We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views but awful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Amic Horizonte
Ranked #57 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great views but awful location”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I had been backpacking across Europe and decided to "splurge" on a hotel room in order to stay on my own for a few nights. I was used to staying in 6-8 person bedrooms in hostels and, to my surprise, I found Hotel Horizonte to be one of the worst experiences of the trip. I would have preferred to stay in another hostel, to be honest. The deluxe room that I requested had furniture and bedspreads that were 30-40 years old (and likely unwashed), the internet did not work in the rooms, and food outside of the hotel was at least a 15-20 minute walk away and hard to find. This hotel is extremely run-down and reminded me of a very old, rural motel in the US. On a positive note, the pool was really nice, the views of the harbor were incredible, and the staff was very warm and helpful. It would definitely be worth spending the extra money to stay at another nearby hotel or go to the resort area in Magaluf or Palmanova.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CharlieDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Amic Horizonte, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear Amic Charlie .
You bookeck a BAsic Room , we dont have Deluxe room as we are a 2 star Hotel , But our Superior room with Jacuzzy and stunning views over the Bay are highly recomended with a very small suplement .
The fourniture of this room has 4 seasons and is pretty new , So next time I recomend you a Superior room with Jacuzzy .
Food in the HOtel is served from 7 AM till 01:00 , SO ALL DAY you can have possiblilities , and the next FOOD Place is at less than 150 mts . And at less than 3km you find NOW more than 50 restaurants . So nobody can agree with you .
Next to the HOtel Horizonte are the best HOTELS in the city as Valparaiso ( 5 stars ) and Majorica , Ciutat 4 stars .... The area is a very goog area .
Thanks for your comments and if you commented us your ideas we could probably sent to another of our Hotels that better suits your ideas .
My advice is to book directly and talk with the reception if anything is not of your idea .
See you soon . Andreu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    309
    223
    96
    73
See reviews for
120
346
50
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We spent 4 nights with our children in Horizonte hotel. Some young spanish people sang aloud in the balcony of their room, danced and connected a music equipment with high volume. Not for family with children, elderly people in spite of its good quality-price relation. Kind staff. Large swimming pool, excellent sights to Palma bay, tasty meals (2 star hotel), big rooms with A/C, balcony (sights to swimming pool or Palma bay), TV set.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We upgraded our room for an extra 40Euros for a 4 night stay, and we stayed on the top floor at the front of the hotel with a corner balcony which also had a fridge in the room, perfect !
I thought it was really good value for money and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in a long time.
Breakfast was OK, not much fruit available, but there was plenty of cereals and eggs available.
This hotel is kind of up a long windeing hill, so not ideal for people with walking difficulties. You need to get a taxi into the old town to visit some of the most beautiful restaurants the city has to offer.
As we went in May the pool was blinking freezing so I never did more than dip my toe in, however the weather was glorious, but take a little jacket out of an evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing corner room with double balcony and fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boras, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Very valuable compared to the very close neighbour hotel which is a 4 star hotel and much more expensive ( but they have an elevator to the street so you dont have to walk the hills/stairs....).
The Horizonte restaurant is even nicer with white tablecloths, food offered is very good for the money and also the pool area is ok, and the rooms are very clean. A little hilly , but taxi doesnt cost much. In this case I think you get more than you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ylwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Yes the saying is true you cannot make a silk purse from a pig's ear but did you get value for money and the answer in this case is YES 110% we did something we have never done before and that was go all inclusive which this hotel offered, I have only purchased one cup of coffee and paid €30 for two tickets for the tourist bus + some taxi fares and yes the hotel is a little out of the city but plan your walks and taxi back as you will need to walk off all the food you will eat, all staff were first class and always smiling and the room was allways cleaned and made up to a good standard, well done Horizonte we will be back.

Room Tip: Book a superior room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WlshmanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 km away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#23 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,477 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Sercotel Zurbaran
Hotel Sercotel Zurbaran
#56 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
167 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Armadams
Hotel Armadams
#45 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#26 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,104 reviews
2.0 km away
BQ Belvedere Hotel
BQ Belvedere Hotel
#27 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,115 reviews
0.1 km away
NH Ciudad de Mallorca
NH Ciudad de Mallorca
#43 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amic Horizonte? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amic Horizonte

Property: Hotel Amic Horizonte
Address: Calle Vista Alegre 1 | La Bonanova, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,187 - ₹ 16,387
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amic Horizonte 2*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Horizonte Free Wi-Fi *** . is a family run Hotel up a hill in Palma managed by brothers Marga and Andreu . We are not the best Hotel in Palma but we work always to improve things day by day . let,s meet ! We offer stunning views of Palma Bay as you can read in TA thats why we always recomend to book our superior rooms with sea view in stead of cheaper ones standard No sea view ( it is really worthy ) Close to the Puerto de Palma Harbour. It features an outdoor pool and rooms with balconies, 2,5 km from central Palma cathedral .All air-conditioned accommodation at the Horizonte has simple, bright décor. Each room comes with satellite TV and private bathroom.The hotel has a buffet restaurant which serves a selection of Mediterranean cuisine and features a terrace, offering Mediterranean Sea views. . The nearest beach is Playa Cala Mayor Beach,2,5 km from the hotel and Palma’s old town can be reached in 20 minutes, by bus. You can find the Porto Pí Shopping Center and Mallorca Casino in a short walk , Pacha Dico . The city’s airport is just 9 km away and the port is a 10-minute walk from the Horizonte. We recomend to use the public bus 46 at 40 mts of the door or use the taxi because of the If any doubts we always recomend you to contact us before you buy your holidays so no surprises will appear in future . We will be glad to answer you all doubts . Be happy Amic ! Marga and Andreu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Amic Horizonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizonte Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Amic Horizonte Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing