We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
10
40
51
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
40
51
5
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2014

A bit hard to find, but nice if you're travelling cheap. The breakfast is basic, but still good, when compared to other places in Spain. It has a garage for about 10€/night, because it is really hard, not to say impossible, to park in the street.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

To find this place a satnav is a great help. The underground parking facilities are superb, safe and gives easy access to the hotel lobby. The nabager and his wife spoke excellent English, were welcoming, knowledgeable and very helpful and did the best the could with the tools they had. The pension is situated in the university student quarter so don’t expect great views, but for a one night stop over en route to the ferry it’s fine. Our room, 217, was basic in the extreme but clean and tidy. The TV was typically Spanish – yes, everything in Spanish. The free wi-fi throughout the hotel we were only able to obtain in the corridor outside our room or in the hotel lobby. The bed was comfortable enough and the wardrobe space doubled up as a desktop because there is no table area. Lighting was fine and the bathroom light, airy, modern and the towels were of a reasonable size. The shower was very powerful but the cubicle very small and the doors delicate. The sink took ages to drain. The big No Nos though have to be the railway line adjacent to our sleeping quarters. The constant train noise was exceptionally bad, although it did stop around 10.30 pm, it did recommence around 6.00 a.m. As far as the sound proofing of the rooms, we don’t think they were insulated at all. We could hear every person talking and using the bathroom. Breakfast was fruit juice, toast and a bit of cold ham and coffee and tea. The plus though is the price and an easy walk to the Guggenheim museum and a reasonable 15 minute stroll to the centre of the old town with plenty of restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Ear plugs if you are a bad sleeper. Use the lobby for WIFI - free but not private
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CasaSulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2014

The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood. It is within a walking distance from the centre, but on top of a hill.. There was some street noise from the La Salve bridge and the nearby train track, so bring you ear plugs if you are a light sleeper!

The room was decent sized for two persons, but a little cramped with a baby cot and stroller. The room was bright and clean, but some of the electrical installations looked dangerous and we did not want to plug in the TV because of this.

The staff was friendly (and also got fast replies beforehand by email to some questions I had) and the room price included breakfast, which was simple, but enough to get you going in the morning. We were also able to use the microwave and fridge in the breakfast room to store our own food. A plus is also that the hotel has free wifi, which worked without problems for us.

A good budget option, although might choose a hotel closer to the city centre next time.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jalokivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very good basic accommodation which was spotlessly clean. Lovely staff. Basic continental breakfast included in the price. Only issue for me (I have a walking disability) was that it is on a hill, although fairly easy to get down to the river by walking. only did the walk back once and then got taxis back afterwards as it is very steep and caused me issues. But that is not the pension's fault.

Room Tip: My room was behind the reception on the "ground" floor, so was a bit noisy at night.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

La Salve is not too far from the city. Around a 10 minute walk from the city. The staff is very nice and they speak English (enough to get the message through). Understanding some Spanish might help.
The room as well as the Pension were neat. The bedspreads, however, needed some washing.
The breakfast could improve, but it's OK.
I would come back if needed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dejoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews