We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN ELEGANT 5* HOTEL IN TENERIFE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
buckinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“AN ELEGANT 5* HOTEL IN TENERIFE”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We were rather reluctant to visit Tenerife, after having experienced Playa de Los Americas for a few hours once, en route to La Gomera. Friends had recommended this hotel highly for quite a few years. From the moment we arrived we had an excellent welcome from friendly and efficient reception staff, good porter and lovely room with a sea view, although the rooms overlooking the gardens are really nice too. The gardens, in our view, were superior to those on show at the Botanical Gardens up the road, they are pristine, the main pool setting is excellent with lots of sunbeds and towels. The spa has a further pool and an amazing health pool/jacuzzi with full length beds built in and ultra warm. Treatments are good and they have a programme of yoga, tai chi and stretching, something each day, in a lovely room and complimentary for guests.

Breakfast buffet is extensive, we usually hate buffets but freshly cooked omlettes and eggs and they have everything you could think of, you can even have proper coffee from a machine rather than that stewed stuff from a pot. Lunches are excellent and really reasonable. The cocktails are fab, fab, fab, amazingly cheap and you get nice little individually made nibbles, all served against the backdrop of unobtrusive live music and a very elegant lounge. We had dinner one evening that just didn't work out, however, don't really want to dwell on that, when the manager found out he did everything in his power to put it right, however, by this time we had found other really nice restaurants outside the hotel so used those. All the waiting staff were efficient (apart from the dinner restaurant staff) There seems to be an odd system of no room left on the bill for tips but this can be achieved via cash and they deserve it, they go the extra mile.

We were amazed when we checked our bill at how much the room rate was, we have paid 3 times this in Europe and had hotels not 50% as good as this. Lots of repeats and average age of guests was iro 50 but some, quiet and well behaved, children that were made welcome.

Hotel is in easy walking distance of shops which are pleasant, you can forget you are in Tenerife. There are some lovely restaurants very close by, also really reasonable.

Lots of lovely white fluffy towels and robes, no tatty areas, just excellent and amazing value.

We are going back. We filled in the hotel questionnaire and within 24 hours it was acknowledged with positive comments about the suggestions and you are left with the feeling that they want you to come back and value your custom.

Try it, sure you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor with sea view or garden view, we avoided pool view as this can generally be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank biffoBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for such a wonderfull review. We are glad that a so experienced traveller as you, have made this complete review and says that will be coming back. We are sorry for not achieved your expectations with our restaurants service, but we hope you give the hotel another chance on your next visit. We believe your review will make other TripAdvisor users visit us, and our current clients try the diferent activities that the hotel offers.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,248
    257
    69
    23
    20
See reviews for
355
936
70
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We travelled as a family of 8 and without exception thought the hotel to be fabulous.

The spa was beautiful and very under used.

Breakfasts were superb.

Rooms clean and comfortable.

Our only regret was that one of the restaurants was closed during our stay. A rethink of evening catering can only benefit this wonderful hotel.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Caroline:

We greatly appreciate your review. Its been an honor for us having your family as guest and it would be a pleasure to see you all again. We are glad that the whole family enjoyed the stay and that the spa and breakfast buffet have been to your linking. Thanks for your contribution, your opinions will be taken in consideration for future improvements of Hotel Botanico services.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

An amazing hotel. We arrived very late at night and the welcome was warm,friendly and attentive. We booked last minute and this was one of the few hotels left with adjoining rooms! What luck. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms spacious. The breakfasts are heavenly and the children ate enough to keep them going until mid afternoon. The gardens make you forget that you are so near a town they are beautiful and the bird song is lovely. The children only joined the kids club for the last two days of the holiday, we think they wished that they had gone earlier. We do too as the spa is heavenly! The staff are exemplary from the waiters, to the reception. Pino heads the reception and she deserves recognition as her friendliness sets the tone for your whole stay. It is a 20 minute walk into town, more on the way back as it is uphill. We hired a car and parking at the hotel was easy. Buy your tickets for the water park from the hotel to avoid queuing. If you don't fancy the zoo, the kids club takes them there. Our holidays are very varied from camping to all inclusives and we will definitely be returning to Hotel Botanico.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
15 Thank Katy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Katy:

We greatly appreciate your review and for us it has been an honor that you choosed our hotel to spend your family holidays. We truly believe your opinion will encourage the rest of the Tripadvisor community members to choose The Hotel Botanico for some family time. It would be a pleasure to see you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We only stayed one night whilst passing through but were extremely impressed. We had a large comfortable sea facing room with lovely evening sunshine. The hotel grounds were lush and beautiful. The staff were helpful, attentive and polite. Too many delicious choices for breakfast! We would have loved to have sampled the delights of the spa and had dinner in one of the restaurants. Therefore on our next visit to Tenerife we will skip the barren south and base ourselves in the tropical north at the Hotel Botanica!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Callycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are glad that you enjoy your one day stay with us an we hope that soon you can find some time to spend more days at Hotel Botanico. On your next stay we recomend you to try some of our spa treatments and the cuisine of one of our restaurants. It would be a pleasure to see you again.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry, ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This hotel was fabulous, we have stayed in some of the most amazing hotels around, but this hotel tops them. A lovely hotel inside, with a great pool, and gardens. It is the staff who really stand out at this hotel though. It was our first trip away with our four month old daughter, and the staff were so helpful and kind to both of us and her, going away above an beyond what we could have ver expected. we will definitely be returning to this hotel

Room Tip: we hired a car which made it much easier to get around, worked out the same price as a taxi to and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kilsoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your great review of the hotel and we fell glad that your familly enjoyed their stay. For The Hotel Botanico it will be a pleasure to see you and your familly again, and we believe your opinion will encourage the rest of the Tripadvisor community to visit our hotel and it shows that we have a good offer and service for families.

Best regards,

Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
36.9 km away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
40.8 km away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
28.8 km away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.9 km away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.6 km away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#2 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
779 reviews
36.9 km away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Property: Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,682 - ₹ 33,184
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Puerto De La Cruz, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing