We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Change of Management Has Ruined This Formerly Amazing Retreat” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Paraiso Super Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Formentera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Paraiso Super Club
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Formentera
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Change of Management Has Ruined This Formerly Amazing Retreat”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We returned to this gorgeous location last summer and were devastated by the way it is being mismanaged into the ground. This was our go-to summer vacation spot...until now. It has lost its funky, boho, artsy character completely. As several others have pointed out, the new management team redefines awful. In addition to treating guests rudely, they treat the staff very poorly which makes for an extremely awkward and decidedly non-relaxing atmosphere. Prior to the management change (which apparently occurred in 2009) this was a charming, off-beat, romantic haven with good vibes, friendly staffers, cool music, and delicious food. The food is still good, but that's it. Also, you might want to know that the new management holds a mid-week rave party with a cover charge in the hotel's open-air restaurant. During this party, the restaurant and bar are closed to hotel guests, so forget about dinner or drinks on site unless you want to pay an additional fee and suffer through ear-shatteringly terrible Italian house/techno music. What a waste of a beautiful property. Please, someone buy these creeps out and restore this place to its former glory!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    7
    1
    7
    15
See reviews for
5
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

When we arrived at Las Banderas on Playa Mitjorn, we were surprised to find that the B&B wasn't ready to receive guests although the website suggests they are open from April. We were told the bar and restaurant were closed for a least a week but were not told this in advance. We couldn't get so much as a cola. We had to go out to get a drink or something to eat and we didn't always want to. It felt like the extended Italian family were there, many of whom were drilling, hanging lanterns and drapes while we were there. We were not told in advance or offered a reduced rate. We still paid an excessive fee of 110 euros a night. Breakfast was terrible. The toast was cooked some time before been placed on the buffet table and was stone cold, despite going for breakfast as soon as it opened in an attempt to get warm toast. The same fruit tart was there for the whole 3 days. The staff also forgot to put juice out and plates one morning. I was not expecting a plush hotel as I knew it was a more rustic place (and I have camped in Africa so I am objective). However, our room felt like some kind of outhouse that had been made into a room. It felt like it never was originally intended to be a bedroom. There were several big spiders and a few medium ones in the room and 11 tiny ones running around the mirror suggesting a nest. Our bathroom also did not have a door or even a hanging so you had to shower and use the toilet in full view of your friend/partner. I wasn't expecting 5 star luxury but for the price, I would have expected a better room and the B&B to be ready. The room itself was ok and I like the general vibe and decor of the place but it is definitely not worth the money. The B&B is right on the beach which was nice & it was nice to hear the sea from our room and be in relative quiet but otherwise a disappointment. I also feel we should have been given a reduced rate on the room or they should not have booked us in. It was also difficult to get booked and several of our initial e-mails were not replied to.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NatP1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Formentera hotels

Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

We recently returned from a vacation in Las Banderas Formentera where we go almost every year. Las Banderas is not more the local hippie typically friendly and we had once known. Management Yvonne is not good nothing left. Since some years the local runs by Italians, but it seems to go worse and worse. We were treated very badly. The staff is unprepared and everything you ask snorts. We have also witnessed an unpleasant fight between the cook and manager. The prices are exaggerated. We had dinner once one time (the menu prices vary in relation mood manager). The restaurant has lost its charm and it seems only a place for lazy rich kids in search of noise. Nothing to do with the place of the soul advertised on their site. A sad spectacle of the degradation of modernity. Prices absurd. No more in life even if to invite us for free.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobertCauvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

This is the most confounding hotel I've ever stayed in. The location is stunning, the actual architecture of the place is amazing, the vibe as you hang around on the terraces is wonderful (except the volume of the music which is about double the level it should be). All the more tragic that the owners haven't got a clue how to run a hotel. The staff are surly, making it seem like they are doing you a favour every time you ask for something. The hygiene standards are very low, the rooms are miserable, the maids don't know how to clean a room properly, the breakfast is disgusting. And the prices are outrageous for the level of service and comfort. This place is a disaster and could be so amazing. My advice is to avoid until the current owners sell up.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goodmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sèvres
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

The place has lost is soul since the Italian team got on board. Such a shame!
The management does not make any effort to keep this place clean and welcoming however beautiful the spot.
The smell is bad (the toilets being emptied in the morning during the breakfast time). Dirty cats are walking around.
The rates are very high.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank clemiea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Formentera hotels
1.6 km away
Es Mares Hotel&Spa
Es Mares Hotel&Spa
#3 of 3 in Sant Francesc de Formentera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Casbah Formentera
Hotel Casbah Formentera
#1 of 3 in Sant Francesc de Formentera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.9 km away
Ses Eufabietes
Ses Eufabietes
#2 of 3 in Sant Francesc de Formentera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hotel Cala Saona
Hotel Cala Saona
#4 of 29 in Formentera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
7.6 km away
Hotel Entre Pinos
Hotel Entre Pinos
#1 of 2 in Es Calo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
4.8 km away
Hostal Bellavista
Hostal Bellavista
#3 of 3 in La Savina
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Paraiso Super Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Paraiso Super Club

Property: El Paraiso Super Club
Address: Platja Mitjorn, Formentera, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Formentera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Formentera
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,713
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Banderas is one of Formentera’s milestone, an oasis of peace and calm along the beach of Mitjorn. We offer 7 charming rooms with ocean views just reformed and decorated and a restaurant and a “chiringuito” on the beach to enjoy some of the most spectacular sunsets on the island. Las Banderas is not a hotel like any other, but a welcoming place for any guest who wishes to come: since your arrival to the departure, you will find the comfort of a hotel but enjoying the warmness and care of a private home ... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Paraiso Super Club Hotel Formentera
El Paraiso Super Hotel
Las Banderas Formentera
El Paraiso Super Formentera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing