We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not impressed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sauce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sauce
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
united kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Having read the other reviews i had to check if i was staying in the same hotel! The hotel is indeed in a side street in the centre of town, That,s a plus, the front of house staff very pleasant, another plus it all goes downhill after that i am afraid. The room facing the street is small, the bathroom also. The bath is a joke! so small !! but worse than that the dirt left in the bottom of the bath after the water is emptied is disgusting and that is without getting into it.
We went to bed (v very hard beds ) and at 1am the bars etc began to empty of their clients this went on until 5am, shouting, singing, mostly drunk i imagine and very noisy aided by someone in an adjacent room giving a masterclass in furniture movement until 4 am. Parking 13 euros!! very difficult and it is going to be almost impossible to get my car out i think.

I know its budget but there is no excuse for dirty bath water,and beds like a plank, as for the noise outside they can not do anything about it so its up to you if you want a very disturbed nights sleep. A gem it is not!!! sorry folks

Room Tip: Go to an out of town hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boscobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guests: What a shame! We are sorry we disappointed you! It didn’t work out! Everything went wrong this time I am afraid! It is a pity we didn’t fulfilled your expectations after reading other reviews. We don’t know what to say. Hope you could give us another chance so that we can compensate you for all the nuisances caused. But thank you so much for letting us know you opinion so that we will work hard to keep on improving everyday. Best regards, Isabel and all the Sauce team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    354
    70
    8
    6
See reviews for
268
442
36
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibsons, B.C.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We enjoyed a lovely weekend in Zaragoza at this small, well managed hotel, after coming from Madrid on the fast train (AVE). From the moment I made the reservation I knew that Hotel Sauce was one of those small hotels you feel lucky to have discovered. Front desk staff are both courteous and concerned. We got good advice about how to walk to major sights, and also a suggestion for a restaurant for dinner that we really enjoyed. The optional breakfast (8 euros) was good,and the lovely lady who runs the spotless breakfast room was warm and welcoming. Room rates were very reasonable for a clean, quiet, and pleasant place to stay. And some major guide books don't even mention this charming city!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guests: our goal is to provide our guests with the best service. That is why we help you plan you visit to beautiful Zaragoza in advance ( before you arrive, you can write us an e-mail) and during your stay once you are here. We will give you tips and good advice about places to eat and to visit so that you can make the most of your visit. There are soooo many things to discover…Isabel and the rest of the Sauce team say hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. Hotel is perfectly located, on the quite street, close to all major attractions, just steps away from the central square. Hotel is very clean, staff is nice and accommodating.
We had breakfast in the hotel - for the price it's a good value. Choice is not too big but food is of the good quality - freshly squized OJ, coffee, pastries, Spanish omelet they served was delicious. The lady serving the breakfast is extremely nice.
The hotel has a parking, but it was a little challenging to park - not much space.
We've recommended this hotel to our friends who will be traveling later this month.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lgeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Guests : We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our Buffet Breakfast: always made with love and care and served with the broad smile of our staff. Don’t miss the opportunity to try the best Spanish Omelette ever made! Thank your for recommending our hotel to your friends! Best Regards, Isabel and all the Sauce Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This hotel is a real gem. It is located right in the center of the town and provides easy access to the major attractions. The staff were very warm and helpful, and our room was clean and cosy. We had a little difficulty with the door lock at first but that was quickly addressed. If you want a good experience for a reasonable price, this in the place to go!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripper024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Guests: We feel happy to know your experience in our hotel was a special one. All the Hotel Team passion for work is rewarded by the satisfaction of our guests. Thank you for choosing us! Kind regards from Isabel and all the Sauce Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Found out about the family room from other reviewers so I emailed Isabel and asked for the family room (2 adjacent rooms with a shared bathroom). Not the Ritz but we got what we were looking for: good location, clean, parking, value, and one of the highlights of the trip: the old lady they keep talking about and her name is Pilar. Pilar serves a mean breakfast ($8 Euros/pp) - cafe con leche served with a smile.

Room Tip: If you need the family room, do email Isabel and let her know in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gonzfamilyexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Dear Guest, as you say on your review if any traveler would like to book our family room, you just need to send me an e-mail and I will be pleased to personally assist you and help you with your reservation. I you have the chance to come back, Pilar will serve you our deliceous breakfast and welcome you with a broad smile. Kind regards, Isabel, Pilar and all the Sauce Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Catalonia El Pilar
#1 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Zaragoza Centro
#15 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Centro
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
#7 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
San Pablo
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#11 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sauce? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sauce

Property: Hotel Sauce
Address: Calle Espoz y Mina 33, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
#2 Best Value Hotel in Zaragoza
#3 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,942 - ₹ 5,683
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sauce 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel in the center of SaragossaHotel Sauce is located in the historical, artistic and commercial center of Saragossa, close to Basilica del Pilar and Cathedral, La Seo de San Salvador and the best attractions of the city.Each room is uniqueHotel Sauce has 40 rooms. Each one has been personally decorated and taking care of the details.They are equiped with complete bathroom with hairdryer and toiletries, TV, telephone, individual safe, air conditioning, heating and free WiFi.Services that you can enjoy during your stayHomemade breakfast buffet with natural products, private parking, free WiFi, Cot Service, Meeting Room, Laundry Service, Fax and Regular Mail, Transfer to Airport and Baggage Storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Sauce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauce Hotel Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing