We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Could have been better!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monasterio de Piedra & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zaragoza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Monasterio de Piedra & Spa
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Zaragoza
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Could have been better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2008

We stayed at the Monasterio de Piedra hotel in May 2008. We booked the 'especial matrimonio' room (a suite, 157 euros+VAT ) and a "habitacion claustro' (cloister room, 105 euros +VAT) for one night. The price included free parking at the monastery, buffet breakfast and free entry to the gardens for 24 hours.

The suite room and its bathroom was very spacious and had a terrace twice as big as the other double rooms. The entry was from the first floor, then a flight of stairs and a little private reception area. The cloister room had nice views of the cloister, but unfortunately, the window was almost a the corner of the wall, so the view could not be enjoyed by more than one person.

Our main complaint is the little annoying things that one does not expect to happen when paying such prices.
1.We carried our suitcases all the way down the stairs to the main entrance to the hotel. Not very convenient for senior citizens or the disabled. Once at the reception desk, we were told we could have used a side door that leads directly to the 3rd floor of the hotel. There were no signs indicating that was the way to go, so only an old customer would know about it!
2.The air conditioning was not turned on in any of the rooms. Although one is supposed to be able to regulate the temperature in every room, the hotel assumes May is not 'hot' enough for us to be hot. So the aircon is off! That was not very pleasant as our rooms had been closed and hit by the sun for the whole day.
3. Free wi-fi is provided for ONLY two hours. Customers had to go back to reception to request their voucher. It may seem lazy to you, to complain about walking to reception desk, but once you have stayed at the Monasterio, you will realise you can get lost in its corridors, and spend most of your stay walking up and down corridors while you could be enjoying your time doing something else.
4. The gardens are badly signalled. We (and most other visitors) spend hours climbing stairs, going in circles, getting lost, trying to find our way to the famous 'horses' tail fall'. This was because the arrows pointed to the WRONG way! Not one sign but several, were pointing to the wrong direction. It is not fun and it is not fair again on the senior citizens and the disabled, having to waste their time and efforts climbing up and down without getting anywhere.

  • Liked — Staying in a monastery, the falls at the gardens
  • Disliked — Signs pointing at wrong directions, aircon off, wi-fi for 2 hours/day only, lack of consideration for disabled/senior citizens in general
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank The_Horror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    197
    83
    29
    23
See reviews for
147
265
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bayreuth, germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2006

we arrived on spain´s national holiday (12.10.) after a drive through the dry mountains of Aragon. It was a real surprise to see a green valley full of ponds, waterfalls and brooks. It must be most appealing to spaniards who are used to desert-like landcapes. We really enjoyed the stroll in the park.
The hotel itself is a converted monastery, that means an impressive building. The former cells of the monks still are what they used to be, that means bare white walls, tiled floor without mattress, rustic rudimentary furniture (two beds, desk, two chairs) all recently renovated, but in a cheap manner not quite the class of the building itself.
the bathroom was functional, but i´ve never seen such a flush. Maybe designed for a vessel, it produced a lot of noise as all other flushes in the building did the night long. surprisingly the walls are thin which doesn´t matter as long as the adjacent rooms are empty. They weren´t. Atmosphere of a boarding-school. The night was cold down to 5° C but the heating was off. Not very pleasant to get up in the morning.
When you look at it as charming, you are right, but it´s obvious that the building was not conceived as a hotel.
we found 120€ without breakfast for a very simple room quite overpriced. The paradores are a better choice.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank shivaowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2006

This was our 3rd stop on our honeymoon in Spain (previously Barcelona and Cadaques). I picked the Monstery as a unique place to stay and based on the reviews and things I had read about the grounds. The gardens, waterfalls and grottos are amazing. You can spend the entire day walking around the park, the monastery and the ruins. What we were unprepared for was how far it is from the highway, a long, winding road through the mountains which, unfortunately, we made in the middle of the night. We arrived late and the monastery had a very eerie, deserted feeling. The rooms really are like monk quarters. The beds are typical European beds (hard, singles we had to push together). the balcony was large, but opened onto the woods. The monastery was having construction done, so work began early. Thankfully, the staff kindly warned me of this when I made reservations. We stayed two nights, which was more than enough. The nearest town is about a 5 mile drive and has two restuarants and nothing else(Although the very first one you encounter (on the right) when leaving the monastery is the best and we ate here for lunch and dinner a few times). The hotel's restaurant is nothing spectacular and is overpriced. I imagine to make up for the free breakfast--which was suprisingly good. Since the grounds take a little over a half day to see, I would recommend arriving late, stay that one night, see the grounds early and leaving early that afternoon for your next destination. Two nights is only for the devoted.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2004

The Monastery was the Jewel of our trip! We stayed at some amazing Paradores including the Granada at the Alhambra (which was wonderful) but the Monastery was phenominal. You really feel like you're experiencing history and the gardens ... all the waterfalls ... absolutely beautiful! I can only imagine it in the Spring. I can’t say enough about it ... if you have an opportunity ... stop and spend the night!

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mjmj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2004

September 2003: During the period that we lived in Holland for 5 years we travelled extensively around Spain. The last large region of the country that we hadn't visited was the northern third above Madrid. We came upon the Monasterio in the Special Places travel book and were completely awestruck by the property and its location next to the park. Driving through the nearby countryside, one would never guess that such an oasis existed. Our only regret is that we only spent two nights. We ate both nights in the dining room and I had the best duck confit of my life! There aren't many places that one visits that they would return to. The MdP is an exception that I have already recommended to several people.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaragoza
Balneario Sicilia
#1 of 3 in Jaraba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Eurostars Rey Fernando
#16 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romareda
Hotel Reina Petronila
Hotel Reina Petronila
#5 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Hotel Las Truchas
#48 of 80 in Zaragoza
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Catalonia El Pilar
#1 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monasterio de Piedra & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monasterio de Piedra & Spa

Property: Hotel Monasterio de Piedra & Spa
Address: Calle Afueras s/n | Nuevalos, 50210 Zaragoza, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Zaragoza
#17 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,670 - ₹ 8,008
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monasterio de Piedra & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Monasterio De Piedra Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing