We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect price and perfect location!”
Review of Hotel Murillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Murillo
Ranked #41 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This hotel is located right next to the Murillo Gardens, which are a lovely space to stroll through. While navigating the alleyways was initially confusing, we eventually memorized our way to and from the Seville Cathedral, which was only 5 minutes away. We were able to stroll through the entire historic center of Seville with this hotel as our base camp. It's not the perfect hotel, but was excellent value for the price. Our only issue was that the elevator was sometimes broken, which was a pain for us because we had a 6 month old in a stroller.

Tip: go to the concerts at the Alcazar at night, if you can. Don't rush through the gardens there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jeffhsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmurillo, Reception at Hotel Murillo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you very much for your comments over our hotel. We are pleased that you chose to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 571 of 2,016 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

i recently stayed here with my parents on a 3 day stop in Seville. The city is amazing, old world, friendly, tasty! and fun.

The hotel Murillo was a very sweet and basic hotel in the Barrio Santa Cruz. It's clean, and offers standard amenities - nice hot shower, tv, air & heat, and balconies. The staff is very nice - as I am sure dealing with tourists can be difficult. they were very nice when I asked to switch rooms and were happy to oblige - I just wanted a bigger shower as the one in my first room was teeeeny tiny.

of note: the barrio Santa Cruz is a maze of tiny streets and cars cannot drive on them, so be aware that when the cab or whatever drops you off, you are going to have to look a bit for your hotel.... good luck.
no no no! it's fine & fun but be prepared to get lost and enjoy the walk. I mention this only cause I wasn't really aware of this particular fact, and when we were dropped off there was a brief moment of panic. hahaa!

the hotel is super close to the Alcazar & the Catherdal and there are lots of cafes, tapas, and bars all around the barrio. the location can't be beat.

...but I can't say I would stay here again. I live I NYC and can sleep through all kinds of noise, but the walls are very thin and one can hear the goings on of most of the hotel and the street. i heard music, laughter, smelled smoke from the front 'stoop,' all that normal stuff.
yes, there is heat and air conditioning, but whenever I turned on my heat, the air that blew into my room smelled like cigarettes! I wanted it a bit warmer cause the tile floor is very cold - but that was out. There is no wifi in the rooms, but there is good service in the lobby. My rooms was very small (no chair or desk) but that doesn't matter to me. The shower gel & shampoo etc come in little packets, nothing fancy just basic.

the hotel fits the feeling of the barrio and it was a decent place to stay and sleep.
it was good not great, but totally a basic hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Logan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmurillo, Reception at Hotel Murillo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for your comments over our hotel. We are glad that you chose to stay with us and we hope that you will return again soon.
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The hotel is in a quite old building in one of the most historical areas of Seville. The structural integrity of the original spaces have been preserved, so the rooms are not huge, but I loved the solid walls and pink marble floors. Our room was attractively decorated and felt very cozy and comfortable. The marble bath was spacious and modern. The staff was helpful with everything. The lobby is nicely appointed and a great place to hang out. The location is the best, walking distance to all of the city's attractions and sites. There are a lot of great places to eat nearby. I was sorry the rooftop bar wasn't open, the view are excellent and I would have loved to relax up there with some fino and padrons. Driving or parking is absolutely out of the question--The hotel is on a tiny street, too small for cars, so our cab dropped us a block or so away. We ate breakfast at the hotel several times, the food was good, there were a lot of choices from American-style cold cereal to gazpacho and crusty bread with olive oil and garlic, something for every taste. Hotel Murillo is a good value for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmurillo, Reception at Hotel Murillo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you very much for your comments over our hotel. We are very pleased that you found your stay with us to be enjoyable and we hope that you will visit again soon.
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Hotel Murillo is located is the perfect location. It is a short walk to all the attractions in Seville. It is right in the middle of all the "kissing streets" and has an authentic atmosphere. The staff was friendly and knew enough English to help you. The lobby was set up nice with WiFi and couches and tables. The room was clean and functional. The terrace looking out onto the "kissing streets" was exceptionally nice. The floors in the room were all tile so a word of caution if you are staying here in the winter bring a pair of slippers or warm socks. The breakfast buffet was nice to have since Spain is not big on early breakfasts. It was nothing special though. Just the basics. Our only other want for this hotel would be a better stocked vending machine and or easier access to food in the hotel. Other wise it was a great stay and we would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank silentsnake09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmurillo, Reception at Hotel Murillo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you so much for your comments about our hotel. We are pleased that you selected Hotel Murillo for your stay and found our services to be satisfactory. We hope that you will come back again in the future.
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Last January we stayed at the associated Apartamentos Las Cruces which was excellent value. This time, just before Christmas, we opted for the main hotel with its convenience of breakfast on site. Staying four nights and combining with cheap Easyjet flight schedules, we paid just £60 a night for two of us including breakfast. Considering the wonderful location, this is a bargain, but perhaps costs more at other times. Our room was on the first floor and looked out onto the inside, so was not very bright. When you are touring, this does not matter. The room was spotless as was the en-suite - quite new with plenty of hot water, shampoo, soap etc. We even had a bidet! The beds were comfortable and we slept well apart from the occasional party-goers who always think they are the only ones alive at two in the morning. There was very little noise, which for a big city, is priceless. Seville was magical with great atmosphere and decorations pre Christmas. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and efficient, and breakfast was adequate with a reasonable choice. Nothing special, though. We hired a car for two days very cheaply, collecting from the station some 20 minutes walk away, but found the nearby underground car park more expensive to park overnight than the cost of hire. It would have been better to hire the car on a daily basis. Later we discovered that the hotel would have arranged hire for us, but we didn't look at the prices. Driving in Seville is no worse than any other city, but you do need to know where you are going and study a map carefully. It seems turning left (from the right hand side of the road) is not possible and you need to know what provision has been made to go right first. These do exist!
The weather - sunny and warm most days (up to 18 degrees) but definitely chilly at night (down to 2 degrees). Great hotel and great city.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikea4167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmurillo, Reception at Hotel Murillo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us here at Hotel Murillo and that the room was to your liking. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#44 of 177 in Seville
752 reviews
Hotel Sevilla Macarena
#91 of 177 in Seville
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,588 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#34 of 177 in Seville
2,832 reviews
Monte Triana Hotel
#14 of 177 in Seville
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murillo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murillo

Address: Calle Lope de Rueda 7-9 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Seville
#29 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#30 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range: ₹ 3,472 - ₹ 13,964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Murillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Murillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murillo Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing