We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Ciutadella
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Just back from 2 weeks at the Macarella.
Suites are well appointed, pool side area is superb. We have B&B and breakfast was good quality and wide choice.
Very good location just 5 minutes from the Cala N Bosch Marina and its choice of restaurants and the beach, also a supermarket next door, as is bus stop for 20 minute bus trip into Ciudadella.
We didnt use the gym or spa, nor the evening entertainment, however all looked to be good.

Room Tip: See if you can get 327, it has a massive balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulSaints76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    131
    44
    5
    2
See reviews for
261
209
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We've just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Macarella and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We've been to numerous 4 and 5 star properties around the world and we can honestly say that this did not disappoint. As the review below stats, buffet food is not fine dining and thats not what we expected - if thats what you want just book the B&B option! The food is of a good quality, plentiful and hot!
The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are well trained and also willing to help. Bar and snack options are reasonably priced at the poolside bar and there are masses of sunbeds. In fact the only problem with that is they are quite tightly packed together so you may have close neighbours on poolside! It is refreshingly however, that very few people (mainly the english I'm afraid) reserve sunbeds with their towels early in the morning. We never had to once, and because the pool is in sunlight all day long it doesn't really matter where you decide to go around the pool.
We had asked for a sea view bedroom and got it. Admittedly the hotel in not right on the beach so its more of a side view but nevertheless they were good to their word. We were on the 3rd floor (371) overlooking the front of the hotel, but it was very quiet and we didn't ever get any noise disturbance.
We ate a couple of times around the marina and also at the Lighthouse. Interestingly The Marina restaurant is quite highly recommended on TA but unfortunately we had a very average meal and a very steep price. We however ate at the Lighthouse (which is really not recommended on TA!) and had a lovely meal. Yes it was expensive but worth every penny (more so that The Marina).

We hired a car and explored the island. We used Owners Cars which is opposite the hotel to the right near the bigger supermarket. They were very reasonably priced and hassle free.

This was our first visit to Menorca and definitely won't be our last. Its a very pretty island and we were lucky enough to get wall to wall sunshine for 14 days which always helps, the people are very friendly and helpful and is just a two hour flight from Bristol! What more can you ask for...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel have a better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Ignore the few critics Just look at the enjoyment most have had .Buffet food is never posh nosh but there was plenty of choice..starter options were good ,sweets were the best we have ever had in a buffet in Similar hotels with at least 3 good proper pastry choices when there is normally 1 at the most and plenty of good fruit options .The main course was fairly ordinary but perfectly accepable if you chose the right food and planned your evening .Use your imagination and treat it as a 5 course meal.You surely cant fault the breakfasts?We paid for half board as it was only £28 each dearer for 10 days and knew we would eat out for 4/5 meals.

The location is not a problem and the road is not noisy.In fact the big advantage of the hotel is that the road side of the garden/hotel is therefore open and you are not closed in on all sides like many hotels which can be very claustrophobic in its design.
The beach can be full but there is an alternative 5 minutes walk away.

The hotel rooms were as good as any we have stayed in with the advantage of the kitchenette ;and the toilet and shower area good except the design can allow the shower to soak the floor but you can overcome that with an extra towel from the maid.

Slept like a log and I like a good bed and pillows!

Super staff .Super hotel . Super pool area and plentiful sun beds.Hope to return especially if the weather is as great as it was

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morgoShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Just returned from a lovely two week holiday at the Macarella. The resort is nice and quiet at night but there's plenty of places for entertainment just a few minutes down the road near the Marina for those who want a bit of excitement. The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms kept very clean by the very hardworking maids and all the staff are pleasant and friendly.
The apartments have a well equipped kitchen area, kettle, toaster, microwave, hob, cutlery, crockery, glasses, frying pans, saucepans, also a tea towel which is good to know as I'd brought my own. The tv has about ten English speaking channels including bbc1 and 2, itv1, channel5 and a few sky channels. Our only disappointment was the balcony. We were surrounded by a brick wall on three sides, about 4ft high and could see nothing but rooftops when we sat there in the evening. We asked for a pool view but had to stand up to see it. Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the pool, the floors below us had railings on their balconies. We asked to be moved but they said the hotel was full. I was hoping they would have been more helpful as we were going to be there for two weeks, also with guests leaving nearly every day I'm sure something could have been arranged. We mentioned it to the Thomson rep at the welcome meeting but he couldn't seem help either.
The beach is about 2 minutes away, out the front door, cross the road and it's just round the corner. The Marina is about 4minutes in the opposite direction where you'll find lots of gift shops and plenty of places to eat. There's a Bettabuy supermarket beside the hotel, also a bigger one just down the road near the marina, next to Adrian's Tabacs where you cen get cartons of cigarettes (superkings 44euros and B&H 45 euros). If you like a nice walk with lovely views, just stay on the boardwalk on the beach and follow the trail along the cliffs as far as you can go.
The dining room staff are very friendly and attentive, the choice of food is good both for breakfast and dinner and the little desserts are delicious.
Sun beds are plentiful and nobody seems to rush out with their towels at the crack of dawn to reserve them.
We really enjoyed our holiday in Menorca and have already decided we would like to return again next year, hopefully with a different balcony.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms facing the pool have a very high brick wall, you only see the view if you stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Having just returned from the Macarella Suites and Spa Resort I can honestly say this has been the most wonderful holiday ever for our family. Having been around the world a few times to places like the Maldives, Thailand, West Coast USA, Caribbean, Mexico – this place certainly stands up to very special honours.

It sets itself up to be a very good 4 star hotel which seems to have a general flow thorugh of very nice clientele of all races. My four year old daughter had no problem making very good friends with those at the pool side and we found pleasantries with hotel guests abounded too. Ok the weather was fabulous clear blue every day for two weeks – it just added to the ambience of the whole experience.

Cala n Bosch is a man made harbour surrounded by bars and restaurants and kids play areas – ‘Goody Goody’ and ‘Aquapark’ being two of the main kids entertainment areas. Local beaches were stunning and one beach, Cala Son Saura was worthy of any white sandy beach anywhere in the world!

A little disappointed with our room view when we first arrived diminished into actually liking it as the sun left the balcony early afternoon and left a cool refuge from the sun. We still would have preferred a view over the pool but were very happy with the overall quality of the room.

As a vegetarian I do struggle sometimes trying to get a main meals in certain hotels, but not this one. Although I had to reshape my diet somewhat, I never went short of food I could eat which was delicious.

All the hotel staff were a friendly bunch and Lucia the lady managing the restaurant was a pleasure to see every day – that’s according to our daughter too who just wanted to draw pictures for her all the time – the ‘wizard’ she drew still adorns the wall next to the till!

Civilised, welcoming, clean – very clean, there’s just nothing we could fault. This is a certainly now our favourite short haul hotel and one I can see us visiting many times in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Captainrevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciutadella
10.1 km away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.8 km away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
1.5 km away
Viva Menorca
Viva Menorca
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
20.4 km away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
5.6 km away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa

Property: Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa
Address: Lugar Urbanitzacio Son Xoriguer s/n | Urb Son Xoriguer, 07769 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ciutadella
#2 Spa Hotel in Ciutadella
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ciutadella
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ciutadella
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,047 - ₹ 22,450
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 150 m away from the Cala' Bosch beach. Apartments: One twin bedroom. Living room with two couches. Kitchenette. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Terrace or balcony. Family apartments have two double bedrooms and two bathrooms. Sport & Leisure: Swimming pool with children´s splash pool. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows and live music. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge and Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car rental. Buggies and intercoms rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Macarella Suites And Spas
Grupotel Macarella Hotel Ciudadella
Hotel Grupotel Macarella
Macarella
Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa Spain/Ciutadella, Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing