We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Pension Cordoba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Cordoba
Ranked #10 of 67 Seville B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This little "pension" is wonderfully located in the Barrio Santa Cruz (Old Town), within walking distance of everything worth seeing.(The only time I took a bus was to come back from the Basilica de la Macarena, otherwise I even walked to Triana and back, to Parque Maria Luisa, etc. It is very close to the cathedral and Alcazar).
January is obviously low season. Although cold, the crisp and sunny weather was fab for photos, with orange trees everywhere. I booked a single room with shower, only 4 days before arriving, and was pleasantly surprised to get a room with double bed (for 35 euros per night). Quite spartan, but what do you expect for that price in the old town? Room with TV, heating easy to switch on/off, and spotlessly clean. There is wi fi and a computer for guests in a small sitting room on first floor. The owners (elderly couple and their 2 daughters) were very pleasant. No noise at all at night; I slept like a log (although, as another review says, avoiding room 102 in high season would be a good idea as it's located over the entrance bell... I was in 105)
Breakfast is not served; the Cafe Altamira (a few minutes away, calle Sta Maria la Blanca) was adequate for breakfast. I would recommend the Bodega Santa Cruz (calle Mateos Gago) for authentic and inexpensive tapas.
Despite what some reviews say I dfound it easily, arriving by bus from the airport and then about 20 mins walk from Plaza Don Juan de Austria.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FrenchGreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    67
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
74
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We were very happy with our 5 night stay at Pension Cordoba. Yes the rooms are simple but very clean and with everything we needed. We were staying in January and found our heater on the wall and controlled by us pefectly satisfactory. The girls on the desk and their parents were unfailingly polite and helpful. As they had to push a button to let us in and out they were constantly having to get up and down at all hours of the day and night and always did this with a smile.
We loved the location and the taxi took us to the corner without problem and we walked up from there. Once we got our bearins we were able to find it easily by walking straight up towards Santa Cruz from the Cathedral and it took about 10 mins. The tucked away location meant it was free from traffic noise which was a bonus.
The lounge and free internet was very helpful and the connection was always good. So many places now assume you have your own internet access so only provide Wifi connection so we really appreciated this.
They also recommended a great bar around the corner to go and watch free flamenco with the locals in a very atmosheric location. Just ask them the name.
In conclusion we would recommend Pension Cordoba to anyone wanting a budget, friendly, well located and clean option in Seville.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sonya65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I was a bit disappointed in Trip Advisor this time. This place is fair. The 2 things to recommend it are it's central walking location and the very clean rooms. Besides that, it's very spare. Very. And insanely difficult to find. If you are driving here, I suggest you stay elsewhere, as the 2 dozen teeny streets you need to take to get here are difficult to navigate even with GPS. If you still want to stay here, you should park in the lot at the base of the Santa Maria La Blanca Av and walk there.

As another reader posted, the temperature is not really in your control. It was a chilly January evening and we asked about warming up the room. We were handed an extra blanket. In all fairness the room did seem to warm a little.

One of the women was pleasant and helpful; the other was rather curt and clearly wanted to be doing something else. Basically, not a great value in my book.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SriJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

What a gem this little family run pension is! The two sisters who run this pension with their parents both speak very good English and are very helpful and cheerful. The place is immaculate, the beds comfortable and bathrooms are spacious and excellent. The location, on a small pedestrian side street, is quiet and peaceful and is also close to the Cathedral and all the places you would want to visit in the old town. No breakfast is served here, but is available nearby. We stayed here for three nights and heartily recommend this wonderful place to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Derald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed in this wonderful family pension for a week and were most happy with the room, the location, and especially the family. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The location is a ten minute walk from the cathedral which was great for us because the neighborhood around the pension is quiet. It is near the Calle Santa María la Blanca, which has many places to eat (in which local people mix with the tourists). In 5 minutes you can be at the edge of the tourist area to find buses (the circular buses make life easy) and facilities like banks and laundry. Also the Memoria Flamenco with young perfomers is only a couple minutes away. ( I should point out that we are a 70 year old couple who move around but not quickly. )
I saved the best for last: the family were always helpful, caring and fun to talk to. I have a year of Spanish but I heard others speaking English to the two daughters, Ana and Maria. They were delightful. And Otto the small dog kept an eye out for us as well. We are already planning our return.

One note> there was no elevator so you have a flight of stairs to your room. I think there were rooms on the first floor if you need place with no stairs, but ask.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chucksf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Las Casas de la Juderia
#31 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,583 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#35 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#44 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Amadeus
#9 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
Hotel Puerta de Sevilla
#78 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Cordoba? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Cordoba

Property: Pension Cordoba
Address: Calle Farnesio 12, 41004 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Seville
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Pension Cordoba Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing