We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
12
5
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
5
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ping pong families with children swimming pool pilar tenerife
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Was so pleased with our choice of Finca El Picacho. Set in the quiet, semi-rural north of the island, surrounded by lush, green plantations. The finca grounds were well kept with a range of beautiful plants and flowers, and happy lizards basking in the sun. Used the pool a few mornings to exercise and cool down from the surprising April heat. Our apartment was very nice and quaint, with all the facilities we needed to be comfortable and entertained. The Dueña was very hospitable and offered advice on enjoying the island. Would recommend to anyone looking to escape the busy south, and for some peace and tranquility.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELPICACHO, Gerente at Finca El Picacho cottages Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience at Finca El Picacho, we are pleased that the facilities have met your expectations. We work every day so that our customers enjoy a pleasant holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Finca el Picacho was really almost perfect. I couldn't ask for a more picturesque setting, beautifully landscaped gardens and wonderful and safe play areas for my 2 and 4 year olds. The house was spacious and comfortable and the pool (very clean) was just 30 feet from our door. The communal area was very well equipped with extra cooking supplies and some little games and Spanish videos and DVDs for the kids and we used the boules and badminton areas quite a bit. The only reason I can't award 5 stars is that we found the beds and pillows very hard and - although this really isn't the owners fault - there were quite a few dogs in the neighbourhood that barked throughout the entire night and were quite annoying as otherwise it would have been completely peaceful and silent. Again, not the owners fault but I'm a light sleeper and did have trouble 3 out of the 13 nights because of the dog noise, my kids and husband never heard a thing though. I wouldn't let this put you off as the farm is beautifully situated with sea and mountain views and was remarkably quiet and peaceful. We hired a car and found the drives to the national parks and beaches all very reasonable and there is a good sized Super Dino just 5 minute down the road. We would definitely stay here again in the future.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Smertin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELPICACHO, Gerente at Finca El Picacho cottages Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Thanks for the information on the equipment of the rooms. We regret that during your stay you did not communicate the problem with your pillow, we would have liked to be able to solve this inconvenience since the accommodation has staff every day for customer service and you can make the change for other pillows of your choice. As for dogs, we know that it can be annoying at times because the area is very quiet at night and although it is not usual, when we are in an area of agricultural farms where there are pets in the vicinity we recommend closing the windows and blinds at this time, to avoid noise and rest better taking advantage of the fact that the walls of the house are made of natural stone and create an atmosphere of silence inside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I were planning a big family Christmas vacation in Tenerife for 2013. Part of the criteria to select the location we where we were going to stay was something where everyone could participate in the activities such as
• Cooking
• Table games
• Big open spaces
• Acclimatized pool / heated pool
Our party consisted of 11 people, so we looked all through Tenerife that could accommodate a large group at a reasonable price during the latter part of the month of December. The Picacho offered all the amenities that we were searching for. For our family vacation we rented two of the houses to accommodate the entire family.
Each house had a stove top (no oven), small refrigerator, and a living rooms with sofa beds. We had plenty of sleepovers between the two houses as the kids always wanted to jump from one to another. Cooking has always been the center piece of our family vacations and we had plenty of that going on. For the more elaborate cooking nights we made use of one of the three barbacoa grills and / or the kitchen in the common area. In the common area they have a 10 person dining table. This table was the main event for nights such as Christmas, New year’s or any other feast night we had.
The house are situated in a lush garden of beautiful tropical trees and wine vineyards with an overlooking mountain on one side and a view of the entire north end of Tenerife on the other. It was a great setting for us as our kids are very athletic. We come from New York where space is a precious commodity so having all that open space to walk, run, play, and enjoy was a wonderful treat. The ping pong tables, Volley ball courts, and swimming pools were fun for the entire family. The pictures on the website do not give it justice. It is one of those places that you would need to see it to experience its beauty and peacefulness.
Staying the Picacho gave us the opportunity to enjoy the entire Island especially places like Puerto La Cruz or La Orotava. The town just below from the Picacho is a typical small Spaniard town. It’s a great place to walk around and enjoy the scenery. Right around the corner from the Picacho is small bar which has its own charm and excellent Spanish cuisine. If you provide advance notice on particular needs the owners Lucy and Nico will try to accommodate any request.
Finally, there is Pilar and Ricardo who try to effectively make sure that your stay with them is as pleasant and accommodating. Attention to detail has been placed all over the ranch. From the step by step instruction of the wifi connection, to places and events around the surrounding area. Everything has been planned and documented at each house to take out the guess work from your stay.
Our entire family were extremely pleased with our stay. We are very grateful with Pilar and Ricardo for extending the courtesy and detail to attention during our stay. This will not be a vacation we will soon forget and the entire family will have the picacho as a big part of that experience.

Thank you!

Room Tip: Great houses, great GREEN location, Super friendly staff. please note that WIFI is ONLY available in the common area.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nolberto m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The place was spotless and the gardens, pool and common room were great. The common room has table tennis, WiFi and cooking and dining facilities for a large group of diners - very handy as we invited friends around for a meal. The cleaner was friendly and helpful.

But the apartment was very small given the price. The galley-style kitchen had two ring hob and microwave, not really enough to cook a decent meal. In fairness, the common room does have gas hob and bar-b-que facilities though. The bed was very small, like a double but smaller. The only heating in the apartment was an oil-filled electric radiator which could be wheeled from the living space to the bedroom. Given that the temperature can (and did) drop in the evenings, an open fire would have been better. There is satellite TV, but apart from BBC News 24 all the channels are in Spanish or French.

Overall I think it was over priced for the size of the accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1PDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Very nice accommodation in beautiful setting. The house gets furnished with all that it is needed. The patio, common gardens, swimming pool and sourrounding area are extremely well kept and pleasant to see and enjoy.
Establishment very apropiated for families with children.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews