We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,147)
Filter reviews
2,147 results
Traveller rating
1,295
580
184
57
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,295
580
184
57
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden view five star hotel santa cruz indoor pool salt water great facilities hotel guests half board fabulous hotel breakfast buffet pool side per day beautiful park junior suite town centre sun loungers well worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2,147 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018

This five stars hotel is located in the less popular (as it is generally less sunny) but therefore quiet part of Tenerife. I am particuklarly happy with the service, starting with the doorman at our arrival (I would suggest to the manager to give him a promotion!) who really knows how to talk to people who - after all - have had a long day/flight before arriving there.
Everything was perfectly organised: we had half-board and dinners were very good. The breakfast buffet is gigantic.
Can only recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandro1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Mencey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sandro,

We would like first of all to thank you for your most appreciative review. Our aim is to create a particularly pleasant atmosphere for our guests with our numerous services in our beautifully designed hotel so your words confirming our success are very important to us.

It is nice to know that you hold us in fond memories and we hope that you visit us again soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Grand Mencey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Service was absolutely excellent from the instant we entered. It was my girlfriends birthday and the staff couldn’t be more accommodating. The front desk gave some great food recommendations and the spa was great! I’ve been to many 5* hotels around the world and this experience was up there!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Mencey, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Daniel,

We would like first of all for you to know that we are really pleased that you had such an excellent holiday with us at our hotel. Every area and every service of our hotel is designed to provide a quality holiday experience, and whenever we receive confirmation this has been achieved we consider it a success story.

We would like to thank you once again for your appreciation and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Grand Mencey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

Booked this hotel having read reviews and was not disappointed. Hotel is very stylish and well maintained with a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. Clean and well appointed bedroom with balcony looking over garden. Bar drinks and food all excellent; poolside bar/restaurant had great menu and very high standard of service. Reception staff very helpful and attentive, in particular Miriam and Edoardo. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJBBangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Mencey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Dear guest,

Firstly we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent holiday and for sharing your experience with us. We are really happy to read your enthusiastic comments about our prime pillars we set in place to ensure splendid vacations for our guests. Helpful and friendly staff, cleanliness of our hotel and high standards of gastronomy are some of the most important elements of our company and reading that you found them all to your liking is brilliant news.

Once more we thank you for this complimentary review of our hotel and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Grand Mencey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

We went here for 13 nights with our 11-month-old daughter on a half-board basis.
Original room we were given had no bath so we had to move. They moved us to the smoking floor which wasn’t a problem until the last few days when we had smoke drifting into our room from other guests balconies. The staff are very hit or miss - either amazingly helpful or downright abrupt and rude (usually the reception staff). The breakfast and lunch staff were fantastic - Aaron a top guy. The hotel did not provide water during the day round the pool and there was nowhere other than the lunch restaurant to get a drink so you had to get dressed and walk over to it every time. Waiter service at the pool was extremely scarce and not particularly good. I’ve never stayed at a 5-Star hotel where you have to go to a local supermarket to buy your own drinking water. The “no plastic” is a good excuse but then provide a water urn with glasses as you would expect in any other 5-Star hotel. This was not ideal when you’re with a pregnant wife and an 11-month-old!
The food was good and because we were half board it did get a little monotonous and we would have liked some lighter options. Everything on the menu was heaped on the plate on and heavy. Breakfast was very good - more quantity again than quality but still good nonetheless. Personally we felt the staff were generally good but the hotel isn’t managed very well. We got a late check out (which you have to pay for!) and they still rudely called us at midday demanding we leave the room. Coupled with the snooty business guests that frequent the hotel I wouldn’t recommend it for an extended stay or family holiday. The green areas - while very nice - were often off-limits due to being treated and then stunk of garlic pellets most days presumably to keep the cats from fouling which all meant our little one had limited access to crawl on a soft surface. Also, garden power tools at 11am round the pool when you’re relaxing not ideal - use a broom rather than a leaf blower! And garden tools quite often left strewn about. This hotel just about squeaks three stars for the staff that were lovely but the rest - including the room and it’s size - is most certainly not 5-Star quality.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Ben1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Mencey, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Dear Ben,


We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our five-star hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife, the perfect location to relax in luxurious surroundings. We are sorry that you were not happy with the first room that we accommodated you in, however, we are delighted that we were able to fulfil your petition. At our hotel, we always do our utmost to realise our guest's wishes whenever possible. We would like to mention that we do not have smoking areas anywhere inside our hotel, only outside as Spanish law dictates.

Our staff at all levels are highly-trained, well-prepared professionals and we lay immeasurable value on the client orientation of our employees because we do understand that this is a prime factor in achieving maximum client satisfaction. We regret that this is not the impression that you received at all times and apologise for any inconvenience.

Ben, as you point out in your review, our company is in the process of making important changes with our wave of change. Eliminating single-use plastic, promoting sustainable fishing and caring for the health of our oceans. Therefore, we are grateful for your helpful suggestions regarding water availability and we will relay them to our team for their consideration.

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed our gastronomy as this is a pillar of our company and once again, we will take note of your invaluable ideas based on your personal preferences to assist us on our quest of providing perfect holiday experiences now and in the future. Again we thank you for this review and hope to see you and your family again in the future. Until then we wish you well.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Grand Mencey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

We decided to stay in this Hotel because it was rated the best one in Santa Cruz and it is true. This a very nice hotel, centrally located with wonderful viewed.
We had originally booked a regular room, when we saw the room we didn’t care for such a small room, we called the reception and asked if we could be moved to a suite. A very nice young man, Victor was incredibly accommodating, showing us two suits. When I asked why these suits were not shown on their website, he responded is due to availability. We took the larger suit for a small difference in price with views of the La Rambla with a large balcony.
They offer breakfast with your room and it’s worth it. They have two very nice restaurants, one by the pool with a much larger selection and a bar lounge.
Everyone here goes out of their ways to help you and make your stay a very nice stay.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Mencey, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear Marta,

First of all, we want you to know we are really pleased that you had such an excellent holiday with us at Iberostar and we want to thank you for sharing your experience with others.

Our staff will be delighted with your praise, the entire team is not only particularly hospitable but is also given continuous training in terms of service and general working practice. We are therefore very pleased that the efforts of our employees have left a wonderful impression on you.

Thank you again for sharing your motivating comments and we look forward to your next visit to our hotel.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Grand Mencey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews