We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
63
51
33
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
51
33
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolcold cutstoastrustic hotelspa facilitiesstay there againwaiterwinesterracetaxijacuzzispainposition
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Even the road up to the Hacienda has the wow factor, rooms, food, pool, staff all outstanding.Waiter was amazing with the wines and did not try and sell the most expensive but let us taste the house wine which he said was good and after we had a reserve which was excellent but he was just as flamboyant serving each one especially the reserves which he decanted first.The lamb we had was exceptional, could not praise this hotel enough

Room Tip: Go have a relaxing stay, nothing to do but swim, sunbath and read, fabulous break
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seapath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

I might not be the first one to think about "Hotel California" as I came to the Hacienda Montija, first you have to come by car, and then I went there under a strong stormy night )) well it's neither hell nor heaven, but an unusual place for sure. Nice setting, decoration, staffs, rooms. For the wrong sides, incredibly noisy due to its setting (all rooms are set onto the inner patio, so when someone sneezes there all rooms may reply "bless you"). Didn't see the swimming pool or maybe it was closed for works. Finally a good experience.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank marcpointcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Room was perfectly acceptable with good on suite facilities and air con.
Breakfast was very poor for both quality of the food and service. There is nowhere nearby as an alternative.
We were given a note on our second day to inform us of a reception in the open area on the ground floor. Needless to say it was quite noisy until 11.30pm. If you want a quiet time it would be best to make enquiries as to events ahead of your stay.
One more thing we had a tom Tom Tom sat nav in which we keyed in the address and post code. We ended up in a field some 5miles away from the hotel so beware.
We will not be returning.
Room was perfectly accepable

Room Tip: Balcony room is useful
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

we have stayed here 3 times now and it is one of the best hotels in spain really .4 star but the service is amazing and the dinner at night in the restaurant is out of this world. we have travelled a lot around spain in the last 12 years and this is my favorite hotel in all of Spain and just 50 euros a night.

Stayed: June 2016
1  Thank davey2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on our journey from Mijas to Portugal .
This is a lovely Hacienda about 10mins drive off the motorway on the outskirts of Huelva .
It is isolated in terms of no other buildings around but very peaceful.
There is a large old wooden door at the entrance and we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist and a parrot ! Quirky .
There is a large courtyard / covered lounge which is lovely and all the rooms overlook this . Our room was simply and traditionally furnished but very comfortable. We had a small Juliet balcony overlooking the hotel entrance .
The hotel was very quiet but we decided to eat dinner in the restaurant situated in the covered courtyard . Given how quiet it was our expectations on the food front were low however we should not have worried . There was a good menu served by a more than pleasant waiter . The food itself was excellent and very reasonably priced .
In the morning we had a very pleasant breakfast mainly continental but some hot dishes .
This hotel was very relaxing .
There is a pool but it was low season and closed but I suspect very pleasant.
We were shown the old dressage room a magnificent space used to hold 400 apparently for summer weddings .
I would have no hesitation in recommending this rustic hotel for a stopover.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank johnbowen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews