We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
74
139
81
30
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
139
81
30
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini golf loro parque huge hotel spoke spanish free shuttle evening buffet minute walk ocean view steep hill hotel lobby plenty of loungers the hotel is clean week stay lovely hotel buffet style bars and restaurants town centre
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Depending on the type of person you are, some aspect should be considered before booking this hotel:
- are you internet addicted? the hotel offers wifi only near the reception and in some areas of the hotels pool (with a poor signal).
- are you sensitive to noise? forget about the rooms with ocean view.

We received room 1215 and as soon as I reach it, I've started to have doubts about my rest here (I've never been to a cruise, but I felt like being in that situation in minutes after we got in, the temperature in the room was cool, as if it was the breeze of the ocean, twice a minute the windows was making a noise of an earthquake shaking, while the ocean's waves hitting the rocks made a continuous sinusoidal sound). In addition to that, the mobile phone signal was from poor to absent.
My girlfriend and our 15 months old daughter slept pretty well, but I struggled to sleep and ended waking up at 4:30 AM. Next morning, after the breakfast, I went to the reception and ask for a room with a garden room, I received 1005 with an additional cost of 8E per night. Thing were not great here for a 4 stars hotel either, but I overlooked some other small issues (the outlet associated with my lamp was not functioning, the only outlet to charge our phones was in the bathroom) and enjoyed my trip to Tenerife.

Having a baby, we preferred to spend the morning near the children's pool, but it happened to have the area cleaned around 10 AM, unacceptable from my point of view.

The germans (in the 5 days we stayed here, I noticed only two Indians and few Spaniards, the spoken language being Deutsche) have been impressed by the kitchen chefs and their food.

Beside the shuttle bus offered for free by the hotel 8 times (in both directions) per day, it's pretty difficult to reach the hotel from the center of the town, anyway we have fully enjoyed walking along the beach (45-60 minutes to the center or to Puerto de la Cruz port).

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACStoica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Maritim Hotel Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear ACStoica,

Thank you for coming to Maritim Tenerife and for your feedback.

We are sorry to see, that we did not completely met your personal expectations. In all hotels descriptions our location right above the sea is clearly communicated. Of course the sea is not only visible, but also audible, especially on windy days. That's the sound of nature. We already started to change the balcony doors one by one. As we have quite many balcony doors to change, this is an ongoing process, which will last a certain time.

Kindly note as well, that WiFi in the rooms is not promised anywhere, therefore it can't be expected. As mentioned in the hotel description, we offer free WiFi in the lobby. In our superior rooms a LAN connection is possible, cables are provided at the reception. As last year within EU the roaming fees have been cancelled, usually our guests can go online with their mobile phones without extra charges.

Thank you as well for your further remarks. With pleasure we will check the electrical outlets in your second room and if the cleaning of the mentioned pool area can be done a bit earlier and ask you kindly to excuse these inconveniences.

We hope to see you again, whenever you return to Puerto de la Cruz and send sunny regards,

Yours sincerely
Maritim Tenerife Hotel Management
comercial.ten@maritim.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We visited this hotel this month. Some friendly staff, some not so friendly. We seemed to be the only English pair staying at the hotel when we visited. Stayed on the 9th floor with sea views - which was amazing. However the room was very dated, clean but we got an awful draft from the balcony doors at night which made our room cold. Also being on the sea front was extremely noisy and disruptive. There wasn’t any hot drink making facilities which was really disappointing. I read back in other reviews from a couple of years. Ask to say that they were working on redecoration, replacing balcony doors and providing hot drink facilities... well when? We felt very isolated in the hotel as not a lot of staff spoke English or even basic greetings. Overall wouldn’t stay again. Outdated, no atmosphere

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Maritim Hotel Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Kim,

Thank you for coming to Maritim Tenerife and for your feedback.

We are happy to read, that you liked especially the view from your room. Our location right above the sea is unique, of course the sea is not only visible, but also audible - especially when the weather is a bit windy. We already started to change the balcony doors one by one. As we have many balcony doors to change, this process will take some time.

The friendlyness of our staff is appreciated by most of our guests and most of our collegues speak also some English beside of their mother language. Please allow us to add, that tea/ coffee making facilities in the rooms are not promised in any hotel description, therefore they cannot be expected.

Dear Kim, we feel sorry for not having fulfilled your personal expectations. We hope to welcome you again and send sunny regards.

Yours sincerely
Maritim Tenerife Hotel Management
comercial.ten@maritim.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

The Maritim Hotel has a lot going for it. Really friendly and helpful staff. Lovely gardens and swimming pools - one heated and useable any time of year. There is a free shuttle bus to Puerto town centre which runs every hour except for a short break mid afternoon. There is a good selection of food available for the buffet breakfast and a choice of buffet or a la carte for evening meal. In the main the hotel decor was ok - always clean. However the aluminium double glazing seemed to be a problem in some areas. We noticed blankets beneath the windows in the restaurant (leaks or condensation?). We had a particular problem with our room (915) which though clean and nicely decorated, was noisy. The hotel is situated dramatically on a cliff top with awe inspiring views of the Atlantic breaking on the surroundings rocks. However the aluminium patio window was ill fitting and neither sound proof or draft proof. The window curtains and shower curtain were ripped and frayed and there was a loose tile in the bathroom. We should have asked to change rooms but we didn’t , thinking we would get used to the sound of the waves breaking on the rocks below. We didn’t. It’s a shame that these relatively small issues have stopped us rating the hotel very good or even excellent. A room overlooking the pool and garden area may the best option for light sleepers.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GrimsbySailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Maritim Hotel Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear GrimsbySailor,

Thank you for coming to Maritim Tenerife and for your feedback.

It's nice to see, that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate especially the facilities of our hotel, our staff and the service. Thank you as well for your remarks, which we will follow up within the bounds of our facilities, as they help us to improve.

Please allow us to add, that we already started to change the balcony doors. With pleasure we would have offered you another room, if you would have informed our reception. For the mentioned inconveniences we ask you kindly for apologise.

We hope to see you again, whenever you return to Tenerife!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Maritim Tenerife Hotel Management
comercial.ten@maritim.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

Just got back from an enjoyable six day stay at the Maritim. My room was fine and the view was magnificent. The bathroom was nice and the water pressure of the shower was excellent. I definitely enjoyed that. The room must have been sound proofed because I never heard people or doors closing. Loved that. The room was adequate in size and the bed was actually very comfortable.
Can't say enough good things about the reception desk. Everyone was super nice, very professional, and willing to help on just about anything. The food was great and I
would recommend this hotel to every one. Just two things that would make it perfect,
Room Service and better pillows. But I would return anyway.

Room Tip: Room 910 has balcony with direct ocean view
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisawonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Maritim Hotel Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Lisawonder,

Thank you for choosing Maritim Tenerife and for sharing your experiences with other travellers.

It's very nice to see, how much you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciate especially your room, the views, the food and our staff. With pleasure we will share your kind words with our colleagues as an additional motivation.

Thank you as well for your suggestions, which with pleasure we will follow up within the bounds of our facilities. If you come next time and want to have another or an extra pillow - please don't hesitate to let us know right on the spot. Whatever is possible, will be done for your comfort.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely Maritim Tenerife Hotel Management
comercial.ten@maritim.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a last minute holiday at the Maritim. The deco is definitely dated and could do with an upgrade but the staff were very friendly and the food was good. There were quite a lot of elderly couples when we visited.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shirl1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Maritim Hotel Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear Shirl1372,

Thank you very much for coming to Maritim Tenerife and for your feedback.

We are pleased to see, that you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciate especially our food and the staff. With pleasure we will share your kind words with our collegues. Thank you as well for your remark, which with pleasure we will follow up within the bounds of our facilities, as we are working frequentely in order to keep our hotel in a good condition.

We wish you a very Merry Christmas and hope to see you again, whenever you return to Tenerife!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Maritim Tenerife Hotel Management
comercial.ten@maritim.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews