We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
42
35
14
13
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
35
14
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tobacco factory interesting building water temperature train station breakfast room is modern hotel bilbao airport ten minute walk would stay again comfortable beds recommend this hotel old town great hotel gym rates robes suite
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Very nice hotel, but BEWARE their deceptive marketing for suites and poor customer service. We checked in Sat night, and although we booked a suite, they put us in a studio and claimed it was a “suite”. Room had no iron, no ironing board, no kettle, one thing after another. Finally only after we threatened to check out did they manage to find us an iron, and agreed to move us to an actual suite the following day. A very poor start to our trip from a hotel that claims to be 4 stars.

If you book a suite it will likely look nothing like the pictures on the website, they have very few rooms that actually look like the pictures. The studios they claim are suites don’t have a separate room or sitting area/couch, but they will try to tell you it’s the same size and therefor a “suite.” Manager outright lied to me about this. She thinks studios are suites because of their extra size. I tried to have a conversation at checkout regarding the definition of a suite, but she was more interested in blaming me for having the wrong expectation. Their website says “Exclusive and bright Suite, some of them featuring a nice sitting area.” Manager was very pleased at the word “some”, which seemed to give her vindication. Conversation was going no where as she was more interested in defending the hotel, so I just paid and left. Very disappointed in this, a very sneaky way of selling hotel rooms, so beware.

Otherwise it’s a 4 star hotel in looks and comfort, but 3 stars everywhere else. Comfortable beds, good location. Hotel only has a couple of irons and no ironing boards at all, no kettle. Such a basic level of service for somewhere that markets itself as an upscale 4 star hotel. Basic expensive breakfast, mediocre gym, no gym towels. Parking 13€ offsite, so you’ll have a 5-7 min walk with your bags.

It’s not a bad hotel, but I will not go back myself, and would recommend elsewhere. I’d like to give it a 3, but customer service is just so important and therefor it’s a 2

Pros
Very comfortable beds (soft)
Nice design
Excellent bathrooms, little shelf space though
Good location, next to train station

Cons
Bad customer service
Deceptive room marketing
Lack of irons
No ironing boards
No full length mirror
Very basic and messy gym in small basement room, quality of equipment does not match hotel
No gym towels
No kettle
Offsite parking

To the manager of the hotel, this is the definition of a suite: 
“A hotel suite typically connects other additional rooms, which is often a luxury and upscale type accommodations. A "suite" also generally means a separate living room area, like a sofa or chairs, and may include a kitchenette or even a full kitchen.”

Room tip: Beware booking a "suite" 211 is NOT a suite, 201, 301 etc are
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KevinCyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSTabakaleraHouse, Director de Recepción at One Shot Tabakalera House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear KevinCyyz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We ware delighted to read that you found our beds comfortable, a great design and the location convenient.

Please know we always try our utmost to provide the best service and ensure our guests are confortable in the room they are alocated however as a fact, we do not have an iron, ironing board or kettlein the rooms but we do have them at disposal upon request. No need to threat to check out as the room move was agreed beforehand and iron provided. Hence to say, we are sorry about it and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We also would like to apologise we fell short on your expectation during this visit and that check out was not a pleasant experience.
We would certainly like to assure you that this is not typicial and as you will have noted from many previous reviews that we are passionate about always trying to exceed our customers expectations. The team work tirelessly everyday to ensure our customer´s have a ´home from home´experience and we would like to offer our sincere apologies that this was not what you encountered on this particular occasion. The room you were moved to during the second day corresponds to the picture you showed the FD team and there is a high posibility that due to a language barrier you felt your feedbak was not important but rest assure we took note of everything as the feedback provided by our guests it is our best tool to keep improving our high quality service.

We are deeply sorry to hear that this time you felt so dissapointed during your stay in San Sebastián.

Kind Regards,

Nagore A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We really loved the hotel style.
We were welcomed by an efficient receptionist who gave us all the info we needed.
The room was nice clean and spacious but the bed was not very comfy ( the mattress was way too soft).
Breakfast was ok but the service is still a little disorganized.
The breakfast room is nice and stylish but a little cold.
Some green would help
Nice location.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MS-aroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSTabakaleraHouse, Director de Recepción at One Shot Tabakalera House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear Ms-around the world,

Thank you for you review about your stay with us in San Sebastián.

We are happy to learn our style made it to the top of your preferences and the person who attend you made all the efforts to ensure you would enjoy your stay in Tabakalera House.

We also appreciate you liked our unique rooms and despite you found the bed not 100% of your standards (we usually get really good reviews in regards them), it will be our pleasure to have you back with us.

Thank you as well for your comments in regards the breakfast, we are sorry it didn’t made it to your preferences but, we certainly pass your comments to their manager.

Yours sincerely,

Nagore A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Feels like a boutique hotel due to its very cool and minimalist interiors. Ideally located near to the central coach station for the direct and efficient transfer to Bilbao Airport. Short walk to the old town and beaches. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Rooms were comfortable and quiet.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSTabakaleraHouse, Director de Recepción at One Shot Tabakalera House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear Jon E,

Thank you for taking your time reviewing your stay with us at One Shot Tabakalera House.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed a superb time in San Sebastián and liked our unique (and cool) decoration. Furthermore, it is our pleasure to read that our team made your stay even greater.

We will be honoured to have you back with us in the future! Best regards,

Nagore A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Our stay here was warm and indeed a unique find. From the cigar factory it had been, the building bloomed into a wonderful hotel! One can hardly imagine what had been unless looking at old photos. Our rooms were cozy, with all the comforts we'd expected. The staff, lead by charming Nagore, was very attentive and answered all our questions. A reading section w/current papers was in front. Breakfast was graciously presented and our Basque waitstaff was anxious to please. (we were given a handwritten translation of necessary Basque words by him. How fine was that?) Location of One Shot is just outside of the area where we spent a lot of time, crossing the Maria Christina Bridge daily for downtown. Nearby also was the bus we were to take in time. At one point, we had a few hours before our next hotel and Nagore stored our luggage in a secure location, saving us from hauling it around. A great re-model and modernistic place One Shot is. We also highly recommend Iker Bardaji of Basque Guides for exploring the area and food and wine tours. basqueguides.com

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MMRCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSTabakaleraHouse, Director de Recepción at One Shot Tabakalera House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear MMRCalifornia,

Thank you so much for taking your time reviewing your stay with us at One Shot Tabakalera House.

We are delighted to learn you had a fantastic stay with us and you enjoyed our unique design (Alfaro and Manrique design studio are well known and awarded for the job and effort they invested with us) along with our comfortable of the rooms.

Furthermore and please allow me to personally thank you for remembering me and our staff. Our driven passion to exceed the guests expectations along with providing excellence service being recognised by our guests, is always a motivation for us.

We will be pleased to have you with us in the near future. Best regards,

Nagore A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

this is a great hotel with thoughtfully and very stylishly decorated rooms. The suites are worth every penny, the beds are the most comfortable place to lay your head, and bathrooms are cool.
The hotel is located in an old tobacco factory which lay disused for many years and is now a cultural and community center, very cool, Williamsburg-meets-Greenpoint kind of place ... and about 15 minutes walk from 2 fabulous beaches..

Room tip: the suites
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSTabakaleraHouse, Director de Recepción at One Shot Tabakalera House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear mmb2014,

Thank you for taking your time posting a review after your stay with us in One Shot Tabakalera House.

We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us in such a unique location as Tabakalera. It is always wonderful to know that the work invested by the studio of Alfaro-Manrique made it in the top of your preferences and furthermore, that you enjoyed our good location in such a wonderful city as San Sebastián.

We will be delighted to have you back with us in the future.

Best regards,

Nagore A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews