We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Albaicin Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Isabel la Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Santa Isabel la Real
Ranked #1 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Albaicin Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Located on Calle de Santa Isabel la Real in El Albaicin this Hotel is simply wonderful. It's an easy walk down to the Gran Via, the Cathedral and town center as well as a short stroll to San Nicholas in El Albaicin. For travelers who need a bit of help coming back up from town there is bus service which leaves you a few feet from the Hotel's front door.

Take a right turn out the front door and a few yards' walk finds you in a plaza with several restaurants for an afternoon cerveza, wine or tapas. A left turn out that door and a 5-10 minute walk takes you to San Nicholas with incredible early morning and sunset views of Alahambra and Generalife.

Our room, which overlooked a concrete plaza, was quiet and offered the free "entertainment" of watching young locals congregate, skateboard, juggle and play music.

Breakfast was extensive and would satisfy most continental breakfast needs.

The Hotel staff was extremely helpful in every way.

Two suggestions: 1. Consider buying a 10 ride Credibus card for the bus. It requires a 2 Euro refundable deposit but it is so convenient and significantly reduces the unit price of a ride. Note that any credit on the card is not refunded so buy this only if it will be used. 2. If a taxi is needed from the Hotel first try flagging one from the street. If you "reserve" a taxi, charges begin when the taxi starts its journey from City Center. When we reserved ours we incurred a 6 Euro charge before even stepping into the cab.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mistydogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    185
    36
    5
    1
See reviews for
127
574
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

In late April 2012, my wife and I spent two nights at the Santa Isabel la Real Hotel in Granada. Located high in the hills of the Albayzin neighborhood, we were greeted graciously on arrival, given basic information about nearby restaurants and scenic overlooks and told about the transportation options into the heart of Granada. If not driving, you are reliant on taxi or the number 31 bus usually arriving next to the hotel at about 10 minute intervals. Two small plaza areas are within a 5 minute walk from the hotel, each with a couple of dining places (the San Nicolas plaza offering a wonderful sight of the Alhambra and the snow covered hills behind). The hotel has the added advantage of an elevator up to our second floor room. Rustic in appearance with wooden beams, the room was comfortable with a small en-suite bathroom. Next to our room was a local park area that attracted young families and teenagers. After dark, the park emptied and the neighborhood was quiet. We were there on school weekdays and are not sure if the park attracts late night activities on the weekends. Breakfast was adequate, with enough variety to get us going for the day. The area is residential, with the downtown providing bank ATM’s, shopping and many more dining options. Santa Isabel la Real is definitely worth consideration.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveHMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

My friends and family have been staying at this hotel since it opened. The family who run it are so welcoming and cared for my elderly parents so well that they have returned again and again. The hotel itself is charming, a restored Carmen with inner patio. Breakfast is plentiful, great home made lemonade and lovely cakes. There is a bus stop right beside the hotel which is very handy for going into town or to the Alhambra. The Albayzin is a perfect location, just up the road is the Mirador San Nicholas, where we would walk most evenings to watch the sun set on the Alhambra palace. A short stroll down the road from the hotel is the plaza San Miguel Bajo with a variety of restaurants serving Spanish food where you can sit out on the terraces and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Let me begin by saying, we would stay here again. The hotel is lovely. More in a moment.
Getting to the hotel was quite the challenge. Our taxi from the airport dropped us at Placa Nueva, and the driver told us that cars could no longer drive into the Albayzin. He waved his arms in the general direction of the hotel and told us it was "just up there." So, dragging our two suitcases up the cobblestone roads (emphasis on "up"), we wandered around and around until some very kind locals took pity on us and led us straight to the door of the hotel.
It is NOT true. Cars can and do drive into the Albayzin. If yor cab driver tells you he can't, insist. And if that doesn't work, get another cab. There are plenty at Placa Nueva who will happily drive up the hill.
The hotel is, as I said, lovely. The building is old but beautifully restored, quiet and restful. Our room was small with only a queen size bed but it was comfortable and sunny and had a view of the street and the Alhambra. We slept well at night. The bathroom was spacious though lacking in counter space. The shower was good and strong and the hair dryer the hotel provided was excellent.
Breakfast was generous - lots of meats and cheeses, fruit and hard boiled eggs, and breads.
The lounge was a nice place to sit and read or take advantage of the free wi-fi.
The staff was very nice and helpful.
One of the best things about this hotel is the price. Excellent value. And the Albayzin is so very, very lovely, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Granada. Wander the narrow streets and narrower alleys, stop at a tapas bar, drink a little wine, wander some more, get lost a bit, enjoy the bougainvillea spilling over the white-washed walls of the homes, have another glass of wine...

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the hotel and, so, there was some street noise from our open window. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Betsy1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We were very pleased to stay in the old town, with great views from the nearby Mirador square.
Glad we didn't have to drive here - our lovely young driver who brought us from Malaga was sweating buckets by the time he found the hotel! If you are driving you will be well advised to read the tips from other drivers. The roads in the old quarter are so narrow that even taxi drivers have to retract their wing mirrors before turns! Anyway, staff very pleasant and the hotel very clean.

Room Tip: If you want a room with an outside window, make sure you say so!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VivienJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#2 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#11 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#3 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Isabel la Real? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Isabel la Real

Property: Santa Isabel la Real
Address: Calle Santa Isabel La Real 17 y 19, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,861 - ₹ 12,286
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Isabel la Real 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a restored house from the XVI century. It is situated on the main street of the historical neighbourhood of the Albaizyn ( Granada), five minutes walking distance from the city centre. It is surrounded by gardens and different monuments such us the Monastery of Santa Isabel la Real, the palace of Dar-Al Horra and the San Miguel Bajo church. The hotel is also very near the beautiful views from San Nicolas, San Cristobal and la Lona. There is an enclosed parking lot and a bus stop near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Santa Isabel la Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Isabel La Real Hotel Granada
Santa Isabel La Real Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing