We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Lets see... the room was large in size as opposed to most European Hotels, which was nice. The bed was comfortable. The shower had trouble draining so I stood in 3 inches of water when I showered. I wore sandals every time, because it just didn't feel very clean. It was also very dark. We got room service for breakfast, it was pathetic and terrible. For 80 us dollars it was a complete rip off. We had trouble with billing when checking out and the staff was not accommodating what so ever. We stood there for 30min arguing about our bill, and never did come to an agreement. We are Starwood members so I took it up with them when I was back in the states. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Kymbolde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,054 - 1,058 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

Our stay here was one of the best we've ever had. First, the location is great - right in the middle of old town walking distance to everything. But the hotel itself combines great service with great old world style and elegance. We are Starwood Platinum, so we were upgraded to an excellent suite, but even without the upgrade we loved the hotel. Parking is easy with the attached underground parking garage (n.b. it was very expensive as is usual in Europe) and we never ate at their restaurant due to the plethora of restaurants and bars in the area. Eating pinchos like locals is so fun, unique and delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tomclubireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I loved the Maria Cristina, you feel so glamorous staying there. It is has a very old world European charm and is clean and quiet. Rooms have exceptionally comfortable beds and furniture that fits into the vintage atmosphere. It is very well located and within walking distance of the beach and many sights. However, don't bother to eat in the restaurant. The ambiance is lovely but the food is absolutely terrible!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed on the hotel's third floor where most of the movie stars, producers and directors were staying. during the film festival. Most of the fans were outside the front door, and so to exit the hotel easily, you should use the back door.

This is a Westin luxury hotel,and no more needs to be said about the first class room and service. The reviews describing the hotel are accurate. I was somewhat disappointed that the hotel did not have a true concierge like most oft luxury hotels of Westin, and the front desk gave us the wrong information about the trains which leave for Bayoonne.

I feel that this is the best hotel in San Sebastian, and I would stay here again even outside the dates of the film festival

Room Tip: Use your points to obtain an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StateEmployee1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

excellent location and the desk clerks and concierge were always very friendly and extremely helpful , stayed at one of the suites (beethoven) and it was great. Best Hotel to stay in San Sebastian specially if you're going to the Movie Festival.

Room Tip: use your starwood gold status to ask for an upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yankeedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3,005 reviews
2.4 km away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,450 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,635 reviews
1.7 km away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,919 reviews
2.4 km away
Mercure Monte Igueldo
Mercure Monte Igueldo
#19 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, 20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: ₹ 15,385 - ₹ 56,307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Century of Elegance in San Sebastian - Since opening in 1912 the restored Hotel Maria Cristina has been closely linked to the history and cultural life of San Sebastian. The lavish Belle Epoque interior is filled with soaring columns, 19th-century portraits, rich silk brocades and glorious chandeliers making for a truly opulent experience.Experience gracious hospitality on a grand scale in the hotel's rooms and suites. Decorated in a sophisticated palette of greys and white, the rooms are a quiet haven of luxury. Style, technology and a dazzling range of services which combined make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing