We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol
Ranked #58 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Our experience during our honeymoon here was simply top notch, the location was ideal, the service from Manuel significantly improved our experience of the Alhambra and Granada, the rates were very fair for the price, the breakfast was perfect for our needs and the room was beautifully and tastefully appointed. Could not ask for more.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

Chose this guesthouse having read great reviews on Tripadvisor and were so pleased that we had. Having driven down ever narrowing streets trying to find the place, eventually parked outside the Alhambra Palace Hotel and walked down the lane at the far end of the car park. Manuel our genial host kindly drove the car around the amzingly narrow streets to park outside the guesthouse, even calling in at the Alhambra to pick up our tickets at the Alhambra for the following morning.
My wife and I were the only guests for our two night stay and were offered a lovely room with a great view from the terrace, a cracking place to relax with a drink after a long drive. There was always a supply of fresh fruit available which we were told to help ourselves to.
Manuel was a great source of information suggesting some nice tapas bars, one even carrying the same name as our host. One of his best suggestions was to walk down to the city centre after our visit to the Alhambra along a footpath beneath the palace walls towards the Albaicin. It's only a short walk from here to the Mirador de San Nicolas with it's unforgettable view of the Alhmabra at sunset. Should you choose the most direct route from the city centre back to the hotel be prepared for the steep steps back up the hillside.
For breakfast Manuel introduced us to the Andalusian version of tomatoes on toast, which we have had at home when we have fresh ripe tomatoes from the garden. This place has left us with lovely memories of Andalusia.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alunwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We enjoyed every minute of our 2-night stay at this charming B&B. It was very comfortable, squeaky clean, just a few minutes’ walk from the gates of the Alhambra, and the views from most balconies overlooked Granada. Each evening we enjoyed the sunset and was entertained while watching a hawk dive for dinner (bats) unsuccessfully. Manuel is the perfect host and very helpful. There is a wonderful restaurant within very easy walking distance for dinner with the same gorgeous view. We were so happy with this accommodation choice…….but, this location is not recommended for folks with mobility issues. Taxis are readily available though.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs verandah room --nice patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OttersPond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in this excellent guesthouse type hotel. All the rooms and shared space + garden are decorated and presented as sophisticated and unpretentious. As others have said, Manuel is a perfect host - he pays great attention to detail, is very informative and charming (and he insisted on taking our luggage down the steep hill to the entrance). His advice was extremely helpful to our visit. The breakfasts were brilliant. But the jewel was sitting on a terrace overlooking Granada as the sun went down with the snow capped Sierra Nevada in the background. Quite the best hotel in Andalucia that we have stayed in - thank you very much Manuel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oneofthreeNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed for a too-brief two nights at this very charming guest house in Granada in October 2011. Located 100 m. from the Alhambra Palace Hotel and a few minutes' walk to the Alhambra itself, it is a beautifully maintained private home with seven rooms, a comfortable lounge for relaxing, a breakfast room, and exterior patios for enjoying the fantastic view of Granada and the Sierra Nevada mountains.

My room overlooked Granada and had two Juliet balconies. The "El Campo" room was large, basically but prettily appointed, and even the shower area had a lovely view. Breakfast was good at E8 and the honour bar was a great touch.

Our host, Manuel, was delightful and was a great source of information about the Alhambra and Granada itself.

If you are looking for luxury accommodation, this is not for you. But for me this was by far my favourite accommodation of my trip and I'm very glad I cancelled my Alhambra Palace reservation for this guest house.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BowenLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,815 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Eurostars Washington Irving
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol

Address: Calle Aire Alta 12, 18009 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: ₹ 8,152 - ₹ 12,077 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen De La Alcubilla Del Caracol Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing