We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rey Alfonso X
Ranked #53 of 179 Hotels in Seville
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We had a 2 night stay at the Hotel Rey Alfonso X in May. One of the main reasons for booking this hotel was the roof terrace and pool, so we were disappointed to arrive and find that this was closed (especially as the website was still advertising happy hour there!).
On our 2nd day we enquired about it again and were told that we could use the pool on the roof terrace of their sister hotel which is just around the corner. The pool there is only small but does the job on a hot Seville day! It's a shame that we weren't told about this on our first day there - I'd definitely recommend asking about using it if reception doesn't volunteer this information.
We had a double room on the 2nd floor which overlooked the square. The room was a good size, and bright and airy with the 2 french doors, but was more dated in it's decoration than some of the modern rooms I'd read about in previous reviews. The hairdryer in the bathroom looked ancient and didn't work too well, would recommend bringing your own!
The air con worked ok (although we didn't seem to have much control over it), and with the french doors closed there wasn't too much noise from the square outside.
Breakfast was included in our room rate, but the buffet wasn't great and definitely doesn't live up to the price they charge for it seperately. I'd recommend eating at one of the little cafes in the square instead, they all seemed to be the places to go in the morning.
The best part of the hotel is the location. It's in a lovely part of town and within walking distance of all of the sights and a good range of tapas bars and restaurants.
All in all, the hotel is a good base for exploring Seville, but some elements of the hotel and service didn't really live up to the price you pay for it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynseyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    320
    157
    32
    23
See reviews for
94
433
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and we were quite happy with our room. The staff was friendly and spoke English. The hotel is right in the heart of the central square in Seville, and the hotel was no more than a 10 minute walk to the Alcazar and the Seville Cathedral. The hotel is also quite close to the train station so it was easy for us to get in and out of Seville. And despite a lot of touristy places offering mediocre food close to the hotel, just a few minutes of walking led us to much better places to eat. Free wifi in the hotel room as well. The only complaint was that the rooftop bar and pool was closed for repairs. But other than that, it was a no frills, affordable and clean hotel. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanibatutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in May. Great location, big room, everything worked. Staff a little cold at first but warmed up with a bit of coaching. Good bar nearby for breakfast and taxi rank just a block down the road. I would easily stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The hotel is located in a good location within easy walking distance of the main historical attractions such as the Alcazar (palace), cathedral, and Giralda (tower). There is an excellent cake shop located just around the corner from the hotel and many tapas bars within nearby as well. It is also within walking distance of the train station and there are trains to nearby cities such as Jerez (about an hour) and Cordoba (about an hour, although we did not go there) so would be a good base for exploring the region.

The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful, providing recommendations on places to go and booking a sherry tour for us in Jerez de la Frontera (a nearby city that we were going to later in our trip). They did everything possible to help us enjoy our stay.

The rooms were comfortable and modern, especially the mattresses which were firm without being too hard. As other reviewers noted, the "doubles" were two single beds pushed together and they separated easily. Our room opened onto a pedestrian walkway so there wasn’t any outside noise. There was a good selection of products in the bathroom e.g. shower cap, sewing kit, etc.

There were a few points that could be improved:
- The hotel website features the rooftop bar and pool open in the evening. It was the reason we chose this hotel (and paid more for it) rather than other hotels in the same area. On the day we arrived, it had been raining in the morning and we were told that the bar was closed but it would be open again the next day. The next day, we were told that because it had been rainy the previous day and because “sometimes the bar is open in May, sometimes it isn’t open” the bar would be closed that day too. It was a lovely warm sunny evening and we had been looking forward to some drinks and enjoying the views. The website doesn’t give any indication that the bar is only open some months and has variable hours during others. Apparently other guests had raised the same issue. It is very misleading for the hotel’s website to advertise hotel attractions that are unavailable.
- The floor of the shower was made from wide panels of stone. They had become detached from their supports and if you stepped in the wrong placed, they tipped an inch or more like a see-saw. It was a minor inconvenience for us, but for those less sure on their feet such as the elderly or children, it could be quite dangerous.
- The bathroom did not appear to be clean when we arrived. There were finger-marks near the door handle, dust and drips on the walls, and marks that I thought were patterns in the stone but turned out to be residue marks on the base of the shower. The bathrooms are made entirely of black stone and I am sure is difficult to keep them looking clean, but we would have expected better.
- The walls were not very sound-proof so we found it hard to sleep due to the sounds made by other guests.

Overall, would we stay at the hotel again? It was comfortable and convenient so we would not rule it out, but given the price and that the key attractions (pool and bar) were unavailable, we would probably try other hotels in the area before returning to this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine_Ursula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The hotel is in a really, really good location for all of the important sights in old Sevilla. The room was large, spotless, and the bathroom was clean. Front desk staff was pleasant, professional, and helpful. Free wifi in the room was a real plus. The view of Santa Maria La Blanca from our windows was just lovely.

However, there were some negatives: (1) the breakfast buffet was below average and it was very expensive--eat at one of the nearby cafes instead; (2) the air-conditioning system did not appear to work and we had to keep the windows open to keep from roasting; (3) the street noise was nearly unbearable because we had to keep the windows open.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ortlinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Fernando III
#61 of 179 in Seville
971 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#31 of 179 in Seville
2,534 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#11 of 179 in Seville
3,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Posada del Lucero
#65 of 179 in Seville
367 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Elvira Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rey Alfonso X? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rey Alfonso X

Property: Hotel Rey Alfonso X
Address: Calle Ximenez de Enciso 35, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#47 Family Hotel in Seville
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,665 - ₹ 15,355
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rey Alfonso X 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two majestic buildings located in plenary historical center of the city shape the elegant IMG Hotel Rey Alfonso X, where the tradition, modernity and elegance are in perfect harmony. The recovery of these distinguished buildings has formed a wide offer of rooms, with the common features of being luminous, comfortable and current. The bedrooms and the baths are equipped with meticulous form to cover the needs of all the customers. The offer of services of Hotel Rey Alfonso X is replete with beautiful details that will do his unforgettable stay: it will be able to savour the plates of the menu of the Bar, to taste a pleasurable breakfast buffet integrated by a wide diversity of products or to enjoy a relaxing time while he contemplates the panoramic sights of the city from the Bar of our swimming pool placed in the top terrace. Equally, we put to his disposition the garage of the Hotel in order that his stay is more possible commode. Near of the Hotel, there places to scanty 500 meters the whole of Cathedral, Giralda and Reales Alcazares, the commercial district for his purchases to 800 meters or Plaza de Toros a 1.200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rey Alfonso X reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rey Alfonso x Seville
Rey Alfonso x Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing