We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just brilliant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just brilliant.”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

thanks to val p.. just returned from a week s holiday. we had a brilliant time. the hotel was fab.. even though we would decribe it as a little faded but elegant. the staff were fantasic.. from our greeting at the desk to all the staff in bar poolside restuarant and the great breakfast room . we were met with smiles at all times and terrific service. we choose a junior suit room. which was so worth the extra cost. great space and spectacular views...a little old fashioned( that faded elegance!) .. but was kept spotless.
we did not use the spa.. although looked fabulous.. the wall to wall sunshine kept us out by the pool. which is just beautful. two pools both spotless with plenty of space . and surrounding gardens were a joy.
we chose to go for bed and breakfast as palma has so many fantasic eating places.
the breakfast is magnificent.. with anything you could wish for... even a large bucket full of bottles of champers..(well cava really !! ) but its there to help yourself too... makes breakfast a special occasion. yup coffee on a couple of days was a little weak for our taste .. but i am sure if we had asked for stronger it would have been no problem. we ate a few times for lunch and dinner at the poolside. the setting is beautiful. food was great and .beer cocktails and vino also all lovely . and always served with a smile . we had no problems with our bill. and yes some things are a little dearer but thats expected at most 5 star. hotels. although as i have said this hotel is faded but elegant.... it has a great atmostphere. relaxing from the minute you dip your big toe in that fantastic pool.
thanks again val p... we will be back . p

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pollydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    176
    54
    14
    18
See reviews for
104
275
24
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
exeter
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Just got back from a ten day stay here. Facilities are excellent with two lovely clean uncrowded pools. magnificent spa (which is free ) refreshing change from some five star hotels that charge extra for it. Room on the fourth floor was spacious and had a great view of the sea and harbour. A view that constantly changes due to the arrival and departure of cruise liners etc etc.
Check in was efficient but as with most five star establishements the staff always seem to make you feel that they are doing you a favour allowing you to stay. They were not unfriendly but every morning they only said good morning if you doid so first. Same when you arrived at the bar or the restaraunt. I cannot understand why hotel management do not tell their staff to greet customers with a good morning or good evening when they see them. It would make all the diiference..
I have no major complaints as the stay was excellent but a few minor gripes.
The snack bar was expensive 6.50 euros for a beer (presume its half a litre) chepaest meal 12.50 for a pasta. Cheapest wine bottle 22 euros for cheap majorcan wine.
Visited there three times . First night for a drink- they undercharged me (pointed this out)
second time charged me for two beers I didnt have.
Then on check out tried to charge me for a meal that I didnt have. Silly mistakes but shouldnt happen in a five star hotel.
Breakfast is good standard but coffee not great (typical weak german style coffee). Self service buffet but coffee took an age to arrive. We just helped ourselves.
Rooms wer not dirty they were cleaned thoroughly before our arrival but that was it. A pice of paper on our bathroom fllow remained there throughout our stay. Was told by one worker that staff only do a quick wipe round nothing more.
I am always pleaseant to staff in hotels and chat when i can but as with many hotels of five star status its the most demanding clinets that seem to get fussed over and those that are pleasant are l;eft to fend dor their own devices. I enjoyed the stay but the minor gripes about staff greetinsg cleaning and mistakes with bar bills should not happen at a five star extablishment.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveuk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I have been to The Valparaiso Hotel many times and every time the atmosphere is great, and the staff are exceptionally friendly making it feel like home from home. Great points are:
Candle lit poolside tables for evening meal,
Super spa, sauna, steam, turkish baths, relaxation room etc etc
Beautiful outdoor pools
Fantastic food

Always look forward to business trips to Palma!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sym079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We just came back from a week holiday in this beautiful hotel. It was the first time that we stayed in a 5 star hotel, so maybe my expectations were a bit too high - first of all, the positive things: the breakfast had everything you can wish for, the pools were huge and the atmospwhere was calm and relaxing. The views from the hotel were beautiful and the decoration insdie very elegant with marble everywhere.The staff was nice, most of them very friendly and helpful. The beds comfortable and the rooms of course kept very clean. The Spa area was very relaxing and just perfect.
The things we did not like that much and we expected would be there in a 5 star service: No free WIFI in the rooms, if you wanted internet, you had to pay (15 Euros per week). Our room had no view, even though we booked a room with view towards the sea - the views were hidden by some big trees, so we had to give ourselfes happy with wievs towards the tennis courts. Not even the water was free - 3.50 per bottle, considering we drink alot of water at the end we had a huge bill from the minibar. 4.50 Euros for a beer is also too expensive I think. The meals we took in the hotel restaurant were also too expensive for what they were - we ordered a salad with shrimps and the shrimps were not fresh anymore - they had a rotten smell. They apologized and brought us another salad. We paid 15 Euros at the end for a normal portion of salad. Then when we received the bill they had charged us things we didnt order - this can happen but when they borught us the bill the 2nd time it was still not ok. If it wasnt because we checked it again we would have paid too much. Another thing was the location - even though you had nice views because of the hilly location, if you wanted to escape the high prices of the hotel at lunch or dinner the closest place was Porto Pi. Nothing else next to it.
In general our stay was nice but I think we were excpecting more for the high prices.

Room Tip: Say so in advance if you want connecting rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anutka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Having just recovered from a major illness, We just wanted a week away to relax and crash out. We have not stayed at this Hotel for 5 years, but as soon as we arrived at reception we were recognised by the P.R and made to feel very welcome. We arrived early and our room was not ready, We were handed free drinks on the terrace until we could get into our room, which was lovely. In the room we were given a bottle of wine plus a massive bowl of fruit + preserves & biscuits. This is a guide to the hotel and I know that all sorts of things make a holiday great. Weather etc. but we cannot fault this Hotel. 95% of the staff were charming. My only complaint would be be,that the hotel only had one bar open. but I guess we were to early in the season. and that bar closed far to early. Midnight......the bar terrace was closed off and left in darkness with many clients still drinking. Spain really comes to life late evening. Plus there was still business to be done.but a wonderfull week and I came back renewed....

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arundelmews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
1.1 km away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,582 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,443 reviews
0.3 km away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#23 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#24 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,804 reviews
4.5 km away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
865 reviews
3.3 km away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA

Property: GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
Address: Calle Francesc Vidal Sureda 23, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Grupotel Valparaiso Palace & Spa)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#8 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#19 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,158 - ₹ 33,256
Hotel Class:5 star — GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an excellent location overlooking Palma de Mallorca's bay and sourrounded by magnificent gardens, yet only a few minutes from the city center. Rooms: large, luxurious rooms and suites, fully equipped with a furnished bathroom, hair dryer, bathrobe, heating / air-conditioning, Sat-TV, minibar, safety deposit box and terrace with a magnificent panoramic view. Spa & Wellness Center: The Nayara Spa invites you to relax in a truly luxurious style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Valparaiso Palace Hotel Palma De Mallorca
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing