We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and convenient”
Review of La Salve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Salve
Ranked #20 of 26 Bilbao B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We stayed two night at La Salve and found the room to be clean and the bathroom modern with a good shower. The breakfast is coffee or tea with small cakes. It will get you through a few hours before you find a more substantial meal. Bring earplugs as there will most likely be noise from the nearby busy road. The wifi works best in the dining room.

We chose the pension due to its proximity to the old town (casco viejo) and Guggenheim. We arrived by bus from the airport (a real bargain for under 2 euros). It drops you off, the 1st stop, a block past the Guggenheim. Walk back on the opposite side of the street from where you're dropped off, across the bridge, on the pedestrian sidewalk. The road will curve to the right. If there is no traffic, cross the street when you come to a set of stairs. Otherwise, take the stairs that lead you under the road to the opposite side. From there, you will see other stairs further down the road that go down several flights. Follow them all the way down. You will see the pension sign on the side of the bldg. almost at the foot of the steps. This may sound confusing but will make sense if you're walking and trying to figure out how to find this place. The pension also has some reserved spots in the secure parking garage of their bldg. for 10 euros/night. A GPS would be helpful if driving here from the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JustKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

I've stayed in better quality pensions for the same price or less in Europe, but Bilbao tends to be pricey. The walk up to the location isn't fun, as others have said and you need to get the lift down on the bridge first. However, the view walking back down in the morning was pretty breathtaking, but I only did it once!

The room and bathroom were clean. The bed was ok, a bit hard. Pleased to have a TV, but disappointed no tea or coffee facilities. I bought a big bottle of water at reception for 1.50 though, so that was convenient. The man on the desk was very helpful explaining where to get the bus.

I peeked in at the breakfast and others are right- not worth bothering with unless you're starving and can't wait to go to a cafe. Oh and the wifi was non-existent - I guess that was the most irritating thing. Overall, it was ok for one night, but that is enough!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank minacharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

The hotel is easy to find and the staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was a little firm for my liking and the rooms were very warm. The wifi was fast and easy to access. For me the only real let-down was that the advertised 'free breakfast' (on the TINGO booking confirmation) turned out to be just tea/coffee and biscuits / bitesize-cakes. The kitchen had a fridge and toaster for food you bring yourself. It's very convenient for the Guggenheim - although it involves going up/down steep hills and steps (even taking the shortcut).

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gecko_006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

The shower head was broken, and sprayed all over the room. When we asked the front desk to fix it, he came and changed the hose without repairing the showerheaday or mopping at all. We thought about asking for a different room but decided it would be more trouble than it was worthe for our 2 night stay.

However, we were able to get our single load of laundry done overnight, which was great. The musty smell in the lobby, ragged carpet and dim stairway left us feeling that we got about what we paid for.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klarndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Firstly let me say that for proximity to the Guggenheim this place cannot be beat but......and this is a massive but! I have never stayed in a noisier hotel, there was a near by night club pumping out beats until 4am and the single pane windows had no chance of keeping that out or indeed the noise from the motorway overpass just handily above the hotel.
But don't be fooled, the noise isn't just from the outside of the hotel you can hear every single thing in every room as if you are in the room with them. Like to hear your neighbours on the toilet? Or the people down the hall watching TV? Then look no further this is the place for you.
Having said all that I am sure if you are young and are going to be out all night at the club near the hotel you wouldn't mind so much but for me after a day and night trudging around the city all I want at 11 o'clock at night is clean bed and a bit of quiet and all I got was the clean bed.
So to recap if you are a twenty year old party kid on a budget then I would say go for it but if you are like me middle aged and like to sleep at night then really don't be tempted by the price it isn't worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aningeniousname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#15 of 42 in Bilbao
2,107 reviews
ILUNION Bilbao
#22 of 42 in Bilbao
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Salve? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Salve

Address: Calle Artasamina, 16, 48007 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bilbao
Hotel Class:2 star — La Salve 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your La Salve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing