We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
93
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
5
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2017

I was debating myself on whether to write this review in English or Spanish. I finally did choose English, because, honestly, there isn't really much else that hasn't been said on the Spanish reviews about this little rural hotel, but there is little reviews in English, and foreign visitors should know about this little gem because it is absolutely marvellous.

Let's start with the place. Located in Deva, a very small town quite close to Gijon and close enough to the rest of the big cities in Asturias which makes it a very nice base spot for visiting the whole region. The house has several rooms, some of them valid for families. Ours consisted in two different rooms connected, both with their bathrooms which would suit well families with 4 or even 5 people if one of the family members is a baby. The owners provide absolutely everything you can imagine. Literally. I've been in many five star hotels that don't provide half of the things you've got in your room for your convenience.

The house is nice from the outside, not spectacular but the decoration and details are superb. It has a lot of history too as it is a XVII house originally built around a tiny church and remodelled in the late XX. In any case, don't get fooled by the numbers. It is very modern. But, honestly, the 5 stars that you can see in all the ratings and that you will also see in the websites have two strong pillars. That is Mara and Patricia that will make you feel like if you were home. We were absolutely, again, total and absolutely overflow by their help, service, kindness, and friendliness. It is a service worth not 5 but 50 stars. We know perfectly well that we will very unlikely get that kind of service anywhere no matter how many stars. Things like playing games with our kids, setting up milk and a heater in case our little baby wakes up at night, ordering food at dinner, picking it up and setting the terrace area like a restaurant just for making our stay much better are things that really money can't pay.

More details, for people that love food, I must say that the breakfasts are not only huge but also delicious including many home made pastries and desserts. It is also totally customised to your stay and the owners take care of having a different breakfast every day. If you go with children, they will also get a special setup from their own cartoonish cutlery to a special assortment of things that kids like as kid yoghurts, cartoon cookies and such. Wifi. There is free wifi too, although I didn't test it much. There is also and open air but closed garage and the owners will give you a convenience remote for opening and closing the parking doors when coming in and out of the building.

Finally, one little detail for families and that we didn't see mentioned anywhere when we did choose this place is that the terrace is not only beautiful and large as you can see in the pictures, it also had a very extensive collection of games for all ages, from toddlers to kids or adult people. This room was the trip highlight for our little angels, so much that they defined it as the best room of their lives. Again, something that money can't pay.

Totally recommend it to anyone. Thank you so much for your attention Mara, we loved our stay.

Muchísimas gracias por vuestra hospitalidad. Nuestra estancia ha sido magnifica. Habéis hecho que lo que muchas veces es una lucha, el viajar con niños pequeños, fuese un placer. Un millón de gracias.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank churrusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraMedio, Propietario at Hotel la Ermita de Deva, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017
Google Translation

Millones de gracias por este super comentario¡¡ gracias por gastar vuestro tiempo en escribir cosas tan bonitas que a Patricia y a mí nos han llegado al corazón ¡¡el placer fue nuestro porque nos encanta cuidaros ¡¡¡ Nos encantó disfrutar de vosotros ¡¡ Muchas gracias de corazón y esperamos veros muy pronto ¡¡¡Bss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

La Ermita de Deva is a beautiful home situated not far out of Gijon in the picturesque countryside. Our room (Laudes) was very large, with a bedroom, sitting room and two bathrooms (both with toilets). One bathroom had a bath and the other had a shower. Every attention was given to detail - good quality shampoo, soap, body lotion and even a little pack of personal items for the ladies. There was a choice of beautifully furnished sitting areas downstairs. Our favourite area was the glassed in patio from where you could look out at the extensive garden. Breakfast was different each day - the usual selection of bread and spreads, meat etc, but it also included beautifully prepared home made dishes as well (including hot food). While we were there we needed a doctor. Mara arranged an appointment at not simply a GP, but a specialist who was able to fix the problem. I believe that La Ermita de Deva would equal some of the high class accommodations that would charge much, much more.This was a place where every attention was given to detail and the love that Mara had for her work and for her guests was amazing. It truly was a "home", not simply a place to stay.

Room Tip: You will need a car to get around. This hotel is a great choice for a relaxing weekend away.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TobyVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraMedio, Propietario at Hotel la Ermita de Deva, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por vuestro comentario¡¡¡
Ha sido fantástico conoceros ¡¡¡ ha sido estupendo que hayais llenado la casa de vuestra energia contagiosa de vida ¡¡ Espero poder visitaros en Australia ¡¡ Gracias por vuestro cariño ¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Words cannot explain the experience!!!
Superb breakfasts. Cosy and comfortable rooms. Besutiful garden. Great location. Friendly staff. Everything, every detail is perfect!!!!!

Thanks to Mara and her "girls" for such an incredible and great time.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Àngel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraMedio, Propietario at Hotel la Ermita de Deva, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016
Google Translation

Gracias , gracias por vuestro comentario ¡¡¡ ha sido estupendo alojaros en nuestro pequeño hotel ¡¡¡ Gracias por vuestro cariño ¡¡ os deseamos la mejor energia del mundo ¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Mara the hostess was amazing, nothing was too much trouble and we were treated so well by her. The B&B is fantastic, furnished with great design mixing between new and old with ease. Really peaceful although only a short distance off the motorway so easily accessible. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Alyson Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Both me and my boyfriend had been looking for a getaway to spend one of our last nights together when we found Ermita on trip advisor. We had been on other rural houses in Asturias but not like this one! We had no idea Ermita was so special! As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by Mara who, in a matter of seconds made us feel like we were long term friends! She welcomed us with cold beers (as it was so hot) and so much kidness and care! we were both stunned and delighted. A friend of ours (who was with us, as we were going to the beach) felt the same way! we sat in the shade and got to know each other till when left for the beach. Later that evening when we got back we brought our friend back and spent an incredible night out in the garden chatting and enjoying the breeze! after such a lovely introduction of course we invited Mara to join us. And so it was me, my boyfriend, Mara and two of our friends! what a great night it was! the next morning as me and my boyfriend are getting ready to check out, Mara presents us with an amazing breakfast fit for lords! we could not believe it! it was all so great it felt like a dream!
So in the end we said our goodbyes and left but with something we did not expect to leave with… we made a new friend… Mara!
We both thank you so much for everything! we will never forget it! and will for sure go back whenever we can!! even if its just for a coffee!
Muchas gracias Mara! nos vemos pronto!! xxxxxxxxx
With loads of love,

Ana and Miguel (20july-21july 2015)

Room Tip: The house is just amazing! you cannot go wrong with your choice!
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraMedio, Propietario at Hotel la Ermita de Deva, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017
Google Translation

Gracias ANa ¡¡ Por el comentario tan bonito , cariñoso y fantástico que nos has escrito ¡¡¡ Muchos dias me acuerdo de vosotros ¡¡ Espero que todo siga muy bien ¡¡¡
Besos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews