We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveller rating
106
189
99
23
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
189
99
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus minute walk downhill old town outdoor pool close to the hotel takes minutes beautiful bay tea coffee on site parking nearest beach nice hotel cold meats reception staff breakfast room nice stay night stay per night
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 432 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Average hotel, good points; large room with nice city view, close to university quarter which is less touristy and has some good bars & restaurants (try Toki Eder - was really good) has its own fee car park. Long walk or taxi to the old town along the seafront, fine if you like a walk, we did. The not so good; room needed cleaning, toilet distinctly un-clean and floor hadn’t been swept, they sent a maid pretty quickly to sort though. Small gym with poor air con and two of the three machines not working. “Broken” said the chap on reception who clearly didn’t want to get involved, suspect they’ve been “broken” for a while. No bar or restaurant, breakfast only and we didn’t have that. No tea/coffee or kettle in the room, substandard for a place that was €380 for a Fri/Sat night. General impression was of a tired hotel with management that has lost interest. Reception was friendly enough but made no effort to explain anything about the hotel, it’s facilities or location and no they weren’t busy, we checked in alone and there were two on the desk - which is just lack of training. It is next to Rekondo though, which was very fine. It was alright, but we wouldn’t stay here again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kingfi5her
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDURNEVARGA, Gerente at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Mr Kingfi5her,
I would like to thank you for the review about your stay in hotel Avenida. We are very sorry about hearing that your impression because our main objective is the satisfaction of our guests. Referring to the gym we have report to maintenance to fix them and we have checked the air conditioning and it is working properly and quite well, the installation is only 2 years old. About our rates, I am afraid there is a mistake with them because our rates in septembre, were 180 € not 380 €. Finally, about recepcion we will repport to them because staff are our best considered.
Your reviews help us to continue working to get better. Do not hesitate to contact us if you need anything, best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Finding a good hotel in San Sebastian during the height of summer festivals is not an easy task particularly when booking just one week ahead. We found Hotel Avenida through the recommendation of our hotel in Barcelona but were initially disappointed as it was not in the downtown area. However, once we arrived we found the hotel is beautifully located in the lush hillside next to a noted restaurant and is only a seven minute walk downhill to the beach or one can take the local bus everywhere. The hotel is beautiful, well maintained with lovely rooms, has a good breakfast buffet and most important, outstanding staff at the reception desk. They were exceptionally helpful and made all the difference in our finding special restaurants as well as places to visit. We would stay there again and hope we have the opportunity to do so in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 2000Exchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDURNEVARGA, Gerente at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Mr 2000Exchef,
Thank you for your review, we are really delighted to read that you had a nice stay in the hotel Avenida. We will be really happy to welcome you in your next visit to San Sebastian.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Fantastic staff and accommodation. Great to have a pool. Room was huge, very clean and excellent WiFi. Would have been nice to have a snack bar by the pool, no facilities in the room to make tea, we took a travel kettle.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FellowTraveler608948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miren-Aristi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your feed back. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you soon again.
Kind regards,
Miren Aristi - Head Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

I first stayed here 2017 with my family and it was my first choice of hotels to reserve this year when returning with a friend by motorbike: It feels more like a four star. The staff are attentive and helpful and were encouraging of my brief but polite attempt to speak a little Spanish. The position of the hotel is just superb positioned high on a hill overlooking the adjacent old town and distant harbour. The sea is a brief 10 minute walk downhill and 15 minutes back, which is in its favour as its away from the noise and crowds. The breakfast buffet is un fussy and more than sufficient having cold meats, cheeses, salmon, pastries etc etc.... The pool was cleaned overnight we were there and was uncrowded. The rooms were all aircon, clean and freshly made up, spacious and with a reasonably priced minibar. The hotel does not have a bar, but does have two vending machines in the lobby that stock beers, snacks and crisps etc. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. It has a clean modern and classy feel to it. It is very well situated within a short walk to the beach and maybe 20 minutes to the old town. Taxis are about 15Euro to town.

Room Tip: Rooms are all quiet. Some overlook the old town and other have a view over the pool towards the bay/harbour.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cabby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDURNEVARGA, Gerente at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Mr Cabby01,
We are really delighted that you have a nice stay in Hotel Avenida and that you have returned. We appreciate your comments about our staff and cleanliness, these are our priorities.
Looking forward to welcome you next visit, do not hesitate to contact us in the near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Stayed here for a week in August. Was a nice stay. A steep 500m walk up the hill was a bit of a shock on day one. But we quickly got used to the situation and discovered the bus service to avoid late night climbing in the heat.
The hotel itself is nice. Good breakfast, clean airconditioned rooms, good service. Everyone seems to know what they are doing. The guests kept quiet, so we had a good night sleep. Beds are comfortable and there are plenty of pillows. TV has many french and spanish channels and many (especially movies and shows) have an original language option, so there's always something to watch. Press tools on the remote and select

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 196pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDURNEVARGA, Gerente at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear 196pat,
Thank your for your review from Hotel Avenida. We are really pleased that you enjoy your stay with us.
We hope to see you again in your next visit to San Sebastian. Do not hesitate to contact us if you need help.
Looking forward to welcoming again, best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews