We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spa Heaven!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Spa Heaven!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is my second stay at the Valparaiso Palace. My partner and I visited for a mini break in the Spring of 2009, and we had such a great time that we vowed to go back. The hotel is situated back from the main westbound costal road out of Palma at Porto Pi. It sits nicely nestled into the hillside with views of both Palma and its neighbouring bay to the right and left. It’s about 20 minutes in a taxi from the airport at a cost of about €20. Several buses also stop along the route, but this would require an additional walk up the steep hill so not really viable with lots of luggage.
Reception is large and grand and the front desk staff are courteous and helpful. The hotel has a main restaurant where they serve a buffet breakfast of all varieties. There is also a bar/restaurant with terrace serving lunch and dinner. The menu is varied Pizza, Pasta, salads and sandwiches to oriental dishes or from the grill, and the food is of a good standard. A plain pizza or sandwich is around €11 and the more formal meals start at around €15. Drinks are – as seems to be the norm at hotel bars – on the pricey side.
The hotel has two swimming pools which are set in well kept picturesque grounds. Sun loungers are modern and plentiful. Both pools are large, very clean and are salt water. Avid swimmers beware and take your goggles!
We opted for a Junior suite and had a fantastic view of the bay of Palma. Our room was spacious and clean with a queen size bed, lounge area, dressing area and desk. We had two flat screen TV’s, 2 direct dial telephones and a mini bar. Our balcony had a small table and chairs. The hotel provide toiletries which are of a good standard and replenished daily, every room has a hair dryer, bath robes, slippers and additional beach/spa towels. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms, which is a bit of a pain if you like to wake up with a warm drink. It means ordering room service, or going straight to breakfast. Our room was tired looking in places. Cigarette burns on the bedside tables, stained old carpet, cracks on the coffee table. The rooms definitely need an overhaul and some modernisation
The thing that really makes the hotel something special is the Spa which is open to all hotel guests. There’s an indoor/outdoor spa pool, Jacuzzi, several types of steam room and shower ‘experiences’. In addition there are several exceptional chill out areas. So if it’s relaxation you need, this really is the hotel that delivers. I haven’t booked any treatments, but I noticed a standard massage was about €70. The facilities in the spa are excellent, towels are provided and the changing rooms are well equipped with free lockers, toiletries and hairdryers, and are clean and modern. Excellent if you have a late flight and need somewhere to get ready for your journey home after check out.
Nearby there are several restaurants, more notably the Porto Pi centre which is a shopping mall and entertainment centre with a large gym, bowling alley and lots of restaurants. There is also a rather average looking Chinese restaurant on the corner. It doesn’t look up to much, but don’t be fooled by appearances as the food was delicious and the staff exceptionally customer focussed.
A short taxi ride away eastbound is the city of Palma, and about the same distance westbound is the port of portals which has a beautiful sandy beach with a lovely bar ‘Roxy Bar’ nestled into the edging rocks. Both have a great selection of bars and restaurants.

Overall a fabulous holiday and will definitely venture back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vanforbsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    168
    53
    14
    18
See reviews for
101
265
24
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Excellent property, the only disadvantage i find is the proximity to the beach

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rejiplr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

This hotel truly aims to please, immaculately clean and very relaxing I found the staff charming and endlessly helpful. The spa and lagoon pool are a real joy. I have been here 5 times and love it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewellsverne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

thanks to val p.. just returned from a week s holiday. we had a brilliant time. the hotel was fab.. even though we would decribe it as a little faded but elegant. the staff were fantasic.. from our greeting at the desk to all the staff in bar poolside restuarant and the great breakfast room . we were met with smiles at all times and terrific service. we choose a junior suit room. which was so worth the extra cost. great space and spectacular views...a little old fashioned( that faded elegance!) .. but was kept spotless.
we did not use the spa.. although looked fabulous.. the wall to wall sunshine kept us out by the pool. which is just beautful. two pools both spotless with plenty of space . and surrounding gardens were a joy.
we chose to go for bed and breakfast as palma has so many fantasic eating places.
the breakfast is magnificent.. with anything you could wish for... even a large bucket full of bottles of champers..(well cava really !! ) but its there to help yourself too... makes breakfast a special occasion. yup coffee on a couple of days was a little weak for our taste .. but i am sure if we had asked for stronger it would have been no problem. we ate a few times for lunch and dinner at the poolside. the setting is beautiful. food was great and .beer cocktails and vino also all lovely . and always served with a smile . we had no problems with our bill. and yes some things are a little dearer but thats expected at most 5 star. hotels. although as i have said this hotel is faded but elegant.... it has a great atmostphere. relaxing from the minute you dip your big toe in that fantastic pool.
thanks again val p... we will be back . p

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pollydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Just got back from a ten day stay here. Facilities are excellent with two lovely clean uncrowded pools. magnificent spa (which is free ) refreshing change from some five star hotels that charge extra for it. Room on the fourth floor was spacious and had a great view of the sea and harbour. A view that constantly changes due to the arrival and departure of cruise liners etc etc.
Check in was efficient but as with most five star establishements the staff always seem to make you feel that they are doing you a favour allowing you to stay. They were not unfriendly but every morning they only said good morning if you doid so first. Same when you arrived at the bar or the restaraunt. I cannot understand why hotel management do not tell their staff to greet customers with a good morning or good evening when they see them. It would make all the diiference..
I have no major complaints as the stay was excellent but a few minor gripes.
The snack bar was expensive 6.50 euros for a beer (presume its half a litre) chepaest meal 12.50 for a pasta. Cheapest wine bottle 22 euros for cheap majorcan wine.
Visited there three times . First night for a drink- they undercharged me (pointed this out)
second time charged me for two beers I didnt have.
Then on check out tried to charge me for a meal that I didnt have. Silly mistakes but shouldnt happen in a five star hotel.
Breakfast is good standard but coffee not great (typical weak german style coffee). Self service buffet but coffee took an age to arrive. We just helped ourselves.
Rooms wer not dirty they were cleaned thoroughly before our arrival but that was it. A pice of paper on our bathroom fllow remained there throughout our stay. Was told by one worker that staff only do a quick wipe round nothing more.
I am always pleaseant to staff in hotels and chat when i can but as with many hotels of five star status its the most demanding clinets that seem to get fussed over and those that are pleasant are l;eft to fend dor their own devices. I enjoyed the stay but the minor gripes about staff greetinsg cleaning and mistakes with bar bills should not happen at a five star extablishment.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveuk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palma de Mallorca
1.1 km away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
4.6 km away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#25 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#20 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA

Property: GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
Address: Calle Francesc Vidal Sureda 23, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Grupotel Valparaiso Palace & Spa)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#21 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,187 - ₹ 24,832
Hotel Class:5 star — GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an excellent location overlooking Palma de Mallorca's bay and sourrounded by magnificent gardens, yet only a few minutes from the city center. Rooms: large, luxurious rooms and suites, fully equipped with a furnished bathroom, hair dryer, bathrobe, heating / air-conditioning, Sat-TV, minibar, safety deposit box and terrace with a magnificent panoramic view. Spa & Wellness Center: The Nayara Spa invites you to relax in a truly luxurious style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Valparaiso Palace Hotel Palma De Mallorca
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing