We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely find”

El Picoteo de Plaza Nueva
Ranked #520 of 3,157 Restaurants in Seville
Price range: US$ 2 - US$ 68
Restaurant details
Reviewed 11 May 2018

Not going to say this was the game changer - we had tried so many Tapas venues but so many of the venues are so small it is nigh on impossible to get in

If you are going to go get in before 9 as that is when the locals pile in, to see the locals says a lot as that is quite an indicator

Wouldn't say it's classical tapas, pancake with cheese and ham (bit like a sausage shaped findus pancake for example

The mains were the winner - i had the pigs cheeks, the sauce was over salty but not horrendously so - the Rosada similarly was a little salty but without doubt the winner was the pork shoulder stone baked, not only was the port deliciously cooked ( to your liking as you can pull it from the stone when ready) but so simple - worked out €40 less than we'd paid at a place in the square near the cathedral when we were struggling to get our bearings so well worth a visit, start here, find out where you are and then go from there

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Justin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

We stumbled across the bar as we were walking elsewhere and saw a lady drinking the most delicious looking gin and tonic and so obviously had to stop!
We liked it so much that we returned the following day for Tapas that didn’t disappoint. It’s very Spanish - full of people from nearby offices - but they will give you an English menu to help. We were made to feel incredibly welcome and we will fondly remember this as a lovely couple of hours spent in a beautiful city.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank SJ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Ordinary tapas aimed at tourists

My husband loved the deep fried camembert with red fruit jam. The spicy potatoes were just fried potatoes with tomato ketchup on top. The deep fried aubergine strips with chilled tomato soup were not particularly tasty. The pan fried artichokes with langoustine on the other hand, were tasty. The grilled tuna steak was not well seasoned. The desserts were made with some sort of artificially white cream, so we had one spoonful and had to leave them. The waiter asked why we ordered them if we did not like cream! Very ordinary, disappointing food, but maybe we chose the wrong things on the menu.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BrLakB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

On a friends recommendation we tried this place. We were not disappointed. It was busy with two large groups, but we Arrived before them luckily. Food of good quality and fair portions. We will visit next time we are here.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank W4896XBmichaelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Ei Picoteo was just around the corner from where we were staying in central Seville so we thought we would give it a try. Slight hiccup at the start with our very poor Spanish and the server's lack of English. Quickly overcome and we were served pre dinner drinks. Ordered four tapas dishes. All were excellent accompanied by a glass of red wine. Followed with an outstanding chocolate fondant for dessert. Overall a great dinner costing only 20 euros including drinks. Seems the kitchen opens for hot tapas at 2000 so don't come too early. Strongly recommend as a local place rather than the tourist cafes nearer the Plaza Nueva.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank PatrickorNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Picoteo de Plaza Nueva also viewed

Gines, Province of Seville
Gines, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to El Picoteo de Plaza Nueva? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing