We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice - not too hard - course”
Review of Golf Son Vida

Golf Son Vida
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Son Vida is the oldest course of the island and has a legend status. Son Vida was the venue for the European Tour for two times and counts as highlight for players all over Europe. The old tree population and the splendid view around the bay of Palma are spectacular.
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Played a relaxing front-nine and really enjoyed the course. It was rather easy to play with enough variation. Rental clubs were ok - wasn't many options but Callaway clubs were a good fit for me. Can recommend.

Thank mikkos103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArabellaGolfMCA, Director Comercial at Golf Son Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Customer,

thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your round at our golf resort.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Best regards,

Jenny Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great golf course"
in 2 reviews
"pro shop"
in 2 reviews
"challenges"
in 2 reviews
"callaway"
in 2 reviews
"mallorca"
in 10 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017

This is the oldest course on Mallorca. The first 9 are heavily wooded and pretty. Holes 5 and 8 are very eye-catching, but several others are fairly bland, as is 10. Most of the back 9 are open and fairly up and down, but 16 is a lovely par 3. .

Condition-wise it is a bit tired, and seems to suffer from being overplayed. The condition is disappointing. Son Quint is a much better course, is in better condition, and offers better value.

The Scottish starter made us very welcome.

Thank JohnDoonan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArabellaGolfMCA, Director Comercial at Golf Son Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Customer,

thank you for your feedback.

We have passed your comment to our Greenkeeping team, due to the fact that it is currently golf-high season in Mallorca, thanks to the great wheather conditions, we do have a high occupancy on the course.

Nevertheless we hope that you have enjoyed your round with us, and that we will be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Also you positive feedback about Steven has been forwarded to him!

Kind regards,

Jenny Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Reasonably well maintained, tight course. Use driver only if you must, else rescue and 3 woods. Pales in comparison to Son Muntaner which is awesome

Thank Herbitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArabellaGolfMCA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Golf Son Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Herbitraveler,

thank you for leaving your opinion.

It is nice to hear you see the work behind golf course appearance. In fact, due to the technical design of the Golf Son Vida course, you can play all the holes with your irons. Golf Son Muntaner is a magnificent golf course but Golf Son Vida is also special due to tradition and design. Do you know Golf Son Vida has hosted two events of the European Tour?

We hope that you have enjoyed your round, and that you will be visiting our resort again shortly.

Kind regards,

Daniel Sánchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

It was disappointing to find the course in such bad condition along with the lack of services on the course such as no halfway house or at least a drinks buggy. Bearing in mind what they charge we will find out about these things before booking again.

Thank MPMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArabellaGolfMCA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Golf Son Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback!

It is good for us to have different opinions from our guests in order to improve our golf courses facilities.

About your comment, we are aware that during the first days of September there has been a high occupation. Due to this, not all golf courses services have been fully operational, we apologize for the inconvenience might have caused. Currently, we have also taken special measures to offer the right service for the volume of players who visit us. Furthermore, some Caddies, Marshalls and Half Way Service personnel have been incorporated to the team in order to cover all the services during high season. We hope to be able to satisfy all their needs.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again at our resort in the near future!

Kind regards,

Daniel Sánchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Sheraton hotel which was fantastic on the Son Vida golf course.

The course from the hotel looks fantastic
It's quite tight for the first nine and then it opens up .

For some reason they were asking everyone to go off hole ten as some major works were taking place.

It took just under three hours to do nine holes in very hot weather after the ninth hole I asked the caddy man for a bottle of water he told me I had to go to the bar to purchase one.

We did not want to miss our turn due to the overcrowding .

He was extremely rude and in the end said he would pay for it out of his wages.

We had paid about 150 euros including the caddy, he then started to lecture me about the fact that if everyone wanted a free bottle of water it would cost them 160 euros per day.

A bottle of water cost them about 50 Euro cents.

The staff need a but if training in common sense and they need to be less arrogant.

We stopped soon after playing nine holes, I think a full round would have taken just under six hours.

It's a beautiful setting but they are definitely letting people on without handicaps.

No marshal was in sight for the first nine holes perhaps it was his day off.

We played the other two coarse and the staff were all great with a completely different attitude.

Don't let me put you off we have played many times before and it's always been fantastic.

The place to stay is the Sheraton where all of the staff are fantastic.

Thank ivan047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArabellaGolfMCA, Director Comercial at Golf Son Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Ivan,

thank you for your feedback.
We did indeed carry out some maintenance works during a few days, maintenance works which are necessary to keep the course in perfect conditions.

In general, as a gesture of courtesy, we include one bottle of water in the green fee. Additional bottles of water can be purchased at the Caddymaster, therefore the caddymaster was only following the instructions given.
Please understand that we cannot be giving out unlimited complimentary water for 150.000 rounds of golf per year.

Nevertheless we hope that you have enjoyed your round, and that you will be visiting our resort again shortly.

Kind regards,

Jenny Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golf Son Vida also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Golf Son Vida? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing