We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break”
Review of Hotel Abelay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Abelay
Ranked #60 of 75 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Nice hotel, staff very polite and helpful. Room was very clean and spacious. The restaurant served good food, nice menu to choose from. All in all excellent value for money. Hotel is north of the main city, but is a nice walk and enables you to take in some local sights.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

3 - 7 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017

This is a good hotel that provides good value for money. The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly. The breakfasts have a good choice with delicious fresh chocolate pastries.
The room are well equipped and the showers are powerful.
The hotel is located approx. 15 min stroll from the Placa de Espana/ Intermodel. Whilst the hotel looks a little out of the centre, we found that the walk was no problem. We used the hotel as a base and used the buses and train located at the Intermodel. It takes approx. 40 minutes to stroll to the Cathedral from the hotel which was ok to us.
The only downside to the hotel is that the rooms do not have an in room safe. If a safe would have been in the room I would have given this hotel 5/5
Our rooms were on the 4th floor and had a balcony. This was an unexpected bonus.
The hotel also has a bar/ restaurant located next door to the hotel
Overall if I go back to Majorca I would definitely choose this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank picassotriggerfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Room was clean and functional with a pleasant balcony. Bathroom and shower were new , spacious and clean. Breakfast was excellent value, served in a pleasant, clean breakfast room. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Hotel was within easy walking distance of the bus and train station, shops, restaurants and bars. Noise could be an issue for some people.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dubliner_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

I have just come back from a few nights at this hotel and was unsure about booking it do to the reviews on here as they were very mixed.

The positives:

In the centre of Palma near to the train and bus station for exploring the island
Hot showers
Bed comfortable
Friendly staff

The negatives:

The noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in during all my travels - the soundproofing is non existent and you can hear absolutely everything - doors constantly banging, beds and furniture being scraped across the floor and despite not being next to the lift there was the constant hum of it operating and when it was called a jolt of electricity. I was at the top of the building which I thought would be quieter but unfortunately there appeared to be all the washing machines near my room. I found the only way to make my stay bearable was to have my headphones in and music when I was there and wear silicone earplugs to sleep - even then you can still hear the hum of the lift.

Perhaps I was unfortunate with my room position and I read on previous reviews of a refurbishment being completed on rooms - I hunk my room was yet to be refurbished.

If noise doesn’t bother you then it’s a great base for exploring.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepTra, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Abelay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you for your comment.

We are currently reforming all the rooms to avoid precisely those noise problems. When he returns, we hope he does not suffer those annoying noises.

In any case, the reception is constantly open to facilitate a change of room when possible,

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Simple and clean hotel, roughly a 10-minute walk from the city center. Very nice, helpful staff at the reception, did an early check-in for us without any problems. The rooms have an a/c and aren't claustrophobically small, located in a residential area with several supermarkets around. Would recomment if you'd like to stay in Palma for a budget or are staying for a short period of time.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BubblyDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
Bons Aires
Hotel Abelux
Hotel Abelux
#58 of 75 in Palma de Mallorca
238 reviews
Bons Aires
Hotel Colon Palma
Hotel Colon Palma
#57 of 75 in Palma de Mallorca
217 reviews
Hotel Sercotel Zurbaran
#59 of 75 in Palma de Mallorca
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#63 of 75 in Palma de Mallorca
941 reviews
NH Ciudad de Mallorca
#46 of 75 in Palma de Mallorca
473 reviews
Araxa Hotel
#35 of 75 in Palma de Mallorca
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abelay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abelay

Address: Calle Pablo Iglesias 49 | Illes Balears, 07004 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: ₹ 4,221 - ₹ 7,922 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Abelay 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Abelay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Abelay Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing