extremely small and dark. After 10 minutes my boyfriend and I took the decision to leave. I rather go to an average hotel in Benidorm where the accommodation its cheaper, where I know what to expect from a hotel and where the weather its hot.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariapilarpino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

I had great service, especially the bellhop, and a gorgeous, huge room here. The breakfast buffet was good and had great service. The view out my window was unbelievable. I toured Spain and this was one of the nicest hotels I stayed at, with a deep marble tub, an entry door that buffered any noise. The place is above the beach. It's a walk into town and to nearby restaurant, DeLuz (very nice). Two robes, two pairs of slippers, nice amenities. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We booked the Hotel Real for the last night of a trip to Northern Spain as it is near the ferry terminal and looked good on the web. It is impressive architecturally, set amongst other grand residences in the heights above Santander. We were straight away given a room that smelt of tobacco smoke, we declined so we got one next to the lift instead! Fortunately the bathroom was between the bedroom and the lift shaft. Its a long walk to the centre of Santander but we don't mind that and had a nice evening. The Bodega's are excellent in Santander.

We got back to our room to hear a large dog barking continuously next door, clearly left alone. We contacted reception and they quickly found the owner so mercifully we did not have to listen to barking all night, however, I don't expect to have to listen to dogs barking in five star hotels.

We did not feel this was a five star experience adn would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

This has to be one of the best hotels you will ever stay in if you are into Agatha Christie period buildings furniture and atmosphere. It is well maintained, clean, spacious, well appointed and in a superb location with the best views Santander has to offer. Our room was on the 4th floor and had a small balcony offering views across the sea. The staff were helpful without being in the way, although we did encounter one young waiter who was “difficult”. The food was fabulous and the local Rioja wines were as good as you can find. The breakfast bar was well stocked and led out onto a patio with tables in the rose garden which was lovely, weather permitting.

We had a problem with our 1977 Bentley one day and needed help starting it one morning. The hotel fell over themselves to help and arranged one of their maintenance chaps to come round with his van and 30 seconds later with jump leads we were up and running.

We had booked a Brittany Ferries package through the Daily Telegraph. We upgraded to include a car and sea views and were pleased with the value for money. We will go again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishGentAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
0.7 km away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.5 km away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#6 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.9 km away
Vincci Puertochico
Vincci Puertochico
#11 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.3 km away
NH Ciudad De Santander
NH Ciudad De Santander
#7 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Real? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Real

Property: Eurostars Hotel Real
Address: Avenida Perez Galdos 28, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santander
#7 Business Hotel in Santander
#8 Family Hotel in Santander
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santander
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,507 - ₹ 16,803
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Hotel Real 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Real 5 * GL is a luxurious property located opposite the Playa de los Pelirgos in the Bay of Santander, surrounded by gardens in a privileged area between the historical district and El Sardinero. The hotel has more than half a dozen large private French-style hall rooms with large windows and large gardens with 80 different species of roses. It also has a 1,400 m2 thalassotherapy center. The hotel offers a total of 114 rooms, including suites, all bright, exterior and fully equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Eurostars, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Hotel Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing