We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a lovely area of Granada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Isabel la Real
Ranked #1 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a lovely area of Granada”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed here for one night at the end of January 2012. We stayed in the Tower room on the top floor. We felt like we were almost staying in a Swiss Chalet with the exposed beams, and the cute bathroom tucked away.

We had fantastic views of The Alhambra, this room is probably the best in the hotel for the views alone.

The wi-fi doesn't quite reach up that high, but we just took our laptop down to the sitting room on the ground floor and used it down there which was fine.

The staff were very helpful, though recommended several restaurants for dinner that were actually closed when we went due to it being off season, so that was a bit disappointing. Overall though they were extremely helpful, circling the must see attractions on a map so we easily find our way around.

The only real negative I have is that there were no curtains in our room apart from netting. So we didn't get a great nights sleep as it was too bright from the street-light across the road. We did however get good views of The Alhambra lit up, but I suggest you bring an eye mask if you stay in this room.

Room Tip: The tower room has fantastic Alhambra views but bring an eye mask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Niki84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    201
    37
    5
    1
See reviews for
129
603
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The hotel is in the Albayzin district of Granada, looking across to the Alhambra.
Albayzin is very picturesque and so rather touristy, and while it is close to the Alhambra as the crow flies, there is the little matter of a 100m (300 feet) deep gorge between the two! However, there is a regular minibus service into the city centre (#31 - every 10 minutes, stops very close to hotel), then change at Cathedral to another (#30) up to Alhambra. Standard fare is 1.20 euros on all city buses.
Whilst the hotel website says that it has views of the Alhambra, it appears that the building opposite has been extended so these views are limited. You need to book a top floor room with external window to get any view.
There is a little traffic noise from cars & minibuses passing in the very narrow street outside, but quiet at night. Within the hotel, all was quiet when we were there.
There is an attractive courtyard into which some rooms look; it is open to the sky, but a cover is pulled across at night in winter to keep it warm. It is probably drawn during the day in summer to keep heat out.
There is a cosy sitting room with antique furnishings, with log fire in winter evenings.
It is all very clean, with a friendly welcome & helpful service.
Buffet breakfast is passable - could do better.
Free Wi-Fi doesn’t actually work in all rooms so need to use it in the sitting room.

Room Tip: Only the rooms on the top floor have views of Alhambra. Some rooms only have windows into the court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonW68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed here with my wife, daughter and parents-in-laws. This place is great! The hosts/hostesses were incredibly helpful with providing maps and other information about the area. The hotel itself is a great piece of history itself, and the rooms are quite large (even the twin bed ones). We marvelled at all the restoration work that went into the place.
The location is in an incredibly characterful neighborhood with amazing views of the Alhambra, and right on a bus stop that goes to the base of the hill.
We would definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldude765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel in February 2012 and found it really charming. The location is amazing, right in the most beautiful and typical area of Granada. It's an easy way down to the town centre and there are convenient buses as well. The service was great and the rooms are super nice. The break fast is good, though not spectacular mainly because it lacks just a bit of variety. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to go to Granada and enjoying some great views!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is a fabulous little hotel in the Albaycin area of Granada (up the hill from the main town centre but easily reached on the little shuttle bus). The hotel is full of Spanish atmosphere with a lovely little courtyard in the middle and the rooms around an internal verandah. The staff were really welcoming and helpful and the room was clean, well maintained and comfortable.
Parking is available very close by - our only problem was that our GPS was not able to direct us to the street, but clearly that was no fault of the hotel. However, once there you don't need to use the car at all - the little local shuttle bus is very convenient and the bus stop is right by the hotel.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting an authentic Granadan experience in the old quarter.
I would also recommend the El Aji Restaurant which is about 100 metres up the road from the hotel (see separate review on this).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndah50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 122 in Granada
958 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
759 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 122 in Granada
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Isabel la Real? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Isabel la Real

Property: Santa Isabel la Real
Address: Calle Santa Isabel La Real 17 y 19, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,133 - ₹ 11,184
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Isabel la Real 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a restored house from the XVI century. It is situated on the main street of the historical neighbourhood of the Albaizyn ( Granada), five minutes walking distance from the city centre. It is surrounded by gardens and different monuments such us the Monastery of Santa Isabel la Real, the palace of Dar-Al Horra and the San Miguel Bajo church. The hotel is also very near the beautiful views from San Nicolas, San Cristobal and la Lona. There is an enclosed parking lot and a bus stop near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Santa Isabel la Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Isabel La Real Hotel Granada
Santa Isabel La Real Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing