We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
0
8
9
4
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
0
8
9
4
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This small hostal is right in the centre of Seville - a few paces away from the Cathedral. The rooms are small but they all have an a/c and an ensuite, which are big pluses, especially if you are visiting in the hot season.

The receptionists (Diego and Maria) do not speak a word of English, and my partner and I do not speak Spanish. Yet somehow, we always managed to communicate well and they attended to our needs immediately. Very lovely people!

You will not find double beds, although not very difficult to move them closer together (although somehow, they do not do it!) You won't find any shower gel, which is a bit of a nuisance, especially if you are travelling with a hand luggage only (due to restrictions on liquids on airplanes), but other than that I seriously recommend this hostel. You get what you pay for. If you need a four or five star service, reserve elsewhere. This is just a small hostel where you can sleep in comfortably after a day out visiting the place.

Room Tip: If you have a room at ground level overlooking the street, you might often hear horse carriages passing by. If you get rooms on higher floors, please note that there are no lifts to help you with the luggage.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SylvanBorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We visited Seville during Semana Santa and could not have found a better-located place to stay without breaking the bank. The rooms are clean and the beds were comfortable. All of the rooms are on the small side, but if you don't have a lot of luggage, there is no need to worry about being cramped. Given that prices shoot up 300% for the week, it is also very affordable. It is right around the corner from the Cathedral and Palace gardens and is close to great shopping and dining. If you don't mind stairs, book the top floor room off off the rooftop balcony...it's more private and less noisy. The staff were very nice and accommodating. This is not a luxury hotel by any means but a great little base to use for sightseeing right in the heart of Seville.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bilbaoface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Vincent Van Gogh in Sevilla two nights (7 & 8 august 2010).
The hotel is in tipical style and in a very good position just around the corner from Plaza del Triunfo and the Cathedral. The street is quiet, as the whole neighborhood is pedestrian, apart from the coaches that pass from time to time. We arrived around 10:30am and they said we could enter the room around noon, but we could leave our backpacks at the reception in the meanwhile. They gave us room 31, which is the on the top roof terrace, with no lift. The room is small, with two single beds and low ceiling. As in Sevilla was passing a heat wave it was hot and we had to leave the air conditioner on the whole time. We asked at once to change room but it wasn't possible until the next day when we were given room 23 on the second floor. The room had always single beds, but they were placed close together and it was much more fresh and comfortable, even though the ceiling had damp patches. The bathrooms, in both the rooms, did not have windows and the fan was quite noisy.
They do not serve breakfast, they ask for a deposit of €10 for the use of the remote control, they do not have an internet point but they have Wi-Fi.
If you do not have high demands, I would recommend it as it is cheap (€39 per night), it is well located, it is very clean and the staff is helpful.

Pro: Location, cleanliness, price

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiling_buddha74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

my partner and I spent 4 nights in Seville this April. We were really looking foward to it because we love Seville. And although we are both fairly easy to please we wre dissapointed by this Hotel. The rooms are so small that only one person can move around at any one time, provision for hanging clothes was a couple of hangers on the wall so couldnt really unpack. The bathroom was a challenge...
It was noisey at night, mostly because you could more hear other gueasts conversation coughs etc. and I wish the staff turned their tv down late at night! and every night there was a really mysterious dragging sounds coming from the reception area.
Having said that the staff where friendly and very helpful and the location absolutly perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesTigerlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

The Van Gogh is essentially a ** hostel which borders on being a hotel, and at around £40 per night is very good value compared to other hotels in the centre of Seville. It is one of several similar nearby hostels, all named after painters. This is a terrific location, just a moment’s walk from the Reales Alcazares, with only the horse drawn carriages and pedestrians going past. Note that contrary to some reports, taxis can draw up outside the hotel if you want to arrive that way.

We had room 21, which did not look quite as nice as the room pictures we had seen. There were three single beds of reasonable size and comfort, a safe, a TV which only receives Spanish channels, an air conditioning unit and a smallish en suite room with shower, wash basin and WC. The towels were not the softest in the world, and there was no soap, but there was a hair drier. It was probably one of the larger rooms (we saw another room with just two beds which was very small), but still not all that large. There were no wardrobes – just some hangers on hooks on the wall, so even though we had only taken small cases, we had to use the spare bed for most of our things. The air conditioning was quite effective, though it was towards the end of September. In fact we had to turn it down a bit, and you have to ask for the remote control for that and for the TV at reception. The reception staff were generally very friendly and helpful and spoke some English.

There have been reports about the hotel not being clean, which is true to an extent. There were bits of paper etc under the beds and white socks did show some dirt from the floor, though not excessively. The regular cleaning lady was very nice, but was leaving at the end of our stay, so the situation might improve. There was a slight musty smell in the en suite when we arrived, but it got better with use.

Our room only had one window and that was internal onto the laundry room, which meant at least there was no noise from the street, but the curtain was very thin and the light from the hallway was quite bright when it was on. We put the spare bedspread over it which helped a lot. In fact the main problem we had was with noise, both from people coming and going and from reception staff talking during the night, as well as the mysterious motor noise which keeps stopping and starting. It wasn’t from the room’s air conditioning, which was quiet since the outside unit is elsewhere in the building. The first few nights the noise wasn’t as bad as we had feared, but Friday night it got a lot worse from all the sources mentioned. If you sleep like a log or you’re out most of the night it won’t be a problem, otherwise you definitely need earplugs!

Contrary to some reports, there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, nor are there any pastries for breakfast. There are two vending machines in the entrance. However, this is not a real problem since a minute down Miguel de Mañara is the typical Spanish café Rayuela which opens at 7 am Monday to Friday and where you can get eg tea/coffee, real orange juice, a croissant and a doughnut for 5 Euros. It’s noisy inside but typically Spanish with everyone chatting away, or you can sit outside. It’s not open at the weekend, so a bit further down and across the tram track are Starbucks and a good Spanish café, but they don’t open until later (9 am at least). The tourist information office is just though the archway from the café. You can eat in the evening in the Jamerdana/Plaza de los Venerables area about 5 minutes’ walk away, at prices from 12 Euros for 5 tapas – enough for a small meal for two people.

We flew to Malaga and took the excellent Avant train to Seville, which takes about 2 hours. You need a seat booking for most longer distance Spanish trains, even if you buy a ticket at the station. We booked in advance through the London based Spanish Rail Service. If you use them, make sure you understand all the discounts on the web site before booking, to get the best out of them. For those over 60 there is a 1 year 5 Euro Gold Card which gets you up to 40% off. We looked at the 3 day in a month pass, but for us it was dearer and you still have to use it to get a real ticket and seat booking before you get on the train. We also went to Cordoba for the day on the AVE train, which takes about 45 minutes. In Seville itself you can get a 5 Euro 10 journey ticket for all the buses and the tram, or for 6 Euros you can make one change (note you must validate your ticket again on the second part). We also went to the lovely Carmona for the day, which takes about an hour by bus, which you can catch in the street next to the tram terminus street near the bus stations.

Finally, a word of warning. While we were in Seville we somehow got a fake 20 Euro note, either in change or from an ATM. Apparently they are not uncommon, though the change of getting one is still probably quite small. The one we got was quite easy to spot once you know what to look for, so go to the European Central Bank page [-] and be prepared!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElTelDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews