We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further!”
Review of Pension Garate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Garate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at Garate last Sept during the San Sebastian film festival. Pension Garate is a small family run hotel set in one of the old, grand fin-de-ciecle apartment buildings just behind the bay. We were offered a lovely en suite room with balcony and sea view. San Sebastian can be very expensive for accommodation so we found rates here to be very reasonable and great value.
Although there are no dining facilities here there are many bars and cafes right outside where you can find breakfast at low prices, all with San Seb's usual fantastic food quality.
The best thing about staying here is definitely the location. 5mins or less to walk to La Concha beach and an easy stroll to the old town or the city centre.
If you have a car the new motorway system means a short trip west to Bilbao and Santander or east to St Jean-de-Luz and Biarritz across the French border. There is a lovely fishing village called Guetaria about 20mins drive outside the city which boasts some amazing fresh fish restaurants.
Owners Mathias and Pilar could not have been more friendly and helpful, a masterclass in customer service. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you can find one of the balcony rooms, they're the best but all are clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in september, Everything about this hotel was just amazing!
We had the best room with a nice balcony from where we were able to see the beach. The hotel is in the perfect location only 1 block from the water and about 10 minute walk to la parte vieja where you can find the most amazing tapas restaurants. The room was super CLEAN and comfortable!
We would stay here over and over again!
Thank you Pilar and Matthias for your hotel and amazing costumer services :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My first impression on this place was wow. Not only was it comfortable but it was very clean, both room and bathroom. The hotel is very central, 10 mins walk to OLD TOWN and the beach. Also, the owner (Mathias) was very friendly and helpful with recommending various tapas bar around town. I would stay at this place again and would highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The location was excellent (two blocks from the beach, 5 minute walk to parte vieja) and the price being well on the more affordable end of hotels in the area. This pensión is very clean and modern, with a lovely little balcony. The street gets a little noisy at night, but the balcony doors kept the sound out quite well. If it were hotter and we needed to keep the doors open, I could see sound being a problem. Rooms were cleaned daily, and Matthias was very friendly and helpful. We had an excellent stay and we will be back next time we are in SS!

Room Tip: Request an interior room if noise bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speed0fLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Nothing to fault this hotel. Room and bathroom were decent size and immaculate. Staff were helpful and informative. Location fantastic: 2 mins walk to the Concha bay and 5 mins walk to the old town. We went during an unusually hot week for the time of year and although there was no air conditioning, they provided a fan which kept us cool.Would recommend the hotel absolutey. Price was also very competitive for San Sebasitan and for the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binger8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#16 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
625 reviews
0.1 km away
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
#22 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
813 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,356 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,763 reviews
0.9 km away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Garate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Garate

Address: San Martin 54 - 1er piso, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: ₹ 3,903 - ₹ 10,560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Garate 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an example of double room superior at Pensión Gárate, Donostia - San Sebastián ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing