We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel spoilt by some petty quirks”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tigaiga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tigaiga
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel spoilt by some petty quirks”
Reviewed 7 February 2011

A very friendly hotel with helpful staff. Food pretty good, but spoilt by tinned food on the buffet. Could not understand who liked cold boiled sprouts in the salad bar either!? Coffee nice in hotel bars, but dire at breakfast. We were on a walking holiday which required us to procure a packed lunch for the next day. We bought some butter, cheese, and yoghurts which we put in the mini bar fridge (plenty of space without disturbing the drinks). When we got back from a day out, our butter etc was on the dressing table! How petty is that? Later we discovered that we could "hire" another fridge for our own purposes. Weird! Also charged for using the safe in the room.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank globexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigaiga, Gerente at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
Many thanks for sharing your feedback.
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and also disappointed to hear that you were disturbed by little "quirks". I would like to mention that our table d´hóte restaurant offers (complementary to the waiter served menu) a buffet with a choice of over forty items, trying to fulfill a variety of guests´ wishes. Also, the room-minibars are clearly marked "Exclusive for hotel beverages" and due to health & safety regulations our staff complies with this policy.
I would personally like to apologise to you for the inconvenience caused to you and thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    39
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
187
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

The staff were without exception friendly and helpful. The room was really nice with a sea view. The gardens are very nice and the area is quiet. It is at the top of a very steep hill which is the price you pay for the views. If we are in Tenerif this is where we will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobBrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigaiga, Gerente at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Tigaiga Hotel.
We will share your positive comments with the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Small, very established family run hotel. Set in attractive gardens. Surounded by beautiful scenery. Has a varied menu and wines. Attentive staff. Some evenings Canarian music. Tanquil place to relax and unwind. Although the standard rooms are very good, we prefer the additional space of the suites. A hotel that will draw you back year after year!
We enjoy the Taoro Park area very much. Apart from the lush green hotel gardens, the way down to town takes us past the waterfalls and is only a short distance to the centre.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We have stayed in this hotel on numerous occasions and the quality of service, food, and management have never varied from the first visit. It really is an hotel to be recommended for complete relaxation and satisfaction.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonden36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We stayed here over Chrismas 2009 and used the hotel as our base for walking tours (http://www.kwa-guiding-tenerife.com/) and had a really pleasant stay, the hotel is situated in Puerto de la Cruz about 20 minutes by foot from the town centre which is downhill. Taxis are cheap to get back (about €3) if your legs can't carry you back up the hill! The room was large and comfortable, all have a balcony with a sea view, the bathroom was spotless and the maids kept it that way for us. The restaurant was superb, we stayed half board and enjoyed the breakfast but the evening five course meals were the highlight of our stay. There was a choice for each course each night (except Christmas Eve and Christmas Day) and choosing was difficult! Generally we had one of each between us so we could compare! Wine list was excellent and the local beer much better than expected. And the staff - I couldn't fault a single one of them. All seemed to be multi lingual! The majority of the guests were German at the time of our visit and this seems to be the market they aim at most, plenty of other British though. Smart dress is encouraged and children aren't! I don't know when we'll return to Tenerife but I do know where we'll stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,512 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
718 reviews
0.7 km away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
757 reviews
0.6 km away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#7 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
524 reviews
1.1 km away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tigaiga? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tigaiga

Property: Hotel Tigaiga
Address: Parque Taoro, 28, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,544 - ₹ 13,605
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tigaiga 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tigaiga: Beautifully located in extensive subtropical gardens in the tranquil Taoro Park above the main town of Puerto de la Cruz but only 15 minutes walk from the town centre. Owned by the Talg family since it opened in 1959 it is now managed by the third generation. Rooms are very comfortable and with all requirements and excellent bathrooms. Breakfast is an extensive buffet offering both hot and cold options and half-board dinner is 5 courses and waiter served. The heated pool and terrace have spectacular views over Puerto and the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tigaiga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tigaiga Puerto De La Cruz, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing