We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and annoying”
Review of Hotel Fruela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fruela
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Oviedo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Fruela is a triumph of gimmick over substance. I found it expensive, for one. The shower was a disaster. and I had to get the receptionist to show me how the thing worked, only to be told that it did not work because it was broken (her colleague had broken it apparently). Yet they had still given me the room, and did not offer another. When we got it to work, it was poor. If good hot showers are important, avoid.

Rooms are small and nicely decorated, if that matters, but there are a dozen light switches and overall I found it just gimmicky but not good.

The computer in the business center is so old it doesn´t have a usb drive, and it is so slow that it is both infuriating, and utterly unsuitable for secure transactions. Indeed, even checking email is a complete dose. Overall, I say avoid.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheUnnamable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fruela
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2011

Clean modern room under the roof. Inadequate AC for the rooms heat exposed location. As most hotels and restaurants in Oviedo this one too was highly overpriced for what is offered. The many bureaucratic requests to sign forms at reception were more than annoying. The comfortable bed ought to have allowed a good nights sleep in this a l m o s t quiet room in which the trafic noise could only be heard if you kept the only window, a dormer window, open for a ventilation more effective than by AC. Unfortunately dormer windows have to be kept shut when raining. A l m o s t quiet even while the window was closed except for the loud and frequent bells toll from the nearby Cathedral of San Salvador. Barely OK for a nights stay when on business.

Room Tip: avoid rooms with a dormer window if possible
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramsay_bocuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This hotel is located very close to the centre of Oviedo which makes it perfect for exploring the town. The room was small but arranged in a way which still made it feel fairly spacious. Breakfast is served downstairs in a private area attached to the public bar where there is a good selection of cereals, fruit, cakes, croissants etc.. The only negative we found was the quality of the pillows in the bed, they are very small and not very comfortable so it might be an idea to request two!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordi1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Me ad my girlfriend booked this hotel for a weekend (fri to sun) and had a great experience. The hotel staff was gentile and the rooms were perfectly clean and comfortable.

Also, the location is great, thus allowing short walking trips to anything we wanted to visit in the city center.

Great value for a reasonable fee.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aljimmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

In a great location a stone's throw from Oviedo's pedestrianised centre, the Hotel Fruela is decorated and fitted out in a boutique style. Our 'triple room' was in reality a double room with an extra bed in it, but it was spacious enough to accommodate it and the bathroom was also a generous size with a walk-in double shower.
It's not the place to stay if you want peace and quiet - it really is right in the middle of town - and noise travels within the hotel as well (our room was right by the lift so we could hear lots of comings and goings).

Room Tip: A room not overlooking the street will be quieter
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElinorEastlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oviedo hotels
0.1 km away
NH Oviedo Principado
NH Oviedo Principado
#4 of 49 in Oviedo
785 reviews
0.0 km away
Princesa Munia Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Barcelo Oviedo Cervantes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Ayre Hotel Oviedo
Ayre Hotel Oviedo
#3 of 49 in Oviedo
1,155 reviews
0.9 km away
Exe Oviedo Centro
Exe Oviedo Centro
#12 of 49 in Oviedo
502 reviews
0.7 km away
Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fruela? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fruela

Address: Calle Fruela 3, 33007, Oviedo, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Oviedo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oviedo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oviedo
Price Range: ₹ 4,368 - ₹ 8,994 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fruela 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fruela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fruela Hotel Oviedo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing