We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel to stay”
Review of Hacienda Montija

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Montija
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Huelva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Even the road up to the Hacienda has the wow factor, rooms, food, pool, staff all outstanding.Waiter was amazing with the wines and did not try and sell the most expensive but let us taste the house wine which he said was good and after we had a reserve which was excellent but he was just as flamboyant serving each one especially the reserves which he decanted first.The lamb we had was exceptional, could not praise this hotel enough

Room Tip: Go have a relaxing stay, nothing to do but swim, sunbath and read, fabulous break
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seapath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

I might not be the first one to think about "Hotel California" as I came to the Hacienda Montija, first you have to come by car, and then I went there under a strong stormy night )) well it's neither hell nor heaven, but an unusual place for sure. Nice setting, decoration, staffs, rooms. For the wrong sides, incredibly noisy due to its setting (all rooms are set onto the inner patio, so when someone sneezes there all rooms may reply "bless you"). Didn't see the swimming pool or maybe it was closed for works. Finally a good experience.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank marcpointcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Room was perfectly acceptable with good on suite facilities and air con.
Breakfast was very poor for both quality of the food and service. There is nowhere nearby as an alternative.
We were given a note on our second day to inform us of a reception in the open area on the ground floor. Needless to say it was quite noisy until 11.30pm. If you want a quiet time it would be best to make enquiries as to events ahead of your stay.
One more thing we had a tom Tom Tom sat nav in which we keyed in the address and post code. We ended up in a field some 5miles away from the hotel so beware.
We will not be returning.
Room was perfectly accepable

Room Tip: Balcony room is useful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

we have stayed here 3 times now and it is one of the best hotels in spain really .4 star but the service is amazing and the dinner at night in the restaurant is out of this world. we have travelled a lot around spain in the last 12 years and this is my favorite hotel in all of Spain and just 50 euros a night.

Stayed: June 2016
1  Thank davey2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on our journey from Mijas to Portugal .
This is a lovely Hacienda about 10mins drive off the motorway on the outskirts of Huelva .
It is isolated in terms of no other buildings around but very peaceful.
There is a large old wooden door at the entrance and we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist and a parrot ! Quirky .
There is a large courtyard / covered lounge which is lovely and all the rooms overlook this . Our room was simply and traditionally furnished but very comfortable. We had a small Juliet balcony overlooking the hotel entrance .
The hotel was very quiet but we decided to eat dinner in the restaurant situated in the covered courtyard . Given how quiet it was our expectations on the food front were low however we should not have worried . There was a good menu served by a more than pleasant waiter . The food itself was excellent and very reasonably priced .
In the morning we had a very pleasant breakfast mainly continental but some hot dishes .
This hotel was very relaxing .
There is a pool but it was low season and closed but I suspect very pleasant.
We were shown the old dressage room a magnificent space used to hold 400 apparently for summer weddings .
I would have no hesitation in recommending this rustic hotel for a stopover.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank johnbowen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huelva hotels
2.6 km away
AC Hotel Huelva
AC Hotel Huelva
#4 of 12 in Huelva
187 reviews
5.2 km away
Senator Huelva Hotel
Senator Huelva Hotel
#2 of 12 in Huelva
177 reviews
5.5 km away
Eurostars Tartessos
Eurostars Tartessos
#3 of 12 in Huelva
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
NH Luz Huelva
NH Luz Huelva
#9 of 12 in Huelva
549 reviews
4.8 km away
Apartamentos Rurales Las Palmeras
5.4 km away
Hotel Sercotel Familia Conde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Montija? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Montija

Address: Crta Huelva-San Juan del Puerto, km. 2,5, 21007 Huelva, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Huelva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Huelva
Price Range: ₹ 3,697 - ₹ 37,893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Montija 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovation of this 11th century country estate has played a part in enhancing Huelva's historical, cultural and artistic heritage. This hotel and restaurant retains the charm of the sheerest rustic Andalusian style. The restaurant offers the best of the local cuisine. Enjoy the complete luxury of the calm and peace that only a country estate such as Hacienda Montija can offer. Free WiFi and paking available. Our site is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hacienda Montija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing